We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zouthaven

Zouthaven
Ranked #2,740 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A lovely terrace!! Al fresco wining & dining..... really good . I can recommend this place. Planning to go back shortly for a Sunday brunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ireenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    44
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good fish”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was going to a concert at the Muziekgebouw, and this restaurant was a perfect place to meet my friend and dine beforehand, being downstairs from the concert hall. The salad I had was very good, and so were the scallops. The service was somewhat spotty, though the people were nice enough.

This restaurant is not in the Red Light District, by the way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish on the IJ”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were staying at the Movenpick Hotel on the Piet Heinkade where the large cruise ships dock. We were embarking on a Baltic Cruise the following day. We decided that we did not want to walk or take the Tram into the main part of Amsterdam, so we decided to try Zouthaven, a mere half a block away from the hotel entrance. The place was not very busy so we were seated immediately. I really liked the clean design and feel of the place. Great view of the IJ River (canal). We all had fish, 3 turbots and one halibut. We all agreed that it was one of the best fish meals ever. We shared a couple of bottles of Austrian Gruner Veltliner which was perfect with the fish. The service was great, everyone spoke English and a few had either visited our part of Canada or had relatives living in Canada. This is an undiscovered gem that people need to patronize as without customers, no restaurant! We did not eat outside due to the wind, but they have a huge beautiful outdoor patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winediner923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely situation on a sunny day”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We only had snacks and drinks and sat in the sun beside the canal. There was a pleasant atmosphere it's not really anywhere near the red light district!
The food was fine and the waiting staff were very cheerful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolinagmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“strange atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We wanted a nice dinner and it was OK. The food was not bad but certainly not exceptional either. There were not many people dining when we were there so it felt like everyone in the restaurant was listening to every word we said.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letsstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zouthaven also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zouthaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing