We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best atmosphere in amsterdam”
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best atmosphere in amsterdam”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

this was our 4th time staying at bulldog hotel amsterdam. this time we stayed at the bulldog apartments and had another great experience.

the staff is really friendly and welcoming. they are also cool and understanding.

I strongly recommend this hotel for visitors that want to enjoy amsterdam in all ways and also that looks for a safe environment to do so.

thanks to bulldog personnel!

Room Tip: if you are more than 2 people, I recommend staying at bulldog apartments. apartments are luxurious i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much! We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us. It really makes us happy to know that we've managed to meet your expectations on each visit. Hopefully the next visit isn't too far away.

We wish you the best in 2014 from all of us here at The Bulldog Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    355
    138
    41
    25
See reviews for
15
157
151
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

stayed with a few mates and my wife for a birthday weekend. We all had private rooms. Made a great base for us. Rooms were very very basic, but clean and functional and the beds were pretty comfortable. The staff were very helpful, no outside food or drink allowed inside the rooms so make sure you get your grub in the bar or in town! Bathroom was clean and tidy, definitely showed some signs of having experienced some hard partying as it looked a bit worn but was all clean though!

The bar was great and had a good vibe and was a perfect place to begin or end a night in the dam. Everyone we met was very friendly.

Bottom line is it's in the heart of amsterdam and is great if your looking for a place to crash out to recharge before another day and night of partying.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day and leave us a nice review. We will look forward to your next visit to Amsterdam. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

traveled here with friends. was awesome. hotel is located right in the middle of everything. we went in winter and it was really cold but this hotel was nice and cozy. we really made a mess of our room which aggravated the people that worked there (which is understandable) but they were very nice and pleasant. The price for the room was very reasonable and the rooms were fairly clean. I would go again and recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We understand there is going to be a mess sometimes but our housekeeping team works really hard to keep the hostel looking great, so when its really bad we usually offer the guests a choice between an extra cleaning fee or the chance to help out and clean up a bit for us.

Were happy you had a nice time in Amsterdam and we will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great location, the staff so helpfully especially Babs, quick responses via email. Booked there apartment that sleeps 5, good value and was very impressed with how lovely it was. Everything was great and will definitely be returning. Looking for a great place to stay with a group of friends, look no further, has everything need.

Room Tip: Book there apartment..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We really glad to hear you had a nice time in our apartments and that everything was arranged quickly and easily! It makes things so much nicer when there is no stress involved :)

And we agree, The Bulldog Hotel Apartments have everything you need to have the best time here in Amsterdam. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Firstly, I'm not a weed smoker. A lot of the reviews here seemed to mention smoking. But don't let this put you off!

The hostel is lovely! It has a very homely feel and the reception staff (particularly a girl with olive skin and a bright coloured fringe) were super welcoming. The room was comfortable and the beds were soft. The whole place was very clean - including the bathroom which was sparkling.

The first night we spent several hours in the bar. It was a Friday night so it was busy, and there was definitely a low lying fog of smoke. The bar staff were friendly, the prices were amazing (during happy hour it was €4 for 2 pints of Heineken!) and the food was decent pub grub. There was music playing, but not so loud that you couldn't chat.

Security seemed really good - their 'passport' system certainly seems to work. The rooms were SILENT at night - we didn't have any problem with noisy neighbours.

The complementary breakfast is OK - it's your standard Continental breakfast. There are a couple of vending machines that have snacks, phone chargers, shaving kits, condoms, paracetamol!

There are plenty of nice little touches - a basket of shampoo and soap to help yourself from at reception, free maps to the city, the beermats double up as postcards (What a good idea!) and a friendly cat in reception!

I'd highly recommend this to anyone who wants a clean, comfortable base in the city - you are at most a 10 minute walk from the nearest metro, round the corner from the main street and a 10 minute walk from the Central Train Station. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Individual rooms are en-suite and DEFINITELY worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magsotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
What a nice review. Thanks!

You are absolutely correct, The Bulldog Hotel is for everybody, smoker or not! While you can enjoy some of Amsterdam's best in our lounge, if you are a non smoker, you can hang out in our non smoking lobby seating area and enjoy a drink and all of our rooms are non smoking too!

The best of both worlds :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for one night with a few friends on our first trip to Amsterdam and I can safely say I would not stay anywhere else were I too come back again. The reception staff were amazing and helpful. The bar staff in the lounge we're laid back and friendly making the whole experience pretty awesome. It's slap bang in the middle of Amsterdam. The rooms are simple and clean which is all we were looking for with a large bathroom and shower. I would recommend the Bulldog to anyone looking for somewhere relatively cheap to stay in Amsterdam. Oh and it smells awesome when your walk into reception!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeusOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Only one night! You are definitely going to have to come back and get the full Bulldog Experience!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean and spacious staff were great, food was awesome very good value in the bar compared to most places in Amsterdam and location was bang on! Best place I've stayed in Amsterdam very good value for money paid a lot more for places that weren't half as good will definitely be back in the future

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Fantastic! We will be looking forward to your next trip to the 'Dam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 228 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing