We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels a bit dirty”
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #282 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Good location close to liedsplien but room wasn't ready when i first went in and nearly broke my neck when trying to find cleaner watch out for the stairs especially if youv'e had a smoke. Room was a bit dirty. Cheapish hotel for amsterdam but wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisSuarez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Agree with other reviews, that location is good. But my room was tiny - I took a single room and regretted. The TV is set above the bed in a position that is impossible to watch. The safety box was on the floor, again in a bad place. View from window was into other guest's room. Bed sheets and towels were old, with holes. No face towel or mat in the bathroom. Shower box was clean. A lot of noise from the corridors as people return from their night explorations but fortunately once they get in their rooms, things get silent.
B'fast is served from 8AM what is a bit late if you want to start early. No fruits other than the syrupy fruit salad, no veggies like the usual sliced tomato and cucumber. Hotel ask 20Euro deposit for the keys - if you leave early ask for refund on the night before.

Room Tip: Shell out a few extra euros and stay at a better place - plenty of options in the vicinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyongyangsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

After a long search for a hotel in Amsterdam for my trip in March 2011, I finally settled for King Hotel/Hotel King. The location of this hotel is perfect - it is at Leidseplein, overlooking the canal, with 6 tram lines passing the nearby tram stop. The hotel is less than 10 mins away from the Amsterdam Centraal Station by tram and a short walk from the tram stop.

Got a twin room facing the back of the hotel but it was okay - no problem with that as we just needed a room to sleep. The beds are comfy enough and the room clean. The toilet was a squeeze but that is to expect from most European hotel. It is clean though so I have no issues with that.

One plus point about this hotel is that is has a lift! No way was I going to trudge up the narrow steep stairs with my luggage so I made it a point to search for hotel with lift at reasonable price and King Hotel fit my needs perfectly!

Breakfast was okay though not much variety. Pretty basic but enough to fill you up. As I have dietary restrictions, I felt that the breakfast spread was good enough for me. Staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful too! Housekeeping kept our rooms tidy.

When we arrived, our room was not ready so we asked to leave our luggage at the hotel while we grab some food nearby. Before leaving, we asked if there is a toilet in the common area and were directed to the 2nd floor to the tiniest toilet I've been in. It is like a 1-door closet, fits 1 person just nicely. This common toilet may be a tight squeeze for a plus size person though. Navigating inside the toilet was a challenge - what an experience! :) Anyway much to our relieve, our rooms were ready when we got back down to the reception so we checked-in first before heading out.

For Muslims, there are a couple of Halal shops nearby so food is not a problem at all.

Overall, a great stay in Amsterdam and King Hotel! I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The location is just the best , just by the canal 2 mins from Leidseplein. Rooms are big, the hotel entrance looks small but rooms are not bad at all. Breakfast in the morning was gr8 ! Staff was really really helpful. Take cash with you while paying, they charge for cards otherwise. Really good place to stay on budget right where the city comes to life

Room Tip: Take canal view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idealistmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a great experience at King Hotel for one week in September. Room # 17 - hotdeal with canal view - exceeded our expectations. Balcony and large window opened onto canal; light and airy; comfy and clean double bed; maid service daily; modern bathroom; breakfast was always warm, fresh and plentiful. Staff spoke English very well and were very friendly. Secluded yet close to everything! Don't let poor reviews distract you. The best 2-star hotel I've ever seen.

Room Tip: Third floor outside rooms with balcony the best. Avoid the inside rooms which face toward each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinthesize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Pros:

Very good buffet breakfast.
Helpful and nice management.
Very good location.

Cons:

Small rooms.
A bit on the dirty side.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here only one night, although we had booked for four. This hotel has been upgraded from a hostel- but very poorly. It was far too expensive for what was offered and is misrepresented as chic. It was dirty, poorly run and the bathrooms were so tiny they were unusuable. The staff hardly spoke Dutch or English and they ask for cash upfront to prevent a 6% surcharge on your credit card. Stay away. There are lots of other wonderful hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#218 of 372 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#98 of 372 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kooyk Hotel
#210 of 372 in Amsterdam
593 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#196 of 372 in Amsterdam
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £61 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing