We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Break - Home away from Home”
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
Ranked #95 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel Wilhelmina would soon become my favorite place to stay in Amsterdam when I go for leisure or for business. Location is very convenient right next to tram station, 5 minute walking distance to the park for a nice early morning jog. All of the staff members have been friendly and helpful. They make sure that I feel comfortable and well taken care of every time I asked for information or help. The manager was super nice and I sleep well even though I often struggling with jetlag, as the hotel has comfortable beds. Overall a nice lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CareTaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Wilhelmina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went to Amsterdam recently for a short holiday, stayed in spacious twin room with plenty of room for 3 nights at hotel Wilhelmina. Tasteful contemporary decor, personal choice but we loved it. We were on the top floor with access via steep stairs. There's no lift. Not an issue for us but ask for ground or first floor if it is. Breakfast is good value with a wide choice of food buffet style. The staff are friendly and very professional (including email enquiries being responded to very quickly). Very nice neighbourhood within walking distance of Vondelpark. Easy tram journey in and out of town (tram 2 from Centraal Station).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vipi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I chose this hotel based upon my budget. I was not disappointed. We stayed for 4 nights in April 2014.

The hotel is located in a very convenient area to see the sights of Amsterdam. The tram station is outside next to the hotel but walking would certainly be encouraged as a short walk is the Vondelpark.

The hotel itself is very nice and I enjoyed my stay. Most certainly a boutique feel to the place. There is no lounge area but the reception is good.

The service at this property was great. They are helpful and can help arrange with small things to make your stay more enjoyable.

On our return to Amsterdam we will stay at this hotel. The manager was definitely the difference compared to some of the other hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeteDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel and from the street and in the reception it does not inspire confidence, however when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been recently refurbished and are clean of sufficient size and have a large modern TV with English channels. Our room had a shower / wet room which was clean. The breakfast is extra but then there is a bakery just down the road. The hotel is a little way out beyond the Museumsplein but is well served by the number 2 tram straight into the heart of Amsterdam, a 3 day tram pass costs €16.50 after midnight it's a €10-15 taxi ride back from the nightlife. If you are looking for a decent budget hotel then look no further. My only slight moan would be you only get 1 room key which can be a nuisance if like me you where sharing a twin room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank aandcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Wilhelmina earlier this month. It is a budget hotel - good location - regular trams to Amsterdam Centre. Be prepared to carry your luggage up very steep narrow stair case - we were on third floor. Bedroom walls are very thin - breakfast ok but nothing special. Tinned fruit, not fresh. Shower/toilet floor gets very wet as it is 'level access' shower with nothing to contain the water in the shower area. No dry mat to stand on - easy to slip.

Room Tip: There were some rooms on the ground floor - possibly these may be noisier if guests come in late at...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had prepaid for our stay via a tour company, so were surprised to be asked to pay 20euros (refundable) per room for 'key deposit', and 5euros per room per night 'room tax', before we could register. (Also, there is a sign indicating that 'left luggage' attracts a 3euro per item charge). A bad start, BUT - this hotel is located along the no. 2 tram route about 100m from a stop (buy a travel pass from the tourist information office near Central Station), and this passes Museumplein and the Royal Palace on its way to central Amsterdam. Close to Vondelpark. There are plenty of reasonable restaurants within 20 minutes walk, or in the museum area. So, apart from the bad start, this is a good location for visiting the major museums. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast acceptable.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a traditional Amsterdam town house, so the stairs are narrow and steep. If t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Although the people at the hotel were nice and friendly, the service was poor to non existent. i think any hostel has more service than this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel if you value hotel services.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gonçalo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#29 of 337 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#57 of 337 in Amsterdam
502 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 337 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#70 of 337 in Amsterdam
404 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#76 of 337 in Amsterdam
535 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#274 of 337 in Amsterdam
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £56 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 3 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone,Hair dryer,Tea / Coffee facilities. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. Plenty of Cafes and Restuarants nearby. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing