We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Camping Vliegenbos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Vliegenbos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spent a few days in the city then went out to the campsite for the rest of our time in Holland. The ferry drop is relatively close to the site and accessible by public bus. Bike rental at the camp site makes getting to and from the (free) ferry which takes you to the city pleasant and very easy! Really enjoyed our experience at the camp, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelliwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice stay, but the cottages (hut) had a very bad smell (of mold!) why we only stayed there to sleep, fortunetaly the weather was good.
Perfect location for a family though.
A small playground could be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is my second visit to Vliegenbos, Last year we camped in tents and arrived very late but after a quick phone call we were assured its ok and not to panic just try and be quite.

This year we stayed in the trekers cabins. Again getting caught up in amsterdam night life we forgot our check in. After panicing again we phoned very late to be greeted by a very helpfull night guard who told us to relax and he would see us whenever we arrive.

The location is in a quite part of town tucked in behind the trees. The staff are all very very warming and welcoming and extremly helpfull. Any questions the will help you to their best and more.

The cafe and shop supplys everything you will need and covers all those items you forgot to pack the food is simple and tasty.

Smokers are welcome too and are simply advised to please not smoke around familys and children, common sense really.

Toilets are clean and well equipped.

You can rent bikes from 12euro a day highly advised. The camp site is a easy walk to the ferry boat which takes you driectly into central station and runs 24/7 evey 10mins. However the bikes make this journey much much quicker and allow you to transport any purchases easily back to the campsite.

I love the place personally, for me it beats a dusty appartment miles out of town.

Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed with 20 people in the group accommodation and in tents.
The members of the group experienced the camping as nice, close to the city, friendly staff, easy. The group home was clean when we got there except for the fridge. And as we only used one part of the group home some experienced quite a bit of loud noise from the neighbors as they rolled into bed quite late night. There were quite a few party-guests who made loud noises. Some people in the tents found it quite light at night with the lanterns on the field.

Room Tip: not applicable. it is a campground.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dutchmotorcyclistt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

During the awakenings festival 2014 we visited Vliegenbos, nice place, friendly management, ok bathrooms, shop and other facilities, even a rainproof chill out area. Rent a bike, cross the water and your downtown A'dam whithin a few minutes , Highy recommended ! we'll be back next year !

Grtzzz

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PjprL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

You're welcome...You're save...You will love this camping area..! You will love the whole atmosphere..nice people all arround you..nice area..and everything is clean.

Its one of the best camping areas I have ever seen!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have been at Camping Vliegenbos for four nights in June, me my bf and another couple! The staff is really kind and helpful, smiling day and night! The camping is so nice, tidy and equipped with everything you may need during your stay. Hot/cold water, clean bathrooms and showers. There is a chill out area where you can cook something or light a fire! Very good connection with the city center, the bus stop is just in front of the camping entrance, you can reach the central station in 10 minutes. Quality/price ratio, excellent! Thank you Camping Vliegenbos to making our holidays so wonderful! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Simona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Volkshotel
#39 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,420 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,306 reviews
Hotel Casa
#69 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,907 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#225 of 372 in Amsterdam
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Vliegenbos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Vliegenbos

Address: Meeuwenlaan 138, 1022 AM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £7 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location in the north part of Amsterdam.Just a 15 minutes walk to the ferry which takes to the hart of the beautiful city of Amsterdam. The campsite is situated in the oldest cityforest of the Netherlands.On site you´l find a nice restaurant, free showers and use of toilets.Being a geust gives you free wifi.Public transport to and from the city on 300 mtrs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Vliegenbos Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing