We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Amsterdam!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #15 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“The Best Hotel in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

me and my wife enjoyed staying at Conservatorium Hotel very much! I think for the time being this is the best hotel in Amsterdam. Location, Property, Food, Service. Everything you need! if you desire more ask host Tessa. Very accommodating host!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    191
    49
    33
    13
See reviews for
210
535
66
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Conservatorium facility is beautiful, inside and out. Rooms are reasonably big. A pity, then, that the details get missed:
- Room service burger, medium rare, arrived raw on the inside. You can't even get a burger right?
- No clock in room
- Bathroom doors require very strong grip to pull open
- Shades on top floor windows don't pull down except by an automatic switch hidden away behind the desk, which no one tells you about
- Promised newspaper never arrived
If this we're a modest facility, I'd forgive these things. But for a hotel that acts like it's at the top, and charges accordingly, it really misses the mark.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for alerting our attention to these issues. We have directed your feedback to the appropriate departments in the Conservatorium Hotel. We will do our best to correct these shortcomings in the future and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please let us know how we can help you in the future, to give you the best service possible.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is the most beautiful and best designed hotel I have ever stayed in. The main foyer is spectacular and the spa/swimming pool is outstanding. The quality of the building and facilities are without a doubt impressive. We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time, the hotel is right next to the Stedelik, van gogh and Rijksmuseums so it's a little away from the hustle and bustle around the canal rings. A few quibbles, the rooms are sealed and air conditioned and so the noise from the air conditioning and the mini bar did keep me awake. Service was a little slow and not as tip top as its should be for the price. The chap serving breakfast took a little getting used too. For those of us who are not millionaires (Justin bieber was staying here when we were) and have saved our pennies we would really like perfection. I would like the sort of customer service that you can get at the 717 hotel on Prinzengracht combined with the great design. For example arrive at 717 to book in and you get a pot of tea and a range of cakes, in the evening you can have wine and snacks. At the Conservatorium nothing is "free."

Our breakfast which wasn't included and cost 22 Euros each was very good but perhaps not best value and as I say the service although very professional wasn't very warm and we felt a little rushed and once we were asked twice for our room number which made us feel less than welcome. The breakfast is served in the main foyer which is a fantastic setting but also cosy and welcoming environment.

The staff in the spa were lovely and the facilities: sauna, hammam and 18m pool were incredible. They were also very quiet when we used them each day at around 4pm

I would definitely stay here again and for anybody interested in design or architecture it's a real must visit. Many "designer" hotels are actually quite cheap and shabby but this hotel was built with real quality.

Our visit was timed to see the reopened Rijskmuseum and that was brilliant too!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olgiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are very happy to hear your enthusiasm about the design of our building. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. We are disappointed however to hear about the challenges you faced during your stay. This is definitely not the service we aim to provide. We greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can improve on these areas in the future. We hope that we are able to host you as our guest again to satisfy your need for a truly distinctive stay.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The relatively new Conservatorium Hotel is certainly beautiful and designed wonderfully but the service does not live up to the price or expectations.

The entire building and each room is designed fantastically. It is a gorgeous space to be in in every way. The Host service was well organized but the Guest services department was poorly equipped and unable to handle basic tasks. I will return to the hotel and hope that staff training improves.

All this said, if you simply want a stay in a beautiful space but without any additional services (especially for a business traveler) then this is clearly a fabulous choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 440WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We can assure you that our focus is on the training of our colleagues, to ensure that they provide you with the right and professional services. We hope to host you as our guest again soon to fully exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I was in the hotel with my husband and two children a few weeks ago. I booked two connecting rooms and was looking forward to our stay. As me and my husband don't spend a lot of time together, this was a special weekend for us and our kids. Upon arrival our rooms seemed to be given to other guests or for some other reason not available. As I was very dissapointed about this, and the other option the girl at the desk mentioned was not satisfying, I spoke to the supervisor (Floris). He was very helpful and spend quite some time to find (and show) us the best possible solutions. We ended up in a fantastic apartment-like suite with a balcony and pop-up TV. Though the rooms were not connecting, they were conveniently located at the end of a corridor. The suite was very spacious, allowing us to enjoy our family moments all together. I think it turned out to be even better than the two connecting rooms we originally booked. Returning from dinner we found some nice chocolates, a bottle of wine and a note from Floris, apologizing for the mix up at check in. This gesture was highly appreciated!

The hotel has all facilities one might expect from an international 5 star deluxe property. Lovely spa, great restaurants and superb staff!
We usually go to London or Paris for our short family breaks but we now decided to give Amsterdam and the Conservatorium Hotel a try. And I must say that we definitely will be back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel. We are delighted to note that you were satisfied with the overall experience, and sincerely appreciate the fine comments you make about all our facilities. Your compliments are truly inspirational to all of us and we will certainly convey them to the entire team. It is a pleasure to hear that you will come back to our hotel and we are looking forward to serving you and your family again.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

this hotel is actually a piece of art!
being a bank & music conservatory previously, it definitely has a history taste!
1/ service - check in & out were efficient; bell service was polite & nice and ms anna of the concierge made our amsterdam visit perfect!
2/ room - we stayed at the duplex room type which i fell in love immediately when i entered ... high ceiling with minimal design, it also comes with functionality ...
3/ location - within the walking distance of the hotel, we found easy access to shopping area, good restaurants, museums & canal cruise ..
4/ dining - tunes, is a must to go ... the tasting menu was magnificent ...

just one thing to make the stay perfect, got disappointed with the room service of the lobster pasta (room service) ... it's too soupy & tasteless!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravel-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the room service dish and we will share this information with our Food and Beverage team to ensure that we will improve in this area. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a marvellous place to stay for a night, if you can afford it. We paid almost 400 euro for a suite, no cheapy but service and the whole atmosphere were high quality. Excellent spa and sauna, more than you expect in a hotel. Spacious lobby like a modern cathedrale. Very good kept atmosphere of the old Rijkspostspaarbank and Conservatorium. Beds of course excellent as you may expect. Service did not bother or excite me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here in the Conservatorium Hotel and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing