We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome stay going abck in ten days :-)”
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bulldog Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we went to the bulldog to celebrate a friends party.
At arrival rooms were read. Nice surprise a bath. Clean room, safe. Two beds and one extra in a closet against the waal. Every room has its personal picturewall.
Breakfast simple but you don't need more than that. Staff suuuuuuuuper helpfull Really nice, helpfull. No problem for leaving the luggage at checkout.
If you go to sleep early do ask a room in the upper floors. We stayed in 105 and till one you hear the music from the bar downstairs
In the evening there's always something to do. Food is really good. Be Warned the people do smoke there too! Public toilets clean.

Room Tip: Upper levels for a quite room Do ask for a bath if you want one cause not all rooms have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manouschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

It has all the comforts that you need even if you are a backpacker or a low cost traveller. In my female room only there was a hair dryer.
The breaksfast is really good , and it fills you up to lunch.It´s the best i´ve ever taken in a hostel. It has a high price by night perhaps most of hostel in Netherlands are expensives.I paid 100 e for 3 nights.
Really good location , just only 3 or 4 blocks to the red light area and most of coffee shops and is just 3 minutes by walking from the Dam Square.
The only thing that i didn´t like was that i have to arranged the check out at 6:15 am. It was too early and most of hostel arranges it up to 11am most of time.
Despite of this, is a good experience to spend a night in this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisbeth7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I had read various reviews regarding this hostel but our party of 4 was all happily surprised. Located in the Red Light District, it is a 10 minutes walk from the Centraal Station. We had chosen an 8 bed mixed dorm and we were really pleased to find that the room was actually divided in two by the lockers. One side had a wet-room while the other had the toilets. There were additional toilets next to the room so we never had to queue. Positive aspects: The room (and the hostel in general) was clean and spacious enough for 8 people. The staff at the reception were all very nice and very helpful too. The bar downstairs is open late (if not all night), you can smoke AND drink there, the beverages/food prices are reasonable, they even got happy hours until 8 for 2 euros a pint! The free breakfast was also brilliant, with tea, coffee and juices and yoghurt, cereals, buns, ham, cheese...Ideal to start the day.
The negative points would be that the food (excluding breakfast) was not very nice, the music in the bar is dreadful and quite loud and the fire-alarm style waking up call can be a bit army-like.
But in the whole, I would definitely stay there again and would recommand it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I have stayed in the Bulldog Hotel (hostel) on many trips to Amsterdam and to be honest I have never been disappointed. Reasonably priced for central Amsterdam. Nice bar with a pool table. Restricted entry to non residence after 8pm (i think) which is great as no Stragglers can come in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

wasnt expecting much from a red light district hostle but bedbug bites was not expected!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank gavbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimbulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

At he Bulldog Hotel we take comments like these very seriously as the safety, security and comfort of our guests is of paramount importance to us. We were very surprised to read this review as no other guests nor our dedicated housekeeping team has reported a similar problem and we are re checking our hotel with a fine tooth comb to ensure that this is an isolated incident. As we have not had any reports of the nasty little creatures other than this review, i urge you to contact us at info@bulldoghotel.com with the details of your stay so that we may investigate this matter fully.

I am terribly sorry that you had a negative experience while staying with us and we will do everything possible to ensure that no other guests have a similar experience.

Kindest Regards

Robert
Reception Manager
Bulldog Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Bulldog Hotel is definitely the place to stay in Amsterdam. If you want your trip to be unforgettable, out of routine then Bulldog is the right choice. To make it easier I will brake down the advantages in points:

1. Location - the location is just perfect. 10 minutes away walking from central train station, 2 minutes away from Dam Square, 4 minutes away from the shopping district, right in the red-light district. In other words it is right in the epicenter of all the activities you will find in Amsterdam.

2. Aura - from hostels to luxury hotels, none of these can compete with Bulldogs unforgettable environment and atmosphere. Small, cozy and friendly aura in all of the Bulldog properties. Dimmed light that, passing through matte warm-collor glass and reflecting from dark brown wood, creates extremely relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Nice music at the background and friendly staff. All these creates a feeling of a big family rather than a hotel. You 4 places to chill in Bulldog. The First Coffeeshop (no 90) is a nice, small coffeeshop with coffee and snacks and of course weed and... it is the first coffeeshop in amsterdam! The Bulldog Mack is a pub-coffeeshop with american pool and other stuff. The Hotel has a Lounge Bar that just brings so much excitement. Cozy restaurant, bar and everything where you can just smoke a joint after you finish your food. And of course the Energy Coffeeshop if you get tired of all the coziness and chillaxing music. All of the properties are of course smoking (WEED).

3. Price - first trip we paid 30 Euros each for a night in a luxury room. The last trip we paid about the same for an apartment. Trust me you will never find anything close to this price in Amsterdam. I mean of course you can find but certainly not the location neither the value will satisfy you.

To summarize, its hard to explain all in words, you must experience it yourself. If you want to experience Amsterdam from its heart this is the place. And don't forget that Bulldog is the first 5-star hostel in the world so don't worry about hygiene and all that comfort stuff.

The only thing is that you should book it in advance as all the rooms get sold-out usually almost 2 months before the date.

Good Luck!
If you have any questions I will be more than happy to answer
v.a.h.e@hotmail.com

Room Tip: Always pay attention to the discounts. Try to take a room facing the canal, much better view. BOOK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaheaslanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hostel is in a perfect position! The rooms and the clean are average, but there is a big common area where you can also smoke. The price is quite expensive compared to the accomodation, but you pay the brand and the excelent position. There is a lot of people so the good news is friends to hang out, the bad news is the noise, but who cares?!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jekomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 248 in Amsterdam
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £30 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing