We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated 21st Century Design in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sophisticated 21st Century Design in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a top hotel ! It is such a well designed place from the cool New York style cocktail bar to the super Tunes restaurant. It is international and lively. I also very much recommend the amazing spa that is literally out of this world. I had great workouts then would completely chill out in the spa and pool. I have been to Amsterdam often but this is my favorite hotel by far. Great for business or for those fun times. The location is great easy to get the museums as well as the business districts in the south. Best of all, the professional staff are all cheerful and there to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeinstbarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have spent such an enjoyable time at our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliments and for recommending our Akasha spa. We feel very honored to be your favorite hotel in Amsterdam and are much looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    184
    46
    28
    13
See reviews for
203
526
63
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A very spectacular part of this urbane and sophisticated hotel is the Akasha Spa. It is large and very luxurious . The indoor pool is about the best I have seen in any hotel or club I have been to. The gym is large and has all the weights and equipment and allows a very serious workout and training. The sauna and hamman are spotlessly clean and of luxury materials. The Spa area exudes a peaceful and relaxing ambience that is more like that of an exotic and oriental atmosphere than of a clinical european spa.Just as important the staff are all so friendly and cheerful and extremely energetic. This being Amsterdam, everyone speaks very good English. It is a great place for either a workout with one the the super trainers or for a relaxing spa and massage treatment . It was a real joy in what is a great hotel. If you are lucky enough to stay here also make time for the Akasha Spa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCSBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our Akasha team is very pleased to read of your praises. It is a great source of motivation to continue their pursuit of the highest standard in spa facilities and services. We just hope you will be able to come back for another enjoyable experience.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam was made even more enjoyable with this property. Don't expect over the top pampering, which we quickly learned isn't a Dutch tradition, but you get top notch responsiveness, great food and very effective concierge and manager.
Got upgraded due to works in the facade of the hotel...a stunning duplex suite!

Room Tip: The duplex suite are sinfully good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faysal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest,

It has been a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This spectacular hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff is exceptionally gracious and hospitable. The ambiance in all areas of the hotel including the lobby and public areas, the dining rooms, terrace, spa, bar, lobby, rooms are each uniquely appointed. The designers of this very sophisticated hotel have incorporated traditional Dutch antiques and treasures with contemporary art and furnishings resulting in the utmost style. The Conservatorium is a gallery, a museum and historical experience, while enjoying an elegant stay at the finest hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing review. We are very glad that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and that we even exceeded your expectations. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Looking for a good and different hotel in Amsterdam I found The Conservatorium Hotel. The best word to define the hotel is: Superb!
Excellent location, beautiful building with a great restyling and conservation at the interior. Confortable and easy at the same time but always with great style. The service is great and the staff is always available and very friendly.
Looking forward to go again!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here in the Conservatorium Hotel. We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a great hotel!

I loved the atmosphere; the rooms are beautiful and made me feel like I was at home.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Great location; all the good shops and museums are just around the corner.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floortje E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are very pleased to read your kind review and are looking forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was on a last minute weekend getaway. I saw Conservatorium's website and decided to give it a try (as oppose to staying at the usual big hotel chains). And I made the right choice. the Conservatorium was everything (if not better) like the pictures depicted on the website!

It was a beautiful hotel. It was converted from a music school and you could see traces of different art installations around the hotel. Every restaurant/lounge/bar/waiting area of the hotel plays different music and they were all very good (not your standard cheesy hotel tunes!)

Location was great, service was great, room was great. I had a great massage at their spa. I could just sit in the spa/pool area forever because it was so relaxing.

I would definitely go back next time I go to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for this wonderful review on your recent stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed so many of our property's amenities. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are very much looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing