We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service loved the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #15 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel which is near the museum district. We loved the location. Five minutes by bicycle to the heart of the crowded and touristy canal district. The neighborhood around the hotel had a great neighborhood vibe. We rented bicycles and were a twenty minute bike ride from anyplace in the city. What we loved about the hotel were the "hosts" the very helpful concierge service. In general they found us just what we wanted and got us in to some difficult restaurants. The one thing that i would note, not all of the rooms are great. Our initial room was on two floors with a bathroom only on the downstairs. We ended up in a fantastic room so don't be shy about asking to change.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, highlighting our special host service. It is very encouraging to receive such favorable feedback and it means a lot to our entire team. We are really looking forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

What a dream. Everything a hotel should be. Spectacular old building with soaring ceilings, art nouveau tiles and the latest in design courtesy of Lissoni. We had a superior or deluxe room. It was very spacious, beautifully designed. Ditto for the bathroom. There are many different styles of rooms so check the net to see what works for you. the location is minutes from all the must see museums. The staff is exceptionally friendly. Do double check on reservations made by the host team. They made us a reservation for a tuesday at Fyra. Oops... Turns out Fyra is closed every Tuesday. The hotel's own restaurant : Tunes offers an exceptional gourmet experience. Oh the lemon tart.... a sensational surprise.
The spa is wonderful, great massages. The spa itself is not well managed. Do double check on your appointments. They had one of ours for the wrong time.
Would I return to the Conservatorium ? DEFINITELY?

Room Tip: Do double check on dates made by host team and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FmaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you kindly for your compliments. We are glad that you have spent a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel. However we regret the missteps made by our staff. Please accept my sincere apologies for this inconvenience, it is certainly not the high level of service we are aiming for.
We are extremely happy to hear that you will visit us again and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a top hotel ! It is such a well designed place from the cool New York style cocktail bar to the super Tunes restaurant. It is international and lively. I also very much recommend the amazing spa that is literally out of this world. I had great workouts then would completely chill out in the spa and pool. I have been to Amsterdam often but this is my favorite hotel by far. Great for business or for those fun times. The location is great easy to get the museums as well as the business districts in the south. Best of all, the professional staff are all cheerful and there to help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeinstbarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have spent such an enjoyable time at our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliments and for recommending our Akasha spa. We feel very honored to be your favorite hotel in Amsterdam and are much looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A very spectacular part of this urbane and sophisticated hotel is the Akasha Spa. It is large and very luxurious . The indoor pool is about the best I have seen in any hotel or club I have been to. The gym is large and has all the weights and equipment and allows a very serious workout and training. The sauna and hamman are spotlessly clean and of luxury materials. The Spa area exudes a peaceful and relaxing ambience that is more like that of an exotic and oriental atmosphere than of a clinical european spa.Just as important the staff are all so friendly and cheerful and extremely energetic. This being Amsterdam, everyone speaks very good English. It is a great place for either a workout with one the the super trainers or for a relaxing spa and massage treatment . It was a real joy in what is a great hotel. If you are lucky enough to stay here also make time for the Akasha Spa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCSBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our Akasha team is very pleased to read of your praises. It is a great source of motivation to continue their pursuit of the highest standard in spa facilities and services. We just hope you will be able to come back for another enjoyable experience.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam was made even more enjoyable with this property. Don't expect over the top pampering, which we quickly learned isn't a Dutch tradition, but you get top notch responsiveness, great food and very effective concierge and manager.
Got upgraded due to works in the facade of the hotel...a stunning duplex suite!

Room Tip: The duplex suite are sinfully good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faysal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear guest,

It has been a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This spectacular hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff is exceptionally gracious and hospitable. The ambiance in all areas of the hotel including the lobby and public areas, the dining rooms, terrace, spa, bar, lobby, rooms are each uniquely appointed. The designers of this very sophisticated hotel have incorporated traditional Dutch antiques and treasures with contemporary art and furnishings resulting in the utmost style. The Conservatorium is a gallery, a museum and historical experience, while enjoying an elegant stay at the finest hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing review. We are very glad that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and that we even exceeded your expectations. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Looking for a good and different hotel in Amsterdam I found The Conservatorium Hotel. The best word to define the hotel is: Superb!
Excellent location, beautiful building with a great restyling and conservation at the interior. Confortable and easy at the same time but always with great style. The service is great and the staff is always available and very friendly.
Looking forward to go again!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here in the Conservatorium Hotel. We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,380 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £329 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing