We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Taste of Amsterdam”
Review of Van Speyk

Van Speyk
Ranked #108 of 3,806 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$57
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Wixom, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Taste of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

During our recent visit to Amsterdam we wanted one of our dinners to be "Dutch" food (though we weren't really sure what that meant). We were totally overwhelmed by the number of restaurants in the area of Central Station, so we asked for a recommendation from our cruise company's concierge. She recommended that we try Van Speyk; we followed that recommendation - and we're glad that we did. It was a great choice in terms of location, the restaurant's decor, service, and most importantly --- the food.

On the evening of our visit, Van Speyk had a three-course menu for €29.50; it was a great choice. The first course was a fantastically thick and flavorful gazpacho, with small shrimps and onions added to the soup. That was followed by a main course of mussels cooked in a vegetable / wine broth, served with fries and a salad. Finally, the dessert was a Sauterne flavored zabaglione, served with sliced berries topped with a caramel sauce. Wow! What's not to like?

Beyond that, the service was wonderful. In an heavily-visited tourist area, I was impressed by the friendliness and hospitality of the service staff. One possible reason is that this restaurant is not of the type that screams out to tourists. It is somewhat understated and elegant in its approach, and the restaurant's clientele seemed to be primarily local people. Speaking of elegance - you need to see the beautiful interior of the restaurant, particularly after dark when they fully illuminate their chandeliers.

We chose to have our meal outside and it was a nice choice. It was wonderful to be able to have a delicious taste of Dutch cuisine, while watching the excitement of Amsterdam pass by. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    361
    69
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great first night of our vacation”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our hotel provided this recommendation and they were right on. We experienced good food, good service and a lovely atmosphere. A great way to start our vacation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had an excellent dinner at Van Speyk. May be better to have a reservation if you want to eat outside. The food was excellent but this is not a cheap restaurant (29,50€ for 3 course set menu). We had «a la carte» the duo of lamb and the dutch beef stew and we adored it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thebeach2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We came to restaurant about 5 o'clock for an early dinner. It was not our first visit in this place so we expected good food and service. Food was good as always. Unfortunately not service. We waited for main course an hour. The stuff was not intrested to ask if we need more drinks. Dissapointed.

Helpful?
Thank Gosia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Firstly our apologies for your experience yesterday. We can explain that afternoon due to a staff shortage that day and a mistake of one of our waiters, but that of course is no excuse for an unexpected negative experience. That said, we do feel it's a shame that you had good experiences before and choose to write your first ever review, a bad one, after a single evening in our restaurant. You were with us before and you know we usually do better. I cordially invite you to come again and also write about your positive experiences.

Best regards,

The van speyk team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
312 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Based on TA reviews, we picked Van Speyk for dinner on the first night of our stay in Amsterdam. We were so glad we did. We were two couples, and all of us thought our individual dishes had to be the best. My wife had the special which was soup, mussels & fries, and dessert. It was all delicious and more than she could finish. Our friends raved about their Veal two ways and the scallops. Mine had to be the best though, it was the traditional Dutch stew. This was no stew like I've ever had- a large piece of fork tender beef on a bed of mashed potatoes, with a split grilled sausage perched on top.....it was so good it will make you want to go home and yell at your mother for thinking she could ever make stew! The service was excellent, the price reasonable, and the food superb!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Speyk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Speyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing