We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel!”
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #283 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here only one night, although we had booked for four. This hotel has been upgraded from a hostel- but very poorly. It was far too expensive for what was offered and is misrepresented as chic. It was dirty, poorly run and the bathrooms were so tiny they were unusuable. The staff hardly spoke Dutch or English and they ask for cash upfront to prevent a 6% surcharge on your credit card. Stay away. There are lots of other wonderful hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

King hotel has the sort of friendly staff you would hope to get to service you were ever you travel. Staying in hotel or airline you require attention and efficient service and help. That's exactly what you get at the King hotel.
Rooms are small but very comfortable and the hotel's location is simply great next to what ever you want to do in Amsterdam. Facilities are above par for this lovely 2 star hotel. A must stay hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

King Hotel is a very basic hotel with the bare essentials for a central stay to Leidsplein.

Service was fairly friendly and the receptionist went out of her way to accommodate an early check in. Arrived at this hotel at 11am and they juggled the rooms about to let us check in at 11.45am. Usual check in time is 3pm.

The room size is average while the on suite bathroom is tiny! The double room is actually made up of two single beds, which is a bit of an irritation.

The bathroom did not have a bathmat and when I enquired about this, I was given a regular towel to use as a bathmat as they don't have bathmats.

You have to pay a small deposit for the keys of the room, which is returned to you upon check out.

I wouldn't stay here again as the hotel was too expensive for the basic amenities provided, having said that the location is good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Invisible_Shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Me and my sis have booked a weekend package at the King Hotel and we accepted online unrefundable money . It was the worse think when we saw our room a small place not even for two person some filthy sheets on a small bed a tiny window facing some walls awfull bathroom . I understood why you could leave your bags downstairs for 6 euros or something. You have no space even for yourself! The receptionist lady kept saying : What are you expecting for a 2 stars hotel ?! What is wrong with the room ?
There are good things about the place also . As we start complainig and crying there the lady changed our room with a river view room. What a change ! Finely a decent place a douple room and.. we had a wardrobe normal bed small but clean bathroom a bit noisy tho but we didnt mind really. The location is excellent a few minutes walk to the centre .
Hope I could help. Good LUCK!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had previously stayed in a hotel without an en suite so I was chuffed when we reached the King Hotel. It was in a great location, easy to find and close to Leidseplein. Room was comfortable enough but the view was terrible, could see straight into other rooms! Staff were friendly and the breakfast was sufficient. Would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00karnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just visited Amsterdam with a few friends, all same age couples. King hotel was superb for the value and the service we received. Staff was exception with their efficient service, made our stay most wonderful. We all will be back soon to enjoy more of the same fun.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayfairlondon1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Im just back from staying at this hotel. I am so glad i wasn't put off by some of the rubbish reviews on here. It is a fantastic hotel ok rooms were small but it is Amsterdam and all houses are small. Very clean, beds changed everyday and fresh towels left. Very good location just off ledseplein square. Room 11 we stayed in, very quiet room on 3rd floor. Staff were friendly, let us check-in 3 hrs early. We were also able to leave our luggage in the hotel on the last day until we left for the airport for 3 euros. Very good hotel, would recommend and its cheaper compared to most.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenmcc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,090 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#218 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#104 of 373 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kooyk Hotel
#210 of 373 in Amsterdam
594 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 373 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £62 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing