We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #16 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice central luxury hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed for two days. The staff is extremely friendly. There is house keeping twice a day. The rooms are special. Each one is different. We had one which goes over two floors and has two bathrooms. They are bigger but I had the impression they are a bit louder as well than the smaller ones due to the huge window. We could here the tram ringing. Not all rooms have a bath tub. If you are keen about one you should ask. All materials/furniture are high end products. All rooms are very new and modern. The SPA is decent. Just in front of the Hotel is the van Gogh Museum, 5 minutes walk is the "reichsmuseum", a little park and some other museums.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abfedern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear guest,

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here in the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have had an enjoyable time with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    195
    49
    33
    13
See reviews for
213
543
67
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lohberg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed for one night in this vey modern, well situated designer hotel and must say - it was fantastic. The rooms are equipted with state of the art technology whilst the architecture is left native. This contrast is reflected not only in the rooms but in the entire surroundings. A lovely place to stay. Good breakfast and very freindly service. Make sure you get one of the attic rooms

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDynamicDuoLohberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear guest,

How wonderful to read such a nice review of your experience in our hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our location in the Museum District to your liking. Hopefully you will find the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The architecture is an incredible mix of the new in the old. Very well done. There was minor flooding which is not a big deal, but the staff were less than hospitable and not particularly helpful. The spa is beautiful and I had a wonderful massage with aromatic oils which was fantastic. However, the service staff should visit the Oberoi to learn how it's done. Even by Dutch standards I would say the service was lacking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeenThereD0neThatNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We regret that although you had a great experience at the spa and enjoyed your time with us, you were not as satisfied with the service of our staff. We can assure you that we take your comments very serious and that we will undertake additional training exercises to improve our service delivery. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for what will hopefully be a true 5-star experience

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

It's a magnificent and new hôtel.
It's next to many luxury shops and restaurantes. It's a modern hôtel: the rooms are very good: the bath room is just magnificent and the rest too.
The spa: is very big (1000m2) and with a lot of pleasure.
Have a nice stay in the Conservatorium!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewTripVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about the Conservatorium Hotel. We really appreciate your kind comments and are very pleased that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will give us the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Superbly renovated hotel, old music conservatory of Amsterdam. Great location, just behind the museum square and Concert Gebau. However the staff is very poorly trained in service both in the brasserie and the front desk. The impression you get as a customer is not 'we are pleased to host you and service you' but as 'you are lucky to be in this hotel what else do you expect?' The room was very spacious by big city standars. Much to electronic for my taste but comfy anyhow. Too much heavy glass used in cupboard and the toilet area which is impractical. So modern there is not even a hook in the bathroom to even hang your bathrobe! Such a zen washbasin that it doesn't drain properly!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bosphorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sorry to hear that we have not been able to provide you with the quality service our guests deserve. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we sincerely hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I organised a VIP event in Amsterdam in April 2013 for 50 global guests. We chose the Conservatorium and were so happy. The venue itself is cool and stylish but more importantly for me the service was unbelievable. Etan, Annie and Peter from the Host team were fantastic and really ensured that I had everything I needed locally. Etan helped organise a whole load of local details for the event and they were hugely friendly, proactive and just a joy to deal with. Thank you to everyone at the hotelfor a very successful event.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read this review following your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. Your comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff are truly inspirational and will be shared with the team. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park city, utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had the most wonderful experience staying at the Conservatorium and would recommend it to anyone who loves great contemporary, sophisticated design, impeccable service (Isabelle and Etan at the concierge desk), very attentive staff all through the hotel and a perfect location to visit world class art. The hotel is very convenient to the Rijksmuseum as well as Hermitage, Van Gogh and many others. Our room was a 2 story loft with 2 bathrooms. Every modern convenience down to electric shades - day or night. The bathrooms were quite well appointed with a wonderful soaking tub in one and contemporary showers both with thoughtful touches of teak bench in each. A TV hidden in the mirror in one bathroom was also a great touch. The beds were supremely comfortable, excellent quality linens. The reception area, lounge and area for breakfast were all fantastic and these areas are beautifully glass encased part of the old building revealing the brick and stained glass a great contrast to the contemporary aspects. Breakfast was pricey but the staff noted that one of us only ate a croissant from the buffet and rather than charging the full buffet amount reduced it to the cost of a croissant - this was quite appreciated. i had a massage in the spa and the massage therapist was fantastic and even spent an additional 15-20 minutes above the allotted time. Loved it! Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: loved room 316 - quiet 2 levels great bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is a true delight to read your enthusiasm about our hotel. We are very happy that you have had such a great time during your stay. It is a pleasure to hear that you will come back to our hotel and we are looking forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing