We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Hotel
Ranked #278 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“King Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is in a good position,very close to bars and restaurants..trams and the bus to the airport stop nearby..a busy part of Amsterdam but this is a good thing as the hotel is in a quiet street..the room was small,but clean and there is a lift in the hotel,overall,good value for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view and try not to stay in a small single room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    78
    80
    48
    31
See reviews for
13
137
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night out of 3 on a first time visit to Amsterdam - the room was small, yes, not luxury but was clean and it served it's purpose for the 1 night. It's in a nice canal house building and there is a lift if you struggle with the narrow staircases. It's in a good location - we walked from the Central Station and found it fairly easily with directions from somebody. I'd maybe stay here again but I wouldn't want to stay for a full weekend in such a small room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountaintrecker
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our 3 day trip to Amsterdam. Upon arriving at the airport we followed signs for the airport shuttles and we were charged 15eur each for a one way transfer. We later found out that we could have bought a return for not much more but we were never advised of this. Also there's buses and trains that go into the city centre for just a few euros so bare this in mind if you're on a budget and don't fall for the airport shuttle rip off!

Check in was quick and easy. The receptionist was very helpful and answered all our questions. There's a 20EUR deposit to pay for the room key and hotel key. The bedroom was bog standard but clean and the bathroom was minute. Excellent free wifi signal in room 4. Unfortunately there was a constant clicking sound outside the bedroom window and it kept up all night which made it hard to sleep and then first thing in the morning you hear nothing but slamming doors for several hours as people are getting up for breakfast. This is probably acceptable if you're having breakfast but if you want a lie in after a late night on the town then it's very frustrating and stressful.

The location is superb. It's minutes away from the Leidseplein Square where there's an abundance of bars and restaurants. This seems to be the best place to be at night in Amsterdam for drinking.

We found everywhere to be a complete rip off from the transport costs to eating, drinking, museums, etc. So we wasn't surprised that when on checkout at the hotel we were told there would be a 6eur fee for them to look after our bags. I've never known this before at any hotel we've stayed at. After paying £65 per night with no breakfast we had no intention of giving the hotel anymore money so we walked down to the train station and put our bags in the left luggage there.

Overall our stay at the hotel was good and we would consider staying there again if nothing better came up at the same cost.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4, there's constant tapping noises outside (back of the hotel) and it's also very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaintrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I brought my 10 year old niece for a first time visit to Amsterdam and was a bit concerned about position but after reading previous reviews I settled for this hotel. It was great, the staff emailed me directions to get a tram to the hotel and we arrived with no trouble at all. The hotel is in a really buzzy area, full of shops, cafés and restaurant's. A 2 min walk from tram stops and canal cruise drop off point. We had a canal view which was great. The room and bathroom was immaculate.
I don't know what to put for children activities as in the hotel there is none but there is none for adults either. This is no reflection on the hotel it's just not that type of accommodation.
The breakfast was ok, only continental but the hotel could invest in a better toaster......
Many thanks.

Room Tip: Go for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHOELADY1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel was small but nice, the staff members were friendly. Our room was not very big, but it was enough for 2 people and it was cleaned every day. The breakfast was almost the same every day, but it was good. Wi-fi connection was free. The hotel is very well situated - almost in the centre of the city, you can get into the hotel via direct bus from the airport in 30 minutes. I would recommend the hotel and I would come back if I stayed in Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladislav_Kloucek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel was a great find for us as it is located in the heart of the city of Amsterdam. The staff and management is simply wonderful -- very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend it to all my friends and family. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean and the breakfast was just what you need to start your day. So simple but still the best for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violeta Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very clean and nice hotel in a perfect location in the centre of Amsterdam. Good breakfast buffet, and very nice rooms, the rooms may be small but prefect for a short stay.
Amsterdam's typical canal house but made into a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSX S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Kooyk Hotel
#218 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#193 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#230 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#277 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#111 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing