We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seedy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
Ranked #177 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seedy”
Reviewed 1 January 2008

The lobby is a bar. The bartenders were very nice and helpful. We stayed in a "double room". The bed was 2 singles in a double bed frame, so the two beds separate and you fall in between. The steps are very narrow and hard to get up and down, but you kinda get used to it. The shower was clean and new looking. The room though was very dark and dingey. The light was a very low wattage so it looked like a crack den. I didn't feel as though the bedroom was very clean or that I felt clean staying there. In Amsterdam, if you have the money, I'd say spend more and stay nicer. The location was very good though, about 5 mins from Central Station and right in the Red Light District.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    97
    48
    11
    9
See reviews for
14
121
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

Avoid this place if you can. It's noisy, dirty and has a moldy smell. The only upside is that it's close to the station, and convenient for walking around town. But even then, I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AinsleyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2007

They have a safe for passports etc. Bar staff are lovely and speak perfect English. Secure with key cards. Located a couple of streets from the Red Light District's girls, so if you don't want to see them you don't have to.
If you love the atmosphere that surrounds the Amsterdam Red Light District then this hotel is a great budget choice. Affordable, perfectly located for Central Station and just what we were looking for. We're a couple in our twenties - looking for fun but also a comfortable pad for a few nights together in Dam. This is a cheap place and the right side of rough and ready. The pub downstairs was always busy but not rowdy and even though our room faced out onto the street the noise never woke us up (the hotel supplies freshly packaged earplugs should you be worried!). In fact, waking up to the sounds of Amsterdam is something I loved - if you don't like the fun and games avoid the area all together but if it's all part of the atmosphere for you, this is as good a place to wake up as any. The stairs are crazily steep but traditional for this type of house and the room wasn't plush by any stretch of the imagination. But the bed was comfy enough and the sink in the room made dealing with the shared bathroom easier. Towels were supplied on the first day. The room wasn't cleaned during our stay but that's perhaps because we weren't awake when the chamber maid did her rounds. To be honest we had late nights and late morning so we never had to queue for the loo or shower.
If you've ever hostelled you'll find this place better than a hostel, if you haven't hostelled you'll find it a bit rough around the edges. No complaints at all. Perhaps take your own sheets just in case you're a little more used to your own comforts than others may be.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writetoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2007

This hotel is cheap and cheerful! I have stayed here twice now and both times found it to be exactly what I wanted. The rooms are clean, but rather spartan.

Do not come here expecting The Ritz! This is basically a pub with some rooms above it, but the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, and the bar is top notch!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, location, price
  • Disliked — The stairs! (but this is a problem everywhere in Holland)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbutler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

This is a safe, clean, convenient place for those not seeking luxury amenities.
2 minutes walk from Centraal train station.

Check in at the pub downstairs. Friendly staff. The street noise is not too bad but bring ear plugs if you are going to sleep with windows open.

Stayed two times: once with shared bath and once with private bath. Both times were excellent.

Linen change daily.

Security system seems top notch with cameras and key card entry.
There is a safe in the pub that you can access during open hours.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moody751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2005

Depends what you want from a trip to Amsterdam. 5 mins from the station. 5 mins from the square, near bars and red light district with a pub underneath. Yes relatively basic and the stairs aren't to be messed with if you are bit wobbly BUT we couldn't fault it. Nor could we find it at 3am but that was our fault!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2005

Well in one word "Brilliant"....We found the staff very friendly and trusting and if its a good night that you are after this is the place to be....So handy for all kinds of pub clubs and cafe's ..A must to ask for at the bar is "Jagermeister" ,Yager myster for the lamen its a shot drink which is a bit to easy to drink for what the bottle contains...........!"IT'S A MUST TO GO"

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#225 of 367 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#302 of 367 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#190 of 367 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#111 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Property: Hotel Internationaal
Address: Warmoesstraat 1 /3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing