We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #12 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
AHENES
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A dream place”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

There are no words to describe the feeling of ouaou! you have when you enter this amazing hotel -the old conservatorium of the town inserted in a totaly new modern construction, by a talented italian architecte, from glace and iron! What your eyes see around is absoloutely beautiful, interesting, revolousionary and elegant! Also the service of this 5 stars hotel, is the best I have met in my life. Everything you ask is possible for them, with a warm deep understanding from their heart. You feel being with friends, not in a hotel. The rooms are fabulous! Small mezonetta of two floors! And also, breakfast and food in the "Brasserie" is from the very highest quality, fresh, in big variety and adequate for people they want to eat healty and exclusivelly! Definatelly I will go again!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinaAhenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for these kind words about the Conservatorium Hotel. We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    183
    46
    28
    13
See reviews for
201
524
63
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

There are some things that anyone currently considering this hotel should be aware of that I do not think are made clear on the website. Firstly, the hotel is NOT finished. There are countless communal rooms/areas that are still concrete boxes with wires hanging around from power points etc. including the business centre, and a number of other communal rooms off the lobby. My bedroom was very nice, but the telephone in the main living space didnt work at all, and the phone in the bedroom had a very bad buzzing sound so I had to use the one in the loo. I overheard another customer at reception warning the receptionist that in his room one of the power sockets was a health risk as it had not been correctly installed. The spa was fine, sauna amazing, but the hammam was not available for use, and the jacuzzi had no bubbles. I ordered room service one morning, and the food took an hour. I was offered free apple juice and the food was very nice. However, I had lunch in the brasserie, and ordered a Rib Eye steak medium rare. In my opinion if a chef cannot cook a steak correctly there is a big problem, never mind in a FIVE STAR hotal for 26 Euros. First it was medium, so I sent it back, then it came back BLUE. I ate it as I couldnt be bothered to complain further, but this is very very poor. I was offered complimentary tea as apology, but nothing was removed from the bill.
This hotel has clearly been opened too early in order to start raking in money. It has lovely elements, and when it is all complete and the chef and staff are all properly trained it will be I am sure very nice. But the point is that I paid full prices (and very hefty prices) for a hotel that is far far from ready. I would strongly recommend AGAINST anyone going to this hotel yet until it has been completed. As I have come away disappointed on the whole.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank craftyninja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,
Hartelijk dank voor de tijd die u genomen heeft om uw feedback betreffende uw verblijf in het Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam met ons te delen. Wij vinden het erg vervelend om te horen dat uw eerste kennismaking over het algemeen teleurstellend is geweest.
Uw terugkoppeling stelt ons in staat onze service en kwaliteit te optimaliseren. Inmiddels hebben wij uw aanmerkingen met de verantwoordelijke afdelingen besproken en zij zullen er zorg voor dragen dat deze worden aangepakt. Tijdens uw verblijf kunt u ons te allen tijde op de hoogte te stellen van tekortkomingen in de kamer zodat wij u van dienst kunnen zijn met het bieden van oplossingen.
Wij zien u graag als tevreden gast van het Conservatorium Hotel en hopen dan ook dat u ons een tweede kans wilt geven om onze faciliteiten en service te ervaren. Indien wij u daarbij van verdere assistentie kunnen zijn dan vernemen wij dit graag van u.
Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A weekend away for my wife and I. A beautiful hotel, I endorse everything said about the lobby and other public area design, truly magnificent and sympathetic conversion of a grand building. The spa is excellent, and aside from some hesitation over whether we could have a table for two at dinner in the restaurant superb service.
The quality of the fittings in the bedroom is also excellent, however whilst the bathrooms are wonderful the room itself is simply too small, around 60% of the room area is bathroom ,toilet and corridor, with about 18 inches, or 45 cm either side of the bed, there is only only one bedside table, possibly because another won't fit. There is no long hanging space for a dress, there is no coat hook although there is a phone in the wc, I know which I use most often. The coffee machine appears to have expired, and whilst it may be that I cannot find the switch, there aren't any instructions.
We ate in the restaurant last night and it was very good, a wonderful room, we had the set menu (bizarrely called set a la carte), langoustine salad, just magnificent, cappuccino foam with lobster or asparagus, not really, clever but a little sickly. Paella and rack of lamb for the main, paella little disappointing, and the lamb with white beans good, but both were just lukewarm which may have affected them. Deserts of panacotta with violet ice cream very good, and what appears to be their signature chocolate olive tree. I wasn't really taken with the chocolate olive tree, cleverly presented, but minced Oreos (the base) don't do it for me, a little too unremittingly chocolate in the end. Some very nice petite fours with coffee. 180 euros, worth it, a definite experience, but not uniformly great, 4 stars I would say.
I have just been to their excellent spa using the gym, pool and sauna it was lovely, I feel guilty writing a less than 5 star review in their magnificent conservatory, but I don't want to go to my claustrophobic room so I am afraid I must. I will come back, but I will pay for a better room, their base level room is not good enough for the rest of the hotel, it isn't good enough for their incredible staircases and corridors!
Great place tiny room.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not a base room, or avoid 105 if I happened to have stayed in the smallest one they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great time here. Your comments about some courses in Tunes restaurant are enabling us to refine our dishes, also therefore we would like to thank you.We look forward to welcoming you again, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance with finding the perfect room size for you.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel, but still have this strange feeling. On the one hand - superb location (museums, shops), fantastic interior, impressive breakfast and lunch in the brassiere (I have not yet tried their restaurant), very good swimming pool. On the other hand, design of the rooms (deluxe room) is somewhat 'not-user-friendly', room cleaning needs improvement.
Overall, I would recommend to stay in this hotel if you are on business.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Heel hartelijk dank dat u wederom heeft gekozen om in het Conservatorium Hotel te verblijven. Wij zijn blij om te horen dat u heeft genoten van het interieur, de brasserie en Akasha. Uw feedback omtrent de gebruiksvriendelijkheid en schoonmaak van de kamers geeft ons de mogelijkheid onze service verder te perfectioneren, ook hiervoor willen wij u bedanken.
Wij hopen u snel weer te mogen begroeten in ons hotel.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Went here (for the second time) to have a drink with friends in the lounge. To sum up, service is poor and not up to standard for a 5* hotel. Waiting for being served for more than 5 minutes when there is one other group having drinks seems a bit strange to say the least. Beautifully decorated but what is the use if the waiter is not allowed to put the drinks on the table (because it's a design table, come on). Finally the hotel has its typical Amsterdam pets, mice - which the staff brushed off as being part and parcel of Amsterdam. That may be true, but I have been to other nice Amsterdam hotels where I have yet to find the pleasure of seeing them. All in all, there is a lot to be done at the Conservatorium hotel....

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bas80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor de moeite die u heeft genomen om uw feedback hier op Tripadvisor met ons te delen. Vervelend vinden wij het om te horen dat u een teleurstellende ervaring heeft gehad in de lounge. Voor het gemak van de gasten hebben wij in de lounge speciale bijzettafeltjes om de drankjes op te plaatsen. Mocht u echter toch liever gebruik willen maken van de design tafels dan is dit mogelijk. Wij hebben uw punten besproken met de F&B afdeling en zij zullen deze verder bespreken. Wellicht is het voor u ook een leuk idee om een volgende keer in onze Tunes bar te gaan drinken. Het bestrijden van muizen heeft één van onze hoogste prioriteiten. Een professioneel bestrijdingsbureau draagt er op dit moment zorg voor dat dit probleem snel wordt verholpen. Nogmaals willen wij u vriendelijk bedanken voor uw reactie en wij hopen u in de toekomst nog eens te mogen ontvangen in het Conservatorium Hotel.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Conservatorium Hotel in Amsterdam is located in one of the best areas in Amsterdam, nearby all the museums and around the corner for the highend fashion shops. We had lunch in the Brasserie and the interior design is fantastic, food is gret but, the service a bit slow. Guess its a startup issue as not the whole hotel is finsihed yet. It is definetly worht it to either stay the nigh, go for lunch, dinner, drink in the bar or just have a cup of tea or cofee in teh Foyeer. Great ambience in this fantastic interior designed by Piero Lissoni.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirienesral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hierbij wil ik u graag bedanken voor uw positieve reactie over het Conservatorium Hotel. Wij zijn blij om te horen dat u heeft genoten van uw lunch in de Brasserie. Wij hopen u nogmaals te mogen verwelkomen.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laren
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had dinner in the Brasserie. Excellent service and good food. The ambiance is amazing. Just across from the important museums in Amsterdam and with the Amsterdam equivalent of Rodeo Drive around the corner. The Vondelpark is there for watching people and some jogging. Walk past the Rijksmuseum and you are in the canal district. What else could you want!
The design of the lobby is stylish and excellent for lounging. I grew up around the corner and i can recommend this place and this area highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert-Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Google Translation
Geachte heer Scheers,
Hartelijk dank voor uw lovende woorden over het Conservatorium Hotel. Wij vinden het erg fijn om te horen dat u heeft genoten van het diner en de sfeer in de Brasserie en hopen u als 'oud' buurtbewoner binnenkort wederom te mogen begroeten.
Met vriendelijke groet,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing