We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service in wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #17 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I'm travelling a lot, staiyng mainly in four or five star hotels and must say this is one of the greatest hotels I've stayed at. The hotel is really five stars in almost all ways. Staff six stars, it is seldom you meet this kind of service in Europe. Rooms are beautyful and spacy, decoration modern and still cosy. Wonderful big bathroom. Sleeping quality is great with very comfortable bed and best quality pillows, blankets and bed linen. Location is also great only a few minutes from museums and the high end shopping street. Gym is very well equipped and they take outstandingly well car of you there, bringing towels and water and ensuring in a pleasant way your possible need for help. Very nice spa area with sauna, hamam, jacuzzi and 18 m swimming pool. The staff is as mentioned great, it is truly seldom you have the pleasure to stay in a hotel where everyone you meet gives the impression they are genuine in their friendlyness and caretaking. Because of the wonderful experience a couple of minor mistakes is easy to forgive (forgot to clean the room, why I had to call the 5 pm to do this and bed linen not changed, stayed two nights).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_E_T561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for this wonderful review on your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed so many of our property's amenities and sincerely appreciate the fine compliments you make about our service.

Your compliments are truly inspirational to all of us, and it will be my pleasure to share them with the entire team. We look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Conservatorium for 2 nights at the end of June during a business trip. I spent a lot of time researching hotels in Amsterdam and in the end I definitely made the right choice!
Firstly, it is a beautiful hotel - the architects & designers did a fabulous job. The location could not be better, across the street from the museums, close to great shopping streets and very easy access to the rest of the city.
The rooms were beautiful, I stayed in one of their duplex rooms which was on 2 floors with 2 bathrooms. It was modern and very comfortable. Controls are all high tech but very user friendly.
The staff was wonderful from the bellmen to the front desk staff and the concierge. The service was truly 5 star.
The only place they fell short that I can possibly think of is at the breakfast service. The hotel was quite busy and it seemed there was not enough staff for the amount of people in the restaurant therefore the wait for coffee and eggs was a bit long. The service was friendly but there was just not enough staff.
This hotel is one of my new favorites and I would recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that we are one of your new favorites and thank you warmly for your kind recommendation. Your remarks regarding the breakfast service have been shared with our F&B Management, and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We hope to host you as our guest again soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Oh my god, what a hotel! Walking in to this amazing building felt to me as I was walking into a parallel universe. The decor is breathtaking - not the usual kitsch of rich hotels, but a super smart, urban and artistic one. The service is almost too good, with people that seem like they really do care about you... and the rooms. Oh, the rooms!
I've had the basic one and still it was a two-story room(!!!) - very sexy and hi-tech, with everything one can ask for and way beyond.
Doesn't feel like a hotel room (in the bad sense of it) but like a little apartment you wish you'd have in Amsterdam.
WOW!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irismtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We are very pleased to hear you had such a great experience with us, highlighting the amazing design and comfortable rooms. It is very encouraging to receive such favorable feedback and it means a lot to our entire team. We are really looking forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Conservatorium Hotel.

Pros: Impressively designed. Stunning lobby. The junior suite is very spacious with an excellent sleeping quality. Good location for visiting the best museums.
The doormen service is flawless.

Cons: Worst lobby and brasserie service I have ever experienced. The waiters are unexperienced, forget what you order, very slow, and inefficient. You can wait for ever.. I was told they are under staff but there were so many waiters and no one knows what the other is doing. At breakfast we were waiting 30 minutes for a cup of coffee (There was just one person making coffee for all the guests.) They were apologetic saying it is busy but I just preferred going somewhere else.
Room: Poor choice of TV channels. Many of them do not broadcast. Most of the them are news channels.


Bottom Line: Next time would prefer to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for taking the time to write this review. We regret that although you enjoyed your room and our location, you were disappointed with the service in the Brasserie. I can assure you this is not the service we aim for to provide. We are continuously training our colleagues and will really put focus on the points you have mentioned. We have also noted your remarks regarding the TV channels and will take appropriate action to resolve this issue. Hopefully you will give us a second chance to enjoy the enhancements.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Amazing hotel with very nice and high tech room. It is worth staying at the Conservatorium, but I wouldnt take againg the breakfast package, as it was nothing special. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. We have got the duplex room, which was amazing (tv in the bath room, automatic courtains, very nice bad, digital control of the lights etc).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadu-turismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, highlighting the helpful staff and comfortable rooms. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another stay.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed at the Conservatorium in May and it was fabulous. Great location for visiting the RIjksmuseum, The Van Gogh and the Stedtler. Hotel was beautiful from the moment you walked in, understated luxury. Rooms were stunning, bed was great, there was absolutley nothing one could fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for providing us with a 5-star review. We are very happy that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and that everything corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. We are also glad to know that you found our location in the museum district to your liking. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Erik de Wit
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

for people who travel a lot and not the first time in amsterdm it is a great experiance.
we stayed in grand duplex room which was very comfortable.very nice spa,good breakfast and
very service orianted staff including hotel GM which is sitting in lobby to spend time with the guests

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ey1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another stay.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,419 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
894 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#20 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £303 - £606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing