We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for debortuary”
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bulldog Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Highly recommended! My favourite place in Amsterdam. Not good if you're on a city break with the misses, or if you're fussy about creature comforts, but if you want somewhere to use as a base while you indulge in all the pleasures of the flesh which this city offers then there is no better place! There's a lounge bar downstairs which is open till forever. Its clean and secure. Its dead central. There's cannabis, alcohol, food, bed and shower. All you need if you plan to be off your face the whole holiday. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, the price is very good for what you get. I just can't fault this place!

Room Tip: It's worth paying more for the deluxe room, the window is a great place to smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the Bulldog for 3 nights in early September on the reccomendation of a friend. The location was easy to get to from the Central Station and we enjoyed our stay.. The convenience and atmosphere would have me come back even if the bed linens would not! normally we would probably stay in a "proper" hotel, but that would have taken the fun out of Amsterdam for us- So glad we stayed at the Bulldog! The hotel staff were friendly and easy to work with. Also the rooftop area was a nice bonus, the weather was wonderful and it was nice to get out of the bar area and breathe some fresh air!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljones3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at the Bulldog in a private double ensuite for 5 days and our room was never cleaned or sheets changed. Although we did get new towels. Plus the rooms had a very small TV.

The best parts about the Bulldog is the great atmosphere! It's full of young travellers and has a great bar near the lobby and a roof top terrace where our friends could have pre drinks before heading out. It was located near great restaurants and only one canal away from the red light district.

Room Tip: The lift is really slow so try get a room close to the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

There was four of us and we stayed in one of the apartments. At $50 per night, the price was good for a unlimited privacy and close to no restrictions on everything.Though check-in was a bit annoying due to it taking a long time, the people at the counter were very nice with storing our bags while we wandered around to wait for them to prepare our room. The Bulldog is definitely a good place to stay at if you're in Amsterdam for what it's (in)famous for. If you are hoping to explore Amsterdam as a city however, I would advise against it as it's smack middle in the red light district.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Check-in was stupid - took ages and they tried joking around hiding money - funny, but i cant help but think he would've kept it if we walked away.

Rooms were not great, not many plugs, very small toilet, no towels about.

Bar downstairs was the best bit - sat playing Poker most nights with decent drinks and a good crowd.

Probably the closest you can stay to the red-light district, but too close on hindsight - Amsterdam gets much nicer further out you go.

This was literally a bunk-bed to lay my head in whilst the room is invaded with other people - but that's what i expected given this was a cheap hostel in the middle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_BAR_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Im used to staying in nice hotels, wasnt expecting much of this place but the hotel itself is not overley great. The rooms are very basic, clean but basic, I would question the decor though!
Reception staff are ok, bar staff are nice and pleasant. The food is good value for money compared to other places in Amsterdam. Good location.
Overall if you want a cheap place just to put your head down its fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed for the 8th year. Nice and clean, nice bar, close to everything. Not a cheap option anymore. Wacky staff and wacky stuff everywhere. Backbackers from all over the world oming and going but don't be intimidated, it's all one big family here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,287 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#8 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £33 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing