We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
Ranked #92 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, UK
1 review
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Was very a happy apart from a couple of details.
The check in time is 3pm, after a 7am flight from the uk with very little sleep the night before, this was somewhat of an inconvinience. The same goes for the check out time (11am) I felt after a late night out partying in Amsterdam, 11am was far to early to have be out of the room (again had to wait 12 hours for my return flight after checking out.
Other than that I was very impressed by the condition of the room, and definetley was a lot better than I expected for the budget price of the room. Only downside was the bathroom is a wet room. And the drains appeared to be blocked. There forth turning the bathroom into a small lake. Which still hadnt completely drained at the time of checkout after showering the day before.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pezza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    78
    53
    19
    32
See reviews for
25
125
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Was expecting a budget hotel when visited with a friend in mid July. The hotel was easy to find, the staff were friendly and the location was brilliant (if you want to take a break from the centre). Just a 20 second walk from the Valerusplein tram stop. The best thing about the hotel was the beds, total comfort from as soon as you lie down!! The shower/wet room in our room was also very modern and practical, far nicer than the bathrooms i've been faced with in similar trips to Europe with friends!!

Would definitely stay here again,and recommend it highly to anyone visiting the city!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanadelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After a pleasure trip to Amsterdam in March, I have returned to Amsterdam for a Graphic Artists’ conference. I was recommended the Wilhelmina Hotel by its sister hotel – the Atlas Hotel – after finding out that they were booked for my planned time in Amsterdam. Irrespective of which, the Wilhelmina hotel is, simply put, MARVELOUS! I am having an extremely enjoyable stay. The owner has provided me with the best service of any hotel I had ever stayed at. He is extremely friendly, conversational and most hospitable. Though I am here for work, he recommended a variety of fun evening-based activities for me to try, which nicely concluded my trip with a sense of work-life-balance. Moreover, the hotel is placed in the heart of the chic Oud Zuid! It was IDEALLY situated! It made getting around extremely easy and added an extra pleasure to my already wonderful trip. Thank you Wilhelmina Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Having already spent two nights in their sister hotel, Wilhelmina Hotel, I had attained some expectations from King Hotel in regard to quality, service level and overall satisfaction given my excellent stay at Wilhelmina hotel! Sure enough, I was not disappointed! King Hotel is an excellent choice of hotel and would strongly recommend to any travellers visiting Amsterdam! Rooms were very tastefully decorated. I was fortunate to stay in a canal-facing room, which was really lovely, and in spite of the vibrant nature of the city-centre (the hotel is down the street from Leidseplein); I still got good nights’ rests. Just as at Wilhelmina, the staff was kind, helpful and cheerful. It was a lovely treat being greeted both mornings by their smiles! Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansfelden, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I am a frequent traveler but never before did I encounter a mouse in my hotel room.
During the night I heard strange nouses when I switchen on the lights to look for the reason of the noises I saw a mouse sitting on the table in the middle of my food stuff! I was so shocked!!!
I did not expect a mouse in a middle class hotel room in middle europe! And the offer breakfast at the hotel. It can only be expected that there are mice too, where they keep the food stuff.
When I told the reception they where not surprised. I got another room ond another tourist got my room and the mouse. The next room was on the second floor and during heavy rain water leaked in through the ceiling!!
The walls are paper thin and you could easily follow a conversation in the next room.
The personal is very nice and helpful but that does not help with mice in a hotel room in central europe.One expects mice in a third world hovel but not in central europe in an expensive middle class hotel.
To book this hotel you have to pay in advance by credit card. I payed nearly 1000 Euro for 8 nights and thats simply shameless when you consider the mouse in the room and the leaking ceiling.I am not spoiled but I expect a certain sanitary standard which does not include mice.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I searched diligently for several weeks, for a reputable, two-star hotel, in a good location, that also included breakfast, in Amsterdam.The only negative comments from previous guests, were about the bad coffee. I booked the hotel for my daughter and I - 4 nights.
Positives:
1. Friendly, cordial, helpful, efficient, English speaking staff
2. A TRUE two star, "budget," affordable, hotel
3. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and helpful housecleaning staff
4. Sufficient linens (except for washcloths - take your own)
5. Adequate, tasty, all you can eat breakfast, the coffee was good
6. Luggage storage available
7. Early check-in was allowed
8. PERFECT location - 20 minutes on the tram, to Central Station, and economical - 2.50 e.
Negatives:
1. Stairs - unbelievable - the adjacent, building to the 3rd floor had 50 + steps, that were narrow, twisted, tapered
2. Not all rooms are equal, - try them on for "size" like Goldilocks, or you will be unhappy - the "too small", front rooms that face the street, are "noisey"; cigarette smoke drifts up to your open, unscreened window, the "combo" bath, has a "sewer" smell, from the floor drain, and you bang your knees on furniture and suitcases. ( Varmints may visit you during the night too and share your snacks from the open window!)
* Just ask for room # 12 - 3rd floor, back of the building, nice size - comfortable bed, large bath, and Wi-Fi works!
* Getting to hotel from Schipol: Take the bus - the Terminal Info desk will give you great instructions - take your carry ons, and walk about 10 minutes when you get off the bus. Economical - get correct coins, about 2.50 e.
* Getting back to Schipol: Take tram #2 - 2.80 e. - get off at Central Station - and take the train - about 4.50 e.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Ozo Hotel
#73 of 331 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#56 of 331 in Amsterdam
391 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#36 of 331 in Amsterdam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#57 of 331 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#28 of 331 in Amsterdam
735 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 331 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Property: Hotel Wilhelmina
Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing