We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #12 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel, but still have this strange feeling. On the one hand - superb location (museums, shops), fantastic interior, impressive breakfast and lunch in the brassiere (I have not yet tried their restaurant), very good swimming pool. On the other hand, design of the rooms (deluxe room) is somewhat 'not-user-friendly', room cleaning needs improvement.
Overall, I would recommend to stay in this hotel if you are on business.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Heel hartelijk dank dat u wederom heeft gekozen om in het Conservatorium Hotel te verblijven. Wij zijn blij om te horen dat u heeft genoten van het interieur, de brasserie en Akasha. Uw feedback omtrent de gebruiksvriendelijkheid en schoonmaak van de kamers geeft ons de mogelijkheid onze service verder te perfectioneren, ook hiervoor willen wij u bedanken.
Wij hopen u snel weer te mogen begroeten in ons hotel.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    188
    47
    28
    13
See reviews for
204
532
64
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Went here (for the second time) to have a drink with friends in the lounge. To sum up, service is poor and not up to standard for a 5* hotel. Waiting for being served for more than 5 minutes when there is one other group having drinks seems a bit strange to say the least. Beautifully decorated but what is the use if the waiter is not allowed to put the drinks on the table (because it's a design table, come on). Finally the hotel has its typical Amsterdam pets, mice - which the staff brushed off as being part and parcel of Amsterdam. That may be true, but I have been to other nice Amsterdam hotels where I have yet to find the pleasure of seeing them. All in all, there is a lot to be done at the Conservatorium hotel....

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bas80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor de moeite die u heeft genomen om uw feedback hier op Tripadvisor met ons te delen. Vervelend vinden wij het om te horen dat u een teleurstellende ervaring heeft gehad in de lounge. Voor het gemak van de gasten hebben wij in de lounge speciale bijzettafeltjes om de drankjes op te plaatsen. Mocht u echter toch liever gebruik willen maken van de design tafels dan is dit mogelijk. Wij hebben uw punten besproken met de F&B afdeling en zij zullen deze verder bespreken. Wellicht is het voor u ook een leuk idee om een volgende keer in onze Tunes bar te gaan drinken. Het bestrijden van muizen heeft één van onze hoogste prioriteiten. Een professioneel bestrijdingsbureau draagt er op dit moment zorg voor dat dit probleem snel wordt verholpen. Nogmaals willen wij u vriendelijk bedanken voor uw reactie en wij hopen u in de toekomst nog eens te mogen ontvangen in het Conservatorium Hotel.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Conservatorium Hotel in Amsterdam is located in one of the best areas in Amsterdam, nearby all the museums and around the corner for the highend fashion shops. We had lunch in the Brasserie and the interior design is fantastic, food is gret but, the service a bit slow. Guess its a startup issue as not the whole hotel is finsihed yet. It is definetly worht it to either stay the nigh, go for lunch, dinner, drink in the bar or just have a cup of tea or cofee in teh Foyeer. Great ambience in this fantastic interior designed by Piero Lissoni.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirienesral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hierbij wil ik u graag bedanken voor uw positieve reactie over het Conservatorium Hotel. Wij zijn blij om te horen dat u heeft genoten van uw lunch in de Brasserie. Wij hopen u nogmaals te mogen verwelkomen.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laren
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had dinner in the Brasserie. Excellent service and good food. The ambiance is amazing. Just across from the important museums in Amsterdam and with the Amsterdam equivalent of Rodeo Drive around the corner. The Vondelpark is there for watching people and some jogging. Walk past the Rijksmuseum and you are in the canal district. What else could you want!
The design of the lobby is stylish and excellent for lounging. I grew up around the corner and i can recommend this place and this area highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert-Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Google Translation
Geachte heer Scheers,
Hartelijk dank voor uw lovende woorden over het Conservatorium Hotel. Wij vinden het erg fijn om te horen dat u heeft genoten van het diner en de sfeer in de Brasserie en hopen u als 'oud' buurtbewoner binnenkort wederom te mogen begroeten.
Met vriendelijke groet,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinbek
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Hotel is located in an ideal area of Amsterdam, really in the center... Next to the museum square, close to the vondelpark (well we didn't go there, it was too cold) and close to the Leidse Square. The hotel is new, still somethings were done when we were there, but we didn't notice much of it. The design is nice, modern in an old building!.. The rooms were big, the food was ok (could be better for that price) and they have lot's of other facilities such as an indoor pool. All in all we had a good time and the staff was friendly. If we go to Amsterdam we would go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hartmut p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Beautifully designed hotel, candy for the eye, annoying for the ear. OK, the hotel is still under construction. The promisse that there would be no drilling and hammering at 7 am was untrue, and besides "you would not hear it in your room" (also untrue). More concerning however is that rooms overlooking the atrium are prone to constant noise. Of people coming in, laughter, chairs moving about, and music (to entertain guests? of the work force? untill well into the night). Unless the hotel comes with a solution, I advise every one to book a room facing the road. And bring your earplugs with you!
Last remark: the light switches are very sophisticated, press one of the buttons and wait a second or 5. If the light is on, you have pressed the right button. Otherwise, press another button and wait....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atravelexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel is still in its last stages of completion, but visitors will not really note that. We did not notice any construction noise or other inconveniences. The entrance of the hotel has a great ambiance. The personnel outside (valet parking) and at the front desk were very friendly and service oriented. We had to wait quite some time before we could get the key, but that was probably because we arrived at 3 in stead of 5 as originally planned. We were offered a complimentary drink fro the brasserie whilst waiting though. The room we booked ( standard double) was clean, comfortable, luxerous but smallish. Good matrass. The spa looks great, but is aso still in its completion stage ( no inconvenience though). Breakfast ok, although having to pay additional for fried eggs etc (eventhough breakfast was included in room price) was a bit surprising (especially considering that the hotel rates are quite high)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing