We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and staff are great, everything else is nitpicking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
Ranked #183 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is my second visit to Amsterdam. First time I stayed in a 2 star hotel, nice and quite place but for our next trip we were looking for something very central and rich with night life place. Hotel Interntionaal I chooses because of close location to the Central Station, price and Red Light District with full of bars, coffeshops and strip clubs. On arrival we get surprised that bar and reception is the same place, but for us it was more advantage than disadvantage, while bartender checked us in, we ordered coffee.
Room that we got has shared shower and toilet, but shared facilities were located on the same floor, just next door. All in all, hotel right place to stay for couples who will not spend much time in the room watching TV and going out only for launch. For this kind of activity hotel not good enough. We needed a too just to keep our luggage and drop our tired bodies after a long and adventures day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeninTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Internationaal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

The location is awesome, right in the middle of the city, a couple minutes walk from the red light district, and the trains, and anything else you want to check out. Museums are within walking distance too if you like walking (about 20-30 minutes). The room was small but clean, but the beds were very comfortable, and the room has everything we needed. It is pretty loud out on the street, but it's not bad (I don't mind noise though). They also give you ear plugs. I would recommend this hotel for sure, it is a great price especially for the good location. Also the first floor of the hotel is a pub, which has a super good atmosphere. Stay here if you want to be right in the middle of everything with easy accessibility to all the main attractions in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Location is great, but rooms are small. Good bar, if you want a quiet place this hotel is not for you
but if you're there for the place it really worth.
Do not stay in the room with a view to street, it's noisy. good for traveling with friends or in couples. the bath is outside the room but very clean and big.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is far from the best hotel in the world but it is great value for money, the staff are helpful and friendly and it's clean. Which is a massive bonus for this price bracket in Amsterdam.
It is located perfectly for Central Station and in my opinion the best Coffee Shops The Dam has to offer.
For six years I have stayed here at least once a year and have never been disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just returned from a two night stay can't fault the place clean tidy comfortable rooms right in the centre if the red light district so expect some noise. Friendly helpful staff overall an excellent budget hotel would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from staying here for 3 night. We stayed on the top floor with a jacuzzi bath. The room wasn't amazing, but it had everything you need and we enjoyed staying here. It is so close to everything and was kept clean and new towels were given every day. In our room we couldn't even hear the bar downstairs. If was noisy outside, but your in the middle of Amsterdam. We slept fine, with no problems due to noise. Would defenitley stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessicab1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was very happy with the hotel - Me and 2 friends stayed in room 23 for 3 nights from a busy Friday till Monday - at 111 Euros each this worked out at 37 euros a night!

The hotel is located on a very busy street in Amsterdam and you feel "Right in the Middle" of things. I probably wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are a light sleeper however the Hotel do provide earplugs or you will find a pharmacy just off Dam Square who will sell you some better quality plugs for 3 euros. As a light sleeper myself I had no trouble getting my head down for the evening.

The continental breakfast is 7.50 from the bar downstairs, whilst it was quite nice there wasn't anything special about it and I would probably think you could do breakfast for a little cheaper down the road as there are numerous cafes and restaurants that are open early in the morning.

The room itself was spacious and easily accommodated 3 people with enough room to move, the bathroom facilities are shared but we never had any problems with waiting and this was during a busy weekend, there was clean sheets, towels provided, cable TV and free WiFi throughout the building!

The Bar itself is fantastic, very friendly with an excellent host of world beers and snacks, the bar staff are very friendly and approachable and you can even buy excursion tickets from them!

Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again, Amsterdam really is a truly beautiful city with a very laid back aura about it, perfect for both relaxing city breaks or a weekend away with friends.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs! Check out Tony's Corner Cafe for all you can eat Sp...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamKennerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#232 of 371 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#271 of 371 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,212 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,342 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#211 of 371 in Amsterdam
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 /3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing