We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMSTERDAMSE BOS”
Review of Amsterdamse Bos

Amsterdamse Bos
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.65*
and up
Amsterdam Countryside Bike Tour Including Cheese Tasting and Clog Demonstration
Ranked #32 of 516 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Covering an area of almost 1000 hectares, the Amsterdamse Bos is one of the largest city parks in Europe. It contains 150 indigenous species of trees and over 200 species of birds. The park sits to the South of central Amsterdam and can easily be reached by bike, tram or metro from the city center.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,422 reviews
1,317 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“AMSTERDAMSE BOS”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

the "AMSTERDAMSE BOS" was artificially created from open "polder" fields and meadows during the economic depression around 1930 to give the unemployed a meagre income.
Now after 84 years the mature woodland west of AMSTELVEEN, south west of AMSTERDAM BUITENVELDERT,is a vast urban forest.
The constant noisy from planes landing and departing from nearby SCHIPHOL reminds the visitor of it,s urban setting.
Nearby THIJSSE-PARK and BROERSE-PARK offer a more varied flora and at the north side there is good bird watching at the southern shore of NIEUWE MEER.
A free botanical garden VU HORTUS BUITENVELDERT (workdays only)is just east of the AMSTERDAMSE BOS at vanboechortsstraat

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    214
    26
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely park on the outskirts of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to spend a day with children - we spent the day cycling round the park with our kids on the cycle paths. There are a number of playgrounds with paddling pools and an adventure playground above water! Near the main entrance there is ample parking(this can be used to park for a trip into amsterdam) which is free. There is a high ropes course near the main entrance as well for 7 and overs for upwards of 16 euros -we didn't use this but it looks fun for older children. Boerderij Meerzicht (restaurant) is excellent for lovely pancakes at around 6.50€ - the cherry and chocolate pancake was gorgeous and there is a children's playground here as well!

Helpful?
Thank Gsstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Amsterdamse Bos is very close to the home we are staying at. We hop on our bikes and head into the park in any direction to discover something new. One day we found a small farm/petting zoo. The next we found a massive lawn area where we parked the bikes, lay down a blanket, took in some rays and swam in the lake. On an evening ride we discovered an open air theater where people were strolling in with their lawn chairs and baskets with wine and cheese. There are cycle, horse and walking paths throughout. This place goes on forever and is a welcome change to the hustle and bustle 20 minutes away in Amsterdam. Love this park! Great for everyone!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelmum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Magnificent city park, bike a necessity”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Huge park at city outskirts, great to spend a day with kids, rent a bike it is far too large for just walking, check out the kids farm and especially the canoe lake, make a paddling tour and feel in a real jungle just silence and ducks, hang out and picnic on the grass next to lake and go for a swim in hot weather, this park is also a runners paradise...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lumzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An immense big park that could be more beautiful”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went there becaue we generally love parks, but this one is really not worth going to, if you donot have much time. There are many other much more beautiful oarks in Amsterdam, perhaps not as big and perhaps not as central!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amsterdamse Bos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdamse Bos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing