We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bulldog Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveller rating
507
382
154
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
382
154
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtcoffee shop next doorlounge downstairsbed dormroof terracefree breakfastamazing locationprivate bathroomhotel bardam squarecentral locationcanal viewtrain stationyogurtlockersweedapartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at The Bulldog at the end of May with two friends - have to admit, when we did arrive I was a bit unsure (having not stayed in a dorm room before) when there were 14 beds in our room, but it was better expected.
The lockers within the dorms are narrow and if, like us, you're travelling with a suitcase, you can't squeeze the case in. We had to just lock our case and put it under the bed. The dorms are all bunkbeds, and have to admit they are tiny - would of been nice if I was able to sit up in bed, or sleep without the person above's bum in my face. The beds are comfy, with a your own light and plug socket right above your head.

The shower is a bit scary - not having a curtain means that if you leave a towel or clothes in there they will get wet. Breakfast was also a bit weak; bread, meats and cheeses - not something that I think most people want when they first wake up, but the tea/coffee was yum. We did eat in the restaurant a few times, and their portion sizes are massive! it really is value for money. All meals were great, and came quickly.

There is always someone on reception for you, if you do have any problems - the only one we had was on our last night and boy was assigned to our room with his girlfriend. I felt very uncomfortable with this, as we had booked a female only dorm, as had everyone else.
There is no 'closing' time, your allowed back whenever you feel like it which was good.

The location is fab, it's smack bang in the middle of the Red Light District, and everyone knows where it is. As soon as you walk out and come to the main street there are shops, restaurants, cafes everywhere! We went out every night on pub crawls, or to clubs etc and we got lost on the first night walking back, we just asked someone and they knew exactly where it was.

Everyone there is friendly and welcoming, I would definitely return to stay - maybe in a private dorm next time!

Room Tip: Get a private dorm room or an apartment!! Definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fabul0us12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place. Have visited a few times and never a bad stay. The staff go out if their way to help you and are really friendly. The hostel is basic but clean and safe. Breakfast included which has always been a good start to the day and it's location makes it the best place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for sharing. Please let us know when your visiting us next as we love to do something special for return guests. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Perfect hostel for young people travelling Amsterdam. Right in the heart of the red light district. Great bar in the hostel! Free breakfast - nothing special but still it's free!!

Roof top patio where you can drink and smoke!

Rooms are spacious and the beds were actually extremely comfortable!

Security was always There - never felt unsafe or worried about leaving bags behind.

Would definitely recommend ! But not if you're looking for a quiet place to relax...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MTRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Although the location is right in the middle of active night scene...
I stayed here July 2014

NOT WORTH THE POOR CONDITIONS. BY FAR THE WORST hostel I've stayed in out of 2 dozen.
I stayed one night and couldn't stand it longer so I checked out early.

-Some of the locker handles were broken, making them unusable

-The one locker that worked required a heavy padlock and would not work with my travel padlock.

-The shower in the en-suite is not in a shower or tub, but one of those open showers in the room.

-There was mold on the walls and ceilings of the restroom

-the mix dorm/ensuite smelled of mold and even though the AC was on max cold/fan the humidity was still extremely high

-the bedding was very poor, they use as the matress cover without the actual fitted or flat bed sheet over, which not only feels uncomfortable but is unsanitary.

-there were some sort of stains on the blanket/comforter i had. Additionally, the blanket/comforter is not sealed on all 4 sides, so one side the inner fabric will come out.

-They require your ID to have a room key, essentially holding you hostage

-Even with the windows closed, I was still bitten by a multitude of mosquitoes.

-Although breakfast is included, it is mass produced bread and meats which is hardly worth 1 euro.

-Hotel wifi/internet blocks VPN and other ports, making those requiring safe/secure internet impossible

-Wifi in the rooms were incredibly weak, I had to use a mobile repeater in order to sustain a wifi connection.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cyrushung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Bulldog guests:

As always, we encourage our guests to bring anything they are unhappy with to our attention and we are happy to address any issues you may have. We could have moved you to a a different room, provided you with fresh linen, had your locker fixed immediately (yes, sometimes things break). It does nothing to help you by leaving a review but saying nothing at the time. It also gives us no opportunity to make your stay more pleasant. if you are not satisfied, then neither are we, but we cant help you if you don't tell us. We want all of guests to be happy so if there is anything that is unsatisfactory, please let us know!

In regards to this review; I could address each point you made but this would not help to change your experience. So i will just touch on a couple of things to establish an alternate point of view on your comments:

1. "There was mold on the walls and ceilings of the restroom".

This is not true. Our rooms are inspected daily to ensure this is not the case. We take such accusations very seriously and i can assure all guests past and future that this is categorically false.

2. "the bedding was very poor, they use as the mattress cover without the actual fitted or flat bed sheet over, which not only feels uncomfortable but is unsanitary."

You posted your own picture which clearly shows the fitted sheet on top of the mattress!

3. "They require your ID to have a room key, essentially holding you hostage"

yet you have your ID and were able to check out early. That does not sound like being held hostage, and we do like to get our keys back!

While we do dispute the points you have made, we respect that you are entitled to your opinion. Its never very nice for us to read such reviews. We work very hard to provide a clean, safe accommodation to our guests. Fortunately, reviews like this are a rare experience for us and we will do our best to take these comments and use them to improve.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Bulldog, were very excited as had been before and not been able to get in!
The room was lovely- a lot nicer than many in Amsterdam- and very clean.
Breakfast wasn't the best, but hey there are loads of other places to eat around.

It is right in the centre couldn't ask for a better location, and there is a bar downstairs for you late night partiers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Its always nice to see people leave reviews so long after they stayed with us. Its great to know that we left enough of an impression that you remember everything so well. Hopefully we will get to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews