We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent , Food ,Service and Staff”
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here and found the location of the hotel to be very good, the staff very friendly and welcoming , The private room was of a good size and standard and had all mod cons, The food in the lounge was very good, the beer was also very good.

I would recommend this hotel and will be back in June ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

i was so nervous about going to stay in a hostel, however it was not bad atall. The coffee shop below was great could always get a seat to just chill out. The rooms were ok, beds were clean, bathrooms clean, plenty of space for all of us. The hostel was in a really good position as everything is on the doorstep. staff were helpful and friendly. Didnt really rate breakfast but that was ok as plenty of places nearby. will defo be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

my stay was amazing staff are friendly coffee was great music pool bar snacks were nice too.
when I come to Amsterdam I always stay at the bulldog in either apartment or ensuite room both equally as good love it here like a home from home...see you again in june!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyboysmith1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Brilliant location, friendly and helpful staff. 5 of us stayed in the dorms, great for a base, everything is on the doorstep. Good bar and breakfast was adequate. Can smoke in the bar. Amazing price. Had a weirdo in our dorm, he didn't move from his bunk, just sat on his laptop, but he must have just loved the bulldog. Recommended to lots of friends. Wouldn't stop anywhere else

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank danty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed as a group of 9 friends for 2 nights at Bulldog in a private dorm room. The best asset of Bulldog is the unbeatable location right in the centre of Amsterdam, only a few minutes away from main station, coffee shops, red light district etc.

Staff is super friendly and helpful and there is free delicious breakfast included. There is a coffee shop just next to the hotel and smoking is allowed in the cool lobby/bar area of Bulldog, which is also a good place to meet people. Room size is good, cleanliness is perfect and in our dorm there were two combined shower/toilet facilities available. The only thing where I think Bulldog could improve is the design/atmosphere inside the rooms.

To sum up, it's a safe bet and I would totally recommend this place. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stibinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

just back from a weekend stay, wouldn't classify this place as a hostel more a hotel, travelled as a group of 7, had a private dorm to ourselves, room was very spacious with our own private shower and toilet. beds were very comfortable and clean, on arrival we were checked in straight away, were able to come and go as pleased, the food downstairs was lovely, lovely staff, all in all a great stay at a reasonable price, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

a world famous hangout, frequented by stars. On the main RED LIGHT canal bank. Secure, comfortable & easy to locate.. enjoy your stay, the bar- lounge have some good food.. or pop to the coffee shop…be warned…gives appetite, laughing & a sense of extreme well being! roof top & street terrace gardens for high & low days. . all tastes catered to.. such a very mix of people stay here every time.. .

Room Tip: you can even smoke in some rooms...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CITYSPYinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,118 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
650 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £31 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing