We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Design Design Design” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Design Design Design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the front desk who arranged the early check in at 10:30AM to the concierge who found us amazing restaurants, this hotel stands out as one of the best experiences. Tunes is a delicious restaurant as well. Our waitress was not stellar as she was hobnobbing with a young couple and seem to give less attention elsewhere but it ruin the atmosphere or food!
The manager of the bar was outstanding and we ended up returning for a second night and tried many concoctions. It is unusual to find a cocktail bar in Amsterdam so people take note of this find!
Breakfast came with our Design Hotel Deal and it was a great way to start the day.
The bed was extremely comfortable, the bath and shower were sublime.
The overall design of the hotel makes it so unique and we just loved the neighborhood. Must go to the local shops and restaurants.
I met the trainer at the gym she was so generous with her time and personal worked out with me. This is novel for a hotel gym! Bravo!

Room Tip: We had a high floor and it was so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallerygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you for highlighting so many of our facilities, from the delicious restaurants to the excellent cocktails and personal training service in the gym. We are glad that you have spent a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel and truly hope to welcome your back soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    176
    44
    26
    11
See reviews for
193
506
62
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 times and were very happy each time. The hotel is located in a wonderful area. Easy to get around walking or using the trams which stop right there. Rooms are beautiful and very trendy. The spa is wonderful as well. Their concierge service is top notch! Peter is extremely helpful and knowledgable. He recommended great restaurants each time which were a perfect fit to our taste.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKNYC10305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your continued support of the Conservatorium Hotel, and for taking the time to write your wonderful review. It is always a great boost to the team to receive such wonderful recognition from our guests. I will be certain to forward your comments to our staff, Peter in particular, and I am sure that they will be delighted to know that they exceeded your expectations. It gives us all great pleasure to welcome you and your husband back to us time and again.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Beautiful stylish rooms (we had Conservatorium suite) which was hi tech and comfortable.
Hotel let down by pretentious (in the extreme) Tunes restaurant. Expect 5 courses minimum of fussy food which is 'introduced' in the most cloyingly patronising manner. I was underwhelmed.
We went on my husband's birthday. My son - age 9 and probably one of the most internationally travelled children - was not allowed in the bar for pre dinner drinks! And this was Amsterdam - supposedly broad minded...Then we were charged for 2 bottles of wine - with barely an apology when we noticed. Not a great way to spend 500 euros.
Breakfast (65 euros) for 2 adults and 1 child - very disappointing, not enough staff.
Undeterred we (stupidly) booked lunch before our flight home. 1.5 hours later and with no sign of the main course despite x3 reminders, we had to leave.
This hotel needs better management and more attentive staff. Please refer to 5 star London hotels for some examples.

Room Tip: Avoid the duplex suites (they feel very small in comparison)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for taking the time to write this review. Please accept our apologies for the disappointing experience you have had in our restaurant. Your details are greatly appreciated, and we will certainly use them to make improvements in these areas. Once again my apologies, this is certainly not the level of service we strive for to provide. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future to experience the true 5-star service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

From the point of arrival, we were greeted by the doorman who was very helpful. As we transitioned to a very speedy check in, we were turned over to there customer service rep who took us to our room and answered all of our questions. Again, extremely helpful! The lobby was very clean and open. The room we had was very small, on the order of 12'x12'. Not a lot of room to walk around the bed. Pillows were extremely soft and bed was fairly comfortable. The toilet was located on one side of the room and the shower/faucet was located on the other side - a little strange and inconvenient in the middle of the night. The shower however was very large and had a fantastic rainshower head.
The lounge area in the lobby was undersized for the amount of people. During the weekend they had a jazz duet playing and every seat was full. Bar service was very slow in the lounge, however prices were very good (~4-5 Euro per glass of wine). Gym was fairly nice also.
Location of the hotel was great for access to all the museums. The tram stop was just outside the front door as well.
The big negative was the price of the room ~$500 a night for a Saturday and Sunday night. For a room that size, I would have expected $250 a night at an equivalent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the welcoming at our hotel, the comfortable beds and the gym. However we regret that although you had a great experience and enjoyed your time with us, you were not entirely satisfied with your room. Please be advised that we have a broad range of room types and suites, all designed differently, and I am sure that we can find the perfect room that meets your needs for a truly distinctive vacation. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here on a business trip but would also be my hotel of choice if returning on vacation. A great location in the Museum District. Very easy walk to the museums, Concertgebouw, and a number of restaurants. The two story loft room was fabulous; two luxurious bathrooms, very cool architecture, two story window looking out on Stedelijk Museum. Ate in the more casual restaurant and it was very good. Service very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind and entertaining review, which we really enjoyed reading.
We are very pleased that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and that you have enjoyed your room and the view. We looking forward to welcoming you back to deliver another amazing experience.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Height of luxury, stunning hotel in a restored music conservatory. Incredible modern furnishings and architecture housed in a centuries old building. Fantastic location. Impeccable service. Fabulous two story guest rooms. Excellent bar and restaurant. Absolutely not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldcitizen504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

It gives us all great pleasure to read your review, and we are delighted to know that you think so highly of our hotel and service. Thank you very much for your lovely praise. We are much looking forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

First of all the hotel is very conveniently locates in Amsterdam very near from the Rijsmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. From there you can walk to downtown Amsterdam though all the bridges and canals. secondly the Hotel is great in a very old building but the rooms and bathrooms are sleek and big. All the staff is very efficient. The hotel rate is not cheap but certainly is worth for what you get in exchange.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmexicanito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that our location in the museum district was to your liking. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing