We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing renovated and designed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing renovated and designed hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Hotel is a fantastic and we enjoyed our time. Very much an upscale hotel and in a prime location. Super close to many cultural sites with also easy access to public transport around Amsterdam. Expect to pay more for the services and products at this hotel as it is much more posh than most anything in the city. Enjoy the time in the rooms as they are well designed and have tons of character.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutty1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our location in the museum district to your liking. We hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    181
    45
    26
    11
See reviews for
199
514
62
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Awesome hotel! Friendly staff, fabulous duplex room with the nicest fittings you've ever seen. Its a conversion of an old bank building in the museum district. Breakfast was terrific, the waiters are 2m tall!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewartRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Having survived two nights at the Conservatorium Hotel in Amsterdam in early November, we feel obliged to provide a fair and honest review for the benefit of our fellow man.

On arrival we were provided with the Presidential Suite (usually costing several thousand Euros per night) instead of the €600.00 per night suite booked – so far, so good. However, receiving this upgrade was the last positive experience the establishment had to offer, and later, only fuelled one’s curiosity about how uninhabitable the other suites must have been.

To be blunt; the accommodation was as sophisticated as a prehistoric cave. Whilst lavished with all the usual refinements one can expect from a luxury city hotel; none of them worked. Turning on the television fused the lights throughout the suite, and switching on the room’s lights fused the electricity for the entire corridor. As for the heating; what heating? For the duration of the stay the heating refused to function, making the suite more akin to a Russian Gulag than a luxury hotel room. We should say that we do not like indoor heating to be excessively high – this being unhealthy, but a temperature in the double digits would have been a welcome improvement.

Despite raising these issues with hotel staff who visited our suite not less than eight times over the course of our two night stay, the issues were not resolved.

On checking out, we were offered a paltry 25% discount on the rate of the room, a grossly disproportionate gesture when considering the accommodation was unfit for habitation. Rather than accepting this meagre token, we were assured that the General Manager would write to us expressing his apologies and providing more appropriate compensation for our patience and understanding. After more than a month, however, no such correspondence has been received or is expected. We can only imagine that the Manager’s energies have been diverted to a compulsory customer service course, or failing that, the rigors of an electrical training programme (perhaps the latter would be more useful).

In summary, whilst at first glance the hotel appears to have all the characteristics of a luxury European city hotel, we cannot help but think that the only accolade it will receive is being Amsterdam’s answer to Fawlty Towers - it certainly isn’t a satisfactory (or even tolerable) environment in which to rest one’s head.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Mr X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We deeply regret the streak of bad luck you had during your visit. I can assure you that this is not the kind of service we strive for to provide. Although this does not help you for your past visit, I would like to inform you that we have now resolved all issues in the room.

I am also sorry to hear that my apology letter did not reach you. As discussed on the telephone earlier this week I have send it to you again.

Once again my apologies for this inconvenience. We hope you will give our hotel another chance, and I can assure you that you will not experience the same problem again.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My wife and I just returned from Europe. Part of our trip brought us to Amsterdam for the first time. We chose to stay at the Conservatorium based on articles we had read. We're very happy we did.

The first thing that needs to be mentioned is the sheer beauty of the hotel. It's majestic size and turn-of-the-century facade both alert you to the fact that this hotel is something special. Upon arrival, you'll note that the main greeting and seating area, as well as the restaurant, are all enclosed in an atrium of glass and steel, so you see the old exterior of the building as an internal wall. I believe they told us the atrium is where the parking lot previously was. This glass enclosure stretches skyward for what I believe was four or five floors. Visually it was very impressive. What a way to welcome guests.

Once checked in, which was speedy, we were escorted to our room. This was a nice touch as our escort was able to point out and describe items about the hotel. It was almost like a condensed history lesson on the walk to our room. Inside the corridors of the hotel, you'll find that the new hotel was fitted around the existing structure, which is really beautiful from a design standpoint, but also in terms of preserving the original structure.

Inside the room, you'll find everything is modern and sophisticated. High-gloss cabinet and closet faces, stone throughout the bathroom, dark wood flooring and all of the expected conveniences; coffee machine, safe, refrigerator, LCD televisions, etc.

We also ate at Tunes, the restaurant housed within the hotel. Hotel restaurants are generally something we'd try to avoid, but on day one, there was a torrential downpour of rain, so we decided to stay indoors. We're glad we did. The dining area was as beautiful as the rest of the hotel, but what's more, the food was delicious. So much so that we electively decided to eat there again the following night.

I'd easily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam. It's not as central as say any of the hotels near Dam Square, but it's also not a hike. We found Amsterdam to be very compact and walkable, so almost any are will work. From our location, we were able to walk all over, visting the Van Gogh museum (currently temporarily housed at Hermitage Amsterdam) as well as The Nine Streets, so getting around is not an issue. It's a beautiful walking city, so the Conservatorium's location is perfect for that.

Overall a great stay, highly recommended. We'll be staying here again when we return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It’s a true pleasure to read your kind comments on our hotel. We are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We also thank you for your warm recommendation, and are already looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel facilities:
Amazing refurbishment of this old Conservatorium building. Designed by Piero Lissoni: fantastic ! Classy, eclectic, understated. A bit dark but in the style of the old music rooms.
Spa, pool, saunas, Turkish bath etc : all amazing.
Rooms: HUMONGEOUS windows; double height; super high tech - maybe slightly complicated but the host accompanying to the room would spend all the time required to explain everything to you.
Issues we personally encountered:
Speaker system (5 out of the amazing 6 loudspeaker) did not work properly; nor did the Bluetooth which connects your personal devices (iPhones, iPads etc) to the room speaker system was malfunctioning; Nespresso coffee machine dodgy.
How did the staff respondend:
AMAZINGLY efficient and prompt. They immediately addressed all matters.
We were staying for 3 nights and they offered an immediate upgrade to (hear hear) one of their 2 Presidential suites !!!
Despite the unbelievable beauty of it, we decided not to leave our room because we loved it !
The room host Mr Peter (who works there since the very opening of the hotel less than 1 year ago) was simply outstanding: after we kindly rejected the upgrade, he sent a fantastic bottle of white wine and a cake (it was my birthday as well): and just because he had coincidentally heard us talking about it in the lobby (!!!)
In all: a lifetime experience. We stayed at many fantastic hotels in our past: this one will forever stay in our very top list.
Location: right in front of the Museuplein.
Bar / Breakfast: classy and delicious. With awesome Nespresso coffee and whatever else you wish. Not overwhelming buffet - but just perfect.

Room Tip: Make sure you are happy with all the technology before you settle down !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the fine comments you make about our services and I will certainly convey them to the entire team. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Conservatorium Hotel which is mind-boggling beautiful, a made over conservatory, once a bank. The breakfast and lounge areas are great and really comfortable. The bed rooms are really big and the service is fantastic. There is an incredible gym and spa. I had a massage which was fantastic. The spa is world class. The only negative is a little bit of technology overload with the lights in the bedrooms---I felt like I needed a lesson to make everything work ideally. But that is a minor point. This hotel is knock your socks off beautiful and the staff is lovely. It is close to all the museums and great local shopping and you could just stay in and go to the spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful words about our hotel. It is a true pleasure to read your review. We are delighted that you had such a great stay and enjoyed our Akasha Spa . Please be assured that we will pass on your kind comments to our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My credit card has been double billed and it took a very long time to get the money back

The same happened to my colleague who was on the same business trip with me

I have an impression that the hotel deliberately targets businesses by double billing them in hope that the second transaction will not be discovered

When the hotel returned the money back, because of the fluctuation of the exchange rate Euros/Pounds, I was credited with less money then I should have been – the original transaction was in Euros.

As a result my company made a loss, very unpleasant situation

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ruslan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced with your billing. I am very sorry to hear that we double charged your credit card. I can assure you that this happened by accident and that it was never our intention to charge you twice.

Once again my apologies for this inconvenience. We hope you will give our hotel another chance, and I can assure you that you will not experience the same problem again.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,171 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
438 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
874 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing