We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty amazing hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
prague
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Beautifully restored building, simple yet classy rooms, lobby with a very soothing atmosphere and very pleasant staff. Room and bathroom very spotlessly clean. Especially the bathroom is beautifully designed and furnished - loved the huge rain shower and sitting on the wooden stool in the shower after a long day at work felt like heaven on earth. Staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Fast check in but then we had a group booking and our details were already in the system so that might have helped. Nice touch was how a person was assigned to you during check in who would walk you to your room and show you how everything operates in the room (lights and shades...). Breakfast was good though we saw no warm food on selection, we were a bit shy so never asked and only on our last day when we were rushing to the airport we found out that there is a menu for warm breakfast but you have to ask for it but this was not any major problem. The choice of food for breakfast was very nice even without eggs/bacon... For me the reason why 4 points and not 5 is the noise in the room - I stayed on the 7th floor (lovely view!) but the first night I got up twice from my bed to check if my windows were really closed. The noise from the trams from the street below was that strong. I would recommend rooms facing the side street with no trams or facing the atrium.

We had dinner once in the brasserie - it was okay nothing impressive though. However, colleagues spoke highly of the Tunes restaurant so next time I will try to test it out. The bar was very pleasant - great drinks, again very good service but strangely it was almost empty most of the evening.

Other than that a really beautiful and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms facing the side street with no trams or facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PragueMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear guest,

How wonderful to read such a nice review of your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. May you visit the hotel again, please inform us about your room preferences and we would be more than happy to assist you in finding the perfect room. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    176
    44
    26
    11
See reviews for
193
506
62
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a great addition to the Amsterdam scene great loction, accomodation, food and service and despite being notoriously mean the Amsterdamer's are there too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adolphe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on business. It is a stunning building and they have done amazing work to ensure every aspect of original and new buildings blend in. The architecture is so impressive that you hope for a great experience. The lobby is cool and a nice place for a cup of tea or informal meeting. The gym is lovely and well equipped. The rooms are duplex split level and very funky and on first look appear great. The upside is the bed is comfortable, the wifi is free and the shower is good. However the air con is woeful. It only works in the upstairs part by the bed so downstairs by the desk, sitting area and bathroom is stifling and hot. The pillows are either so soft they are paper thin or so bouncy its like laying on a trampoline. When I asked to change them I was told that was it, inspire of a 'pillow menu' in the room. The storage and lay out is a disaster with plugs for thehairdryer next to the sink! And hardly any handing space and no drawers. Finally the safe lost power on morning of checkout and the delay getting it opened meant i was late for a meeting. The service in every aspect was poor and slow and generally lacked care. We tried to book an evening trip only to be told by the time they had called 8hrs after asked to, it was sold out. A table at a restaurant was booked for the wrong time and we lost the table. Generally every request to reception or a host was seen as a nuisance. The breakfast drinks took ages to arrive as did the evening after dinner tea. My suspicion is they currently trade on the beauty Of the hotel and it's history. However most business travellers in particular value good service and functionality. As a regular traveller I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slmorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. We take your comments very serious, and have discussed these with all departments concerned. We are continuously training our colleagues, to ensure that they provide our guests with the right and professional service. We sincerely hope you will give our hotel a second chance. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

stayed for 1 night for business trip in NL.
Location - right opposite concergebouw - and all the major museums - and PC Hooft (amsterdams wannabe Bondstreet) around the corner. lost of good restaurante nearby but little night life in the near vicinity. Mind though the Stedelijk museum right accross from the hotel is closed and there is a lot of construction still underway (in no way does this disturb your hotel stay btw)
hotel is new and lobby - brasserie all look stunning with a very impressive atrium.
Room - i had the least expensive superior room - the design is very nice - and all eletronics state of the art - though i still find normal light switches and curtains easier to use than the electronic variety (probably getting old). at 25m2 its on the small side, but not cramped - with 2 people its would be.
The beds are amazingly comfortable / shower great / amenities as they should be (l'occitane)
Internet - Wifi is free and worked quick and effortlessly.
The Gym is amazing - esp the pool/spa are! and big for european standards
Nice touch - nespresso machine in ahc room.
Not so nice: shower door does not cloes adequately so eahc time you shower the whole bathroom is like a swimming pool - poor design in my opinion.
Minibar was not stocked completely - and get rid of the large bottles of liquor - small ones much better - i wanted one drink and had to buy a quart bottle for 24euro's - not good
The fridge switches on and off very regularly during the night - and its loud (not well insulated)

I found the breakfast buffet rather dissapointing with a veyr limited choice of items.
and 1 person at check out in the morning at 8.30 is ofcourse not good planning!!

And lastly many staff give the impression they still need training to get things moving smoothly - they are all very friendly and work hard at making you feel at home!

all small things but at 375euro for the cheapest room and the ambition to the top 5* hotel - there still is some work to be done!

Room Tip: get a bigger room than the superior - also i guess a rooom facing van baerle straat can be noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUMMIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on our hotel with us. Your feedback gives us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities. I can assure you that we have taken your mentioned points very serious, and will do our utmost to improve these issues. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

As others have said, Hotel Conservatorium is a great new hotel. Only two issues: The location is a bit further out from the Canal District than other smaller hotels. However, public trams are right at the front entrance. Getting a one-day or three-day tram ticket is suggested. Secondly, we had WiFi problems and kept having to re-register even though our hotel package included the service. Without the package, WiFi would have been very expensive. Lesson: make sure your reservation includes WiFi. Also include breakfast, because the hotel isn't bashful about adding secondary fees. Everything else was great-- especially the staff and service.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet area. The bar can be noisy and the sound travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We fully agree that the WiFi problems are not acceptable, unfortunately we experienced some serious challenges with our WiFi provider. We are currently monitoring this and hope this is now resolved. Our apologies for the inconvenience it has caused you. We are happy to hear your stay was overall satisfying, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

finally a property in Amsterdam that is simply stunning. i was very much looking forward staying here and everything i wished for was there.

Check in was fantastic, fast, great service and understanding; i got off a long flight and everything was well taken care off. the room is simply stunning and has everything i want or need, from US adaptor plugs to 2 bathrooms. lots of closet space and chic finishes. room service is fast as a matter of fact getting anything, is fast. beds are amazing with the right bedding and pillows. a mattress that has comfort.

The gym is brilliant, beside some hotels in the US it has been a while since i have experienced a well equipped gym, trainers onside that know hat they are talking about. fantastic kickboxing class with Mitchell is just exactly what i needed after a long trip and weekend. I rebooked him for my return trip again. the Spa is stunning.

both restaurants are great ad again the service is lovely.

cannot wait for my return next week

Room Tip: if you can, get a duplex, large, great feeling to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euro7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you will visit us again next week. I am looking forward to meeting you personally on your next visit.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is just over three months old and, unfortunately, some construction is still being done. When they checked me in, the room was still had the tv display panel on the floor waiting to be installed. The error was rectified and I was put into a good room--the staff was very apologetic and even sent up a bottle of wine. Internet was slow and in one instance, out for a couple of hours.

Once they iron out these kinks, however, the hotel will be fabulous.The rooms are well appointed and there are some nice architectural and ID elements--some rooms have sloping roofs, others sleek box baths. It's a beautiful place overall with designer furniture--the Marcel Wanders rope chair is proudly displayed in the bar/waiting area--while maintaining much of what was the former national music conservatory. Just across the hotel is the Van Gogh museum and it's just a five minute walk from the Rijksmuseum. The other entrance takes you out to a high street with the Albert Heijn supermarket on one side and a Zara Homes on the other. There's a turnoff that leads to a luxury lane with Vuitton and Chanel as well as a Taschen bookshop.

I'm notorious for posting up some pretty scathing reviews, so yes, they had me at the bottle of wine for apology :) Now that's service.

Room Tip: Get one on the 6th floor. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplebasquiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review on our hotel. We are sorry that not all of our facilities met your expectations and will do our utmost to address these issues. We hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing