We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud young”
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud young”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Reception lady wanted to argue with any one especially me room was above bar with gangsta rap till 3am booming though ya pillow if ya young it's the place to stay if ya like talking and chillin don't come here would stay again but would insist on been on top floor

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    355
    139
    41
    25
See reviews for
15
158
151
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Came here as a group of 7 people and we were very happy with the service, even though we arrived a bit earlier than the check-in time they checked us in anyway and let us go to our rooms. The room was clean and the beds had fresh linen, we had an ensuite shower and toilet and each bed had a light and a port for plugging in electricals, there are also lockers but you need to bring your own padlock to keep it secure, but they were big enough for people to share. This hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station so it was very easy to find and is also very close to Dam Square, tourist information points and attractions. The staff were very helpful and accommodating as well and were happy to help and give advice. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rozzletov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Best Hostel in Amsterdam! Not too expensive, very clean and centrally located.

We were able to stop in to our room multiple times per day to rest or wash up because we seemed to pass it in between each and every excursion. Rooms are small but modern and clean. very safe and you don't have to share a bathroom!

We will rebook next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickIPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great place to meet people. Amazing and friendly staff. They answer all the questions you have. Decently priced and very clean. Great common area as well. I stayed in a multiple bed room and a private room as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgePKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We hired one of the Bulldogs appartments for my stag do last week, There were 5 of us staying in a 4 bed apartment (2 beds, sofa bed and day chair) so the staff kindly provided an extra mattress.

If you are looking for a central location that is clean and safe (doors are guarded) then look no further, the room we had was spacious with windows overlooking the canal and proved a great spot to people watch. There was a kettle, coffee maker, fridge and microwave although we didnt really use these.

Breakfast was functional, as you would expect and the staff in the hotel were friendly.

In short, If you are planning a romantic weekend with your partner, this probably isnt the place for you, however if you are after somewhere to lay your head that is clean, central, safe and very reasonably priced, look no further, I for one will be back.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the front of the hotel, a little noisy but great for people watching, smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location. Fairly clean. Really nice bar staff. We had a complaint about work men starting working on the hotel at seven in the morning. Manager said she would have a word but nothing changed. One door person/receptionist was as rude as sin and if she had been in my hotel would have been down the road a long time ago. Don't ask for an English breakfast at breakfast time because it's only continental. They will not cook an full English until 11am onwards. All in all we won't be coming back here sadly. Nice bar staff though so they do do something the right way.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkdjdudiwhejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in a twelve bed dorm which was clean, comfortable and save. We absolutely love it to stay in your hotel. Overall the hotel had a nice vibe to it, specially with the bar where you can smoke ( marihuana ) and have a beer till way after midnight. after four things become more complicated however for those that like to make it late.

Staff in general is very friendly and inviting but the receptionist was at night can be grumpy to say at least. Changing money for the machines and get some information was impossible because one of them was sleeping in the bar and your other receptionist could not change. The second night we wanted to use the toilet in the bar and we found it very strange to see your receptionist ( Spaniard ) sleeping there again. A minor inconvenience.
This hotel is truly worth to visit.

Your faithfully,

Laura weichselbaum
,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 229 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing