We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Skotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skotel Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

An excellent place to stay just 10 mins by tram from the Dam square. The students who run things here are brilliant. There are tutors on hand to oversee them but rarely needed. Their customer service skills are above and beyond expectation. The place is modern, clean and welcoming. We ate in the fine dining restaurant and it was just lovely. Great value too. Breakfast was also excellent. Rooms were v clean and modern. Very comfortable beds. All in all excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Spanishsuperfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Skotel in Amsterdam and had a fabulous time. The room was very comfortable, clean and large. It had all the amenities, and the breakfast was great. During the day one can also use the cafe for coffee and in the evenings as bar. The drinks are all very cheap and their upscale restaurant is very well priced too for a very good meal.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, I have stayed here before. Some have more luxurious furnishings than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperTravelerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was very unsure what to expect from this Hotel, the reason for our journey was because my son was applying to study at the university that is attached to the Skotel. So, I knew that the hotel would be being staffed by students at the university, many of them still in their first year of studies. I have to say that I need not have worried, the quality of care and the standard of service service they gave was equal to anything I have received anywhere in the world.

The rooms are furnished by the leading hotel chains, and to a high standard, each having the usual bathroom, t.v and as an added bonus, good, quick free wi-fi in the bedrooms.

The food is also first class, as was the service the reception provided dealing with both our cheeking in and out. right outside the entrance is a tram stop and you are in the center of the city with 10 minutes. Well done Skotel an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1967tazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

As student of Hotelschool it is really nice to see and to feel how much effort students and stuff are putting in, in such a wonderful concept. The combination of service, the practical education for students, and the overall environment in the building is in many ways potential. Potential for the school, and above all potential for the city of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casper201292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dorota B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We visited with our two grown up children. The location was perfect, ten minutes by tram right
outside the front door into the centre of Amsterdam. Great rooms, really clean, stylish and
peaceful. Each room is decorated in a different style.

The breakfast was delicious, very generous and served by the delightful students of the
Hotel School who can't do enough for you.

We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and will certainly be back to visit. It is also good
value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevet1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Un peu loin du centre ville, mais l'hôtel est très bien desservi par les transports, un personnel souriant et arrangeant et un hôtel avec beaucoup de charme, propre, convivial et agréable qu'on a un peu de mal quand même à quitter.
A bit far from city center, but the hotel is very well served by public transport, a smiling and accommodating staff and a hotel with lots of charm, clean, friendly and nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Clément C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Amsterdam

Address: Jan Evertsenstraat 171, 1057 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £64 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skotel is the traininghotel of Hotelschool The Hague-Amsterdam Campus.Our students will be very happy to welcome you at our hotel and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing