We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
Ranked #184 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2005

A hotel right in the heart of the city of Amsterdam! The city's famous Dam, its even more famous Red Light District, and its well organised station (Amsterdam Centraal) are literally two walking minutes away. Furthermore, the hotel is surrounded by half-British-half-Dutch Pubs, Asian restaurants and Take-Away desks, and nice little restaurants. Therefore, there is little to complain about 85 EUR during the season or about 65 EUR off-season. Just don't expect any service.
The rooms - though not really spacy - are clean, sheets are fresh, bathroom etc. with no problems, and you get even a small TV with both local and international programms.

However, as much as the hotel's surroundings with its bars and pubs are a plus, as much they are a minus as well: it's terribly noisy there, as the old houses close to one another take up every sound. Particularly on Friday and Saturday nights, the busy area will take your sleep until the early morning - and from the early morning on, lorries with their delivery and Amsterdam's cleaning crew will keep you awake anyway.

So: A nice and relatively pricy place to stay, and a perfect location to explore the heart of Amsterdam ... all you need is something to close your ears.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank fgpolestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 278 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
UK
110
Reviewed 24 February 2005

Stayed at this hotel last month. In one word: terrible! It's dirty, smelly, noisy etc. Furniture is very old. Some of the staff are OK, others are very unfriendly. My advice: stay away!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2005

May I start by saying that yes this Hotel is very basic, it is very clean and as others will confirm the location of this Hotel is absolutely tremendous, if you arrive via Centraal Station you will be in your room within ten minutes. Ok Amsterdam is a weekend city in the main where people come from all over the place to really enjoy themselves, this hotel caters for these people, if you want peacefull luxurious rooms to lay around in then dont come here!! I will be staying here for probably the sixth time (each time for 3 or 4 nights) in Feb 05, and I can safely say i have never had a bad time here. As for rude staff, this is ridiculous you normally get back what you put in, if you catch my drift. The bar downstairs is a public bar of the traditional (Brown Bar) standard and is a great place to start off your night. Directly over the road is a wonderful little Chinese greasy spoon type place, where tourists mix with locals alike, it is very reasonable and the food is simple but good, plus with it's favourable loaction you cant go wrong. Take a left turn out of the Hotel Bar door and take a stroll sown the very colourful Warmoestratt with leads to Dam Square or the RLD (five mins walk) . 5 star location, very reasonable, Well worth it.

8  Thank Markthemover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kenosha, WI
14
Reviewed 3 May 2004

First, the location is great. Right on the edge of the red light district. You won't get much sleep but you're not supposed to sleep in Amsterdam. Very clean, friendly staff. I will stay again next year.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
La Crosse, WI
12
Reviewed 29 April 2004

In my opinion this was a great place. Not a luxury hotel, but not lacking at all. Clean, Friendly staff, New and Clean Bathrooms, very reasonable price, and the location is very close to Central Station. I will stay here again on my next visit.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2003

Firstly , having stayed at Hotel Internationaal recently, i can see that the above review is accurate in detail (ie shower close to stairs, a bit noisy, beds pushed together etc) and given the above posters said treatment i can't blame them for hating the place... BUT i have a very different story. The young Irish girl and Dutch lad who were behind the bar (reception ;0) were excellent and very helpful with my mates numerous questions and offered sound advice.

The place was clean, beds were comfortable, the location is second to none (literally) and the staff are friendly. You can't get much more from budget accommodation.

3  Thank w00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2002

This place was a dump - rude staff, broken toilet, leaking shower, and expensive for such a disaster
it's above a pub and i think the people running it should stick to just running a pub instead of trying to fleece travellers with its substandard accomodations
we (boyfriend and I) booked for 3 nights and was told that the toilet's broken but they'll fix it the next day
well, they couldn't get it fixed and only refunded us 5 euros out of the 85 euros a night we paid for the room
worse, the shower leaks, water runs down the stairs
but wait, the worse is yet to come - the staff banged on our door and accused us of causing the leak, when we didn't have the slightest idea that it did
they also accused us of using the broken toilet, when we didn't even go near it
we wanted to change a room but the staff (a 40-ish woman named linda) was really rude and curtly told us they had no room and we had to live with all the crap
we couldn't get out, as they made us pay upfront for the three nights
on top of that, we had to put up with thin walls, so that means lots of noise and we didn't have a good rest
on top of that, we paid for a double bed and what they did was just to push 2 single beds together
we couldn't wait to get out of there
so a sincere warning to you if u are looking for accomodation in amsterdam - beware of substandard, rude hoteliers
that said, amsterdam's a really pretty place, just be careful of where u choose your accommodations, it could seriously mar your trip

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#273 of 375 in Amsterdam
305 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#190 of 375 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#98 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#307 of 375 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#195 of 375 in Amsterdam
233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#236 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 /3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £44 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing