We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gaasper Camping Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were directed to this campsite as the site we usually use were full. We wanted an electric hook up but when we arrived and asked for one was basically told 'No'
The guy at Reception was arrogant and if it hadnt of been so late in the evening we probably would have moved on. But after a 6 hr ferry trip from England we were tired and wanted to rest.
As we didn't want to take our car onto the site due to extra cost we were just told to pitch our tent on a piece of grass land next to reception near the main entrance. This small area was already quite busy and upon asking the guy at Reception whether our tent would fit as it was an 8 berth, we were told 'it will fit'.
Yh just about! Only to wake up next morning finding that it was difficult to gain access to and from our tent as others had pitched up basically touching ours.
As we were nr the main entrance it was noisy as this was in constant use.
Walking around the site there were many spaces available that would have suited us better....& been quieter.
No hot water unless you pay extra for it and 5 min use of the shower for 80cent.
Amsterdam itself is easy enough to get to via metro and tram. About a 30 min ride.
Not an enjoyable experience and I def wouldn't visit here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

The location is quite ok, the staff at the reception is great too, however, we had to wait 20 minutes in the car until the guy on the bike picked us up and showed us the tent field, which was almost full at the time we arrived. Furthermore, there was one especially arrogant man who we came accross in the restaurant and the shop as well. Otherwise the two nights we spent were good. The reception offers a lot of extra services (selling tickets for public transport and museums) which saves time and money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajak k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We got there in good time and there was no-one in front of us, we were told by the guy at the gate to go and wait in the carpark while they found a pitch for us? Then a motorhome turned up and because they couldn't get under the barrier of the carpark they were allowed to go in front of us! OK one was not too bad, but then THREE turned up!! We had been waiting for half an hour and they proceeded to let the Motorhomes in before us, I was not happy!! They let two in before us and I told them in no uncertain terms that it wasn't fair and eventually they let us in after over 1 hour!! We were led to pitch by friendly bike man, we were in a folding camper and pitch was OK, bit close to neighbours, but fine. Toilets nice and clean and had loo roll :) Showers were OK, but don't forget your 80c token from reception. When you get there a very friendly lady will tell you about everything - warning if you have a car it is a 30euro deposit for gate fob to get in and out of site. It is really easy to get into Amsterdam via the Metro which is about a 20min walk from site and really quick to centre - do need to get shuttle bus about half way because of maintenance work on tracks, but it's really easy. There is a little supermarket on site which sells basics and yummy Danish Pastries :9 Also a nice bar and restaurant which sells decent meals. We stopped for a couple of nights, would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazeeChik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We are pleased to write a review as we dont often do. We found this one so so worthy ....upon arrival we were escorted by bike to our designated plot... mmm... no problem we were even assisted in positioning our caravan..Secluded and separated by hedgerows.. Both water and electricity ideally situated easy access....Toilets With Paper , Showers Both Clean And Accessible .......
We were both impressed and pleased by the Restaurant and shop..Food Excellent {recommend
the fillet steak} Shop...We only have a small freezer in our caravan so ice pkts Available were not suitable...So without prompting the lady allowed us to take a small amount whenever it was required...This might seem insignificant but as well as her smiley nature it became a pleasure to shop...Would Definitely recommend And Use Again.............Thank You.

Room Tip: Station 5 minute walk..Goes straight to Amsterdam.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepete-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The location to access the city was the best part about this site. Only a short walk to the train. The site was busy and not too expensive. The site had lots of facilities. There was not a lot in the immediate vicinity of the camp though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very neat and tidy site, close to the metro station to get you in to the city centre. We visited here as part of the Windy 500, so brought a large number in the group. Hard standing enclosed pitches for camper vans and caravans, large open field with plenty of space for tents. Friendly helpful staff and a decent shop on site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spooky388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Pro: This is a camping which is very accessible both by car and metro. Situated just by exit 13 at A9 in southeast Amsterdam and with metro to central A just a few hundred meters away with metros leaving every 10th minute. Buy your 24 48 36 and so on ticket in the reception. Priceworthy and simple. Camping overall well kept and in order. No: There is something like too much order. You will be exactly directed by centimeters where to park Your car and pitch Your tent/caravan. Uneasy feeling.. And. No soap no towels no paper in the toilets. No hot water whatsoever if You didnt pay extra. Even when making the dishes or washing Your babys bottom. Finally. All payment in advance, we had to leave a day earlier due to circumstances back home. Reimbursement was in our dreams... Staff was polite but we never felt welcome, will not be coming back. But the access to A was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MariaDairynose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#201 of 372 in Amsterdam
359 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#39 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,422 reviews
Hostelle
#39 of 237 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Vakantiepark Koningshof
#1 of 1 in Rijnsburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaasper Camping Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaasper Camping Amsterdam

Address: Loosdrechtdreef 7 | Gaasperplas, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 323
Also Known As:
Gaasper Camping Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing