We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Zeeburg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Zeeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Having stayed in our camper van 2 years ago, we decided to try the site's waggonettes for three nights stay during a cycling trip. We really enjoy the relaxed, open atmosphere of this campsite which is good value and provides good facilities for a major city site. It was very full but it is still possible to get to showers/washrooms when necessary. The reception and shop are likewise busy but efficient, helpful and polite. The bar/restaurant provides a good range of reasonably priced food and drink. The waggonette is small but clean and very convenient for those not bring their own housing. You can get to the centre in about 20 mins by tram or bicycle. Excellent !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    267
    72
    32
    30
See reviews for
95
289
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having previously stayed in Camping Zeeburg two years ago and had a great time my husband and I decided to make this the start and finish points of our travels around Europe this summer. this campsite is an Experience! the atmosphere is great and although There is no electric hookup for tents or defined pitches and the sight was very busy we were more than comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on a couple of occasions and enjoyed everything we ordered. We were also able to take the opportunity to charge our laptop and phones while we ate. The shower and toilet blocks were cleaned three times a day. We were given free shower coins for returning to the site. The shop stocks basic essentials and bakes some very nice rolls and pastries. there are two supermarkets two tram stops away. If you tend to attract insects like my husband then repellent is a must. One other negative factor was the lack of working power points in the shower blocks. the same ones weren't working when we returned three weeks later. The wifi was free and the signal was fairly good throughout the site. Overall we had two fantastic stays here this summer and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Camped etwice in my teens. Had an excellent time here and based upon this I award this site an excellent. The walk to the station over the bridge was fun and the secret pool we found further down the canal was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooncat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at Camping Zeeburg for 3 nights on a road trip. My fiancee and I were with my sister and her husband. We enjoyed the casual atmosphere of the campground (this could be said of Amsterdam in general), the location to the public transportation, and the pretty good food at the restaurant on site.

My major qualm with this place is that while it was priced very well, we were packed in with other tents on their camping space. We tried to pick a spot with some room, but when we came back from sightseeing, we had tents all around ours, literally touching our walls. I understand that we were camping and that it was an open lot, but I was not expecting sleeping head to head with strangers.

Overall, the Music Festival feel got pretty old, especially over-crowded and dirty bathrooms. We made the most of our time, but I would spring for a more private campsite next time around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferBurkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkenstein, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed already 3-times at this campsite. I think it's the best campsite in Amsterdam. The location is alright, the walk to the tram takes around 30 minutes (if you are not high it will take just 150 minutes). The offer also Cabins but you need to make a reservation in advance if it's high season. We stayed all the time in a tent. Even if it's full you can look for a spot and if you find a spot you can stay. It's pretty easy to meet people at this place but the noise level can be high sometimes. There is also a little supermarket on the campsite. The only thing what I didn't like, that I had to buy coins for the dirty showers. The toilets were dirty as well. But all in all, I would go here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at this private campsite 5 nights, in late July and early August. I arrived to campsite after midnight and at the entrance; the guy in charge, after processing my lodging, kept my passport and said, it will be given back to me at my departure, although I paid everything in advance. I later on learned that, the only reason they kept my passport for 5 days was to keep it as a deposit for the plastic camp tag they gave me to hang it on my tent. The area set for tent campers was so small, and there were so many tents that, it was no different than a refuge camp. The tents had to set so close to each other, when you try to get out of your tent to go the washroom, you had to jump to not to tackle to the tent ropes.
Though clean, the showers and toilets were not that many, and the common areas for cooking and relaxing were small, that there was line up many times. For the sheltered places like the cafeteria, you had to buy something to sit.
I wanted to rent a bicycle at the campsite. This time, they kept my driver's license as a deposit. I told them, I already left my passport. They said bike office is different than reception. I was left without ID during my Amsterdam vacation.
This campsite is more inclined to serve to the motorhome and trailers which they get more money, an unfortunately they are not treating tent campers well. They don't even mind a complaint, since there is a huge demand from tent campers, and they are still getting customers anyways.
I was leaving on Sunday early morning. Because they kept my passport, I had to get back to the campsite before 10pm to get my passport back, missing the Saturday's entertainment in AMS. I asked them, why I can not receive the passport from the gateman at my departure, who grabbed my passport at my arrival. They told me that, they can not give it to the gateman for the security of the passport; definitely a contradiction.
If you want to sleep a night in a tent, without hearing snoring or chattering, find some other places to camp.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FredCana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Best campsite i have stayed this close to the city. It is very relaxed and cheap. Reception is helpful and friendly. They refounded us without question when we left one day early. You have to use shower coins but its okay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Umut M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#123 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zeeburg

Property: Camping Zeeburg
Address: Zuider IJdijk 20, 1095 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxed place to stay in Amsterdam? Then Camping Zeeburg is the perfect place to enjoy your holidays! A unique location, situated on an island in the IJmeer surrounded by nature and only 15 minutes away from the city centre. With an open, friendly and tolerant atmosphere we welcome all kinds of travelers, from all over the world. You can pitch your tent, bring your camper/caravan or stay in a comfortable wagonette or cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing