We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
Ranked #169 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Room are serviced every day, The bed was just like our's at home, yet again a good time had in The best European City i have been to. with everything possible to see and do, we had the Remberance day and got to see the king, and had some Great food and drink as well,Thanks to Michael and Staff 5***** from us.

Room Tip: En suit is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    94
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
116
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed here with my 18 year old daughter for 2 nights. Its location is great, about 4 mins walk from Central Station. It's on the outskirts of Red Light District but we liked the fact it was in a busy area with loads going on, plenty of bars, cafes, shops and places to eat nearby. The hotel itself is basic but clean, after all you get what you pay for. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Just be warned the stairs are very steep, as are many in older Amsterdam properties. I would certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed here with my two friends for two nights, first time in Amsterdam no problems, literally across the road from the train station. Basic room 3 single beds but clean and a bargain price, great location and staff were very friendly when we arrived at the bar. Stairs are really steep but if your careful you'll be fine, shared toilet was always clean and will definately be returning here again this year if possible! id definately recommend people to stay here :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieJCollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Close to central station, historical spots, red light district and coffee shops. Pub downstairs with great music, really friendly staff willing to answer any questions, very steep stairs: not great when you're carrying a 20kg case or have had a few.. Had a small double, smoking room which looked onto the busy street, but as a young couple it suited us. Only issue really was the communal shower and toilet, but for the price I'd say its good value for money. Really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam, will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myholiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and we were very happy with the room. Although it was quite small, everytime we have stayed in Amsterdam the rooms have been small, so we're used to that. They had a TV which had English channels which is always a plus, and we had a room with it's own shower. It's a smoking hotel so probably not ideal for people with children. Staff were friendly and offered to change towels everyday. There is a bar downstairs which we drank in a couple of times, the staff are lovely. The only problem I had was the noise early house of the morning which was the bins and recycling being sorted on the street. Obviously that's not the hotels fault but it did wake me up a couple of the mornings. On the other hand, you're so central that you just step out of the door and you have a selection of bars, restaurants, cafés, text at your finger tips. Personally I wouldn't really want to stay right in the centre again because of the noise of the garbage men however my husband would go back in a flash as he didn't wake up. Overall I would recommend for people that are there for a weekend and are heavy sleepers, if you are there for a week (as we were) then I would suggest to use a hotel slightly more out of the centre.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AGlastonburyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

NOT RECOMMEND !!!Not suitable for families with children.Hotel Interntionaal close to the Central Station, and Red Light District with full of bars, coffeshops and strip clubs.Very small rooms have got shared shower and toilet..Very dirty ,noisy,and very small doesn't offer facilities for the price paid!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickolay S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Internationaal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ele,
It was thousands of times described everywhere about the location of the hotel and about the noise on the streets, you did not tell anything new to the people who will read the review.
If you taking your children along with you, you should read very carefully about the place you taking your child. Red Light district with strip clubs and bars, drunk and stoned people on the street. What do you expect to find in the old street of Amsterdam? Our hotel was used as a sailors hostel and in 1980s was redesigned as a 1 star hotel.
If you travel with kids, there are plenty places to stay in Amsterdam. Artis Zoo area, Hortus Botanicus area, Amstelveen with beautiful forest (Amsterdamse Bos).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is my second visit to Amsterdam. First time I stayed in a 2 star hotel, nice and quite place but for our next trip we were looking for something very central and rich with night life place. Hotel Interntionaal I chooses because of close location to the Central Station, price and Red Light District with full of bars, coffeshops and strip clubs. On arrival we get surprised that bar and reception is the same place, but for us it was more advantage than disadvantage, while bartender checked us in, we ordered coffee.
Room that we got has shared shower and toilet, but shared facilities were located on the same floor, just next door. All in all, hotel right place to stay for couples who will not spend much time in the room watching TV and going out only for launch. For this kind of activity hotel not good enough. We needed a too just to keep our luggage and drop our tired bodies after a long and adventures day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeninTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Hotel Casa
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#35 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Property: Hotel Internationaal
Address: Warmoesstraat 1 /3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing