We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a piece of meet when walking through the main downstairs..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Meeting Point
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This was a terrible hostel and the only pro was that it was a good location. My friend and I stayed 3 nights and were not pleased with our stay. When we got there we were told there was no Internet wifi despite what it said on the website. The rooms were extremely dirty - the carpets are layered with hair an dirt.. We saw the house keeper vacuuming but when he did it did not pick up anything on the floor. The showers are infested with mold.
This is a note for all the women that plan to stay alone or even with a friend - web you are walking through the main floor/desk/pub area to get to the stairs you feel extremely uncomfortable and like a piece of meet with all the old men and sketchy men.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingeuropesolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

I spent 4 nights here and paid EUR 96 (2 nights were Fri and Sat). I came here solo and slept in an 8 person bedroom. The rooms are clean, you get the bed with clean sheets when you arrive. The bar is very good, you can have a continental breakfast for EUR 2.5 (that's cheap in Amsterdam, compared to streets). There are a lot of backpackers, you can meet young people from anywhere in the world. The staff is really helpful, after checkout they let me leave my luggage in the basement for free (my flight only came back in the evening). There are no power plugs in the rooms, but you can charge your mobiles, cameras in the bar (also you can give it to the staff and they will keep it safe). There is no lift, and the stairs are relatively steep, but that's not a problem. There is also a friendly, well behaved white cat. The hostel itself is a few minutes walk from Centraal stations and many sights are in walking distance. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the first floor to avoid stairclimbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I just want to start off saying that we paid next to nothing considering the euro rate at the moment so knew what to expect.
For the price you pay the location is fantastic. You're more or less are in the heart of the action. 5 mins from the train station, round the corner from the red light district, the sq is at the end of the road and all the bars and coffee shops are just outside. You couldn't wish to be in a better location.
The bathrooms are very clean and modern but the facilities are very average. The dorms for example. Lockers are provided but don't seem very secure i.e. it would take someone to kick it quite hard and the door would come off. So i would suggest to check out the locker before you use it but for 2 euros it was fine. The beds and carpet seem clean but are quite hard though it's quite warm in the rooms which is good. The bar area though does smell a bit and not very inviting. The menu and breakfast also is a bit bland with their 2 boiled eggs and bread. If you're travelling on a shoestring then fine but there are much better places about. The drink prices are okish but if you look around you can find better places with better atmosphere and the computer to use the internet look like it was bought in 1990. But the staff are absolutely fine.
Overall this is a fine place for location and for a cheap budget break that doesn't mind sharing in large dorms. The bar was a let down but if you take the attitude of it's a place to lie your head down then its ok. you need to remember you get for what you paid for!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hostel is exactly as described; a budget hostel right in the heart of the red light district. If arriving by train, the 5 minute walk couldn't be easier and in terms of proximity to other attractions, Dam square is 5 minutes walk and Anne Frank Huis is probably about 10. If you want to visit other places such as Leidseplein or Vondelpark, the walk is slightly longer or you could take the tram - it's not a difficult place to navigate. The hostel was brilliant - we were a bit sceptical at first but the staff were very friendly, the rooms were extremely clean and airy, and the breakfast they provided was a good addition, even for the small fee 5.00EUR.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BurtonBrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Hostel was within the red light district so it probably wouldn't be suited to anyone that isn't interested in visiting that area of amsterdam. 2 minute walk from central station and Dam square so amazing location. Beds were comfy and the cheap breakfast option was very worthwhile. only downfall we experienced was no hot water in the showers or taps. maybe there is a certain time you need to shower if you want hot water but we never worked out when it was. would recommend it though despite this fact. Also if you want to see amsterdam the bike tour is by far the best way to do it, Mikes Bikes does a tour at 4pm, well worth going on!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

lovely hostel staff, clean rooms, only bad bit was the excessive stairs to climb with cases at the beginning and end. would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexy_bexy241289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Hostel Meeting Point, is a very short walk from Central Station and is located near all the majour tourist attractions. What I love about this place is the 24 hour open bar. If you can't sleep, you can always go downstairs and grab a drink. And the people that run and work at the place are really friendly people. The rooms are what you would expect at an average hostel, And despite the bad reviews on here, I found them pretty clean. The only bad thing about staying here, and I have stayed here 3 times and it has happened every time is the dreaded morning vaccum. Definately not a fan of that. Especially if drinking the night before. Over all I have stayed here many times and will continue to aslong as I travel to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseySchmitt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#122 of 242 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Meeting Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Meeting Point

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £26 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing