We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Meeting Point
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hostel is exactly as described; a budget hostel right in the heart of the red light district. If arriving by train, the 5 minute walk couldn't be easier and in terms of proximity to other attractions, Dam square is 5 minutes walk and Anne Frank Huis is probably about 10. If you want to visit other places such as Leidseplein or Vondelpark, the walk is slightly longer or you could take the tram - it's not a difficult place to navigate. The hostel was brilliant - we were a bit sceptical at first but the staff were very friendly, the rooms were extremely clean and airy, and the breakfast they provided was a good addition, even for the small fee 5.00EUR.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BurtonBrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

Hostel was within the red light district so it probably wouldn't be suited to anyone that isn't interested in visiting that area of amsterdam. 2 minute walk from central station and Dam square so amazing location. Beds were comfy and the cheap breakfast option was very worthwhile. only downfall we experienced was no hot water in the showers or taps. maybe there is a certain time you need to shower if you want hot water but we never worked out when it was. would recommend it though despite this fact. Also if you want to see amsterdam the bike tour is by far the best way to do it, Mikes Bikes does a tour at 4pm, well worth going on!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

lovely hostel staff, clean rooms, only bad bit was the excessive stairs to climb with cases at the beginning and end. would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexy_bexy241289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Hostel Meeting Point, is a very short walk from Central Station and is located near all the majour tourist attractions. What I love about this place is the 24 hour open bar. If you can't sleep, you can always go downstairs and grab a drink. And the people that run and work at the place are really friendly people. The rooms are what you would expect at an average hostel, And despite the bad reviews on here, I found them pretty clean. The only bad thing about staying here, and I have stayed here 3 times and it has happened every time is the dreaded morning vaccum. Definately not a fan of that. Especially if drinking the night before. Over all I have stayed here many times and will continue to aslong as I travel to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseySchmitt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

What else can you expect when you pay 15 euro per night in a hostel with very good location, very close to the central station and in the redlight district.
Fortunately I stayed for one night in this hostel. The beds are ok and if you want locker you have to pay for it. The hostel has a pub in the first floor, is good fun with good prices. The room was smelly and the toilet is not clean at all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martrip25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This place is a Great place a far as location is concerned, just in the centre of Amsterdam, Dam Square and close to the he RLD, for people who may want to visit, is not too far from this place. Reimbrantplein, Liediesplien is well connected by Trams. The Rooms are ok, I thought the Beds when you arrive look clean but they no longer remain that way. I thought the Bedsheets and Pillow Covers were not changed on a daily basis. But otherwise a great place to be at, Great Value for money. Will stay there again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Five buddys and I meet up in AMS for the night and stayed here. Got an 8 person room for 20 Euro each, bathrooms were clean and had a good shower. Rooms/beds were just ok. We just needed a place to stay and come back to after a night out, so it was great for us. Place seemed pretty safe and in a great location. An extra 2 euro for the locker in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottDavis623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#122 of 242 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Meeting Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Meeting Point

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £26 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing