We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding and Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wedding and Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Impeccable!

I am so pleased to be able to share with you the wonder that we experiences at The Conservatorium Hotel! My husband and I decided to host our wedding Lunch at the Tunes Restaurant in September. The wonderful staff assisted us in creating not only a wonderful day but a magical experience! We had an impressive 4 course lunch that had our guests salivating with pleasure. And our over night stay in the Van Baerle Suite was absolutely glorious! Never have I been so pamper and felt so special! Every single moment was thought out by this very tentative and warm team. They are not only professional but were willing to cater to our every want and need. Nothing felt impossible at this great place, who knows they might even let us get in flying trapeze for our 10 year anniversary! A huge thank you for a perfect experience!

Room Tip: The Van Baerle Suite is by far the best! THAT BATH TUB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

Congratulations on your marriage, I am very happy that we were able to host this special celebration. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the overall experience. Of course we would be more than happy to welcome you back for your tenth anniversary!

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    176
    44
    26
    11
See reviews for
192
506
62
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is an old music conservatory which has been completely renovated into a hotel. The location is fantastic, walking distance to almost everything in Amsterdam. Our room was quite narrow and two stories. The king bed and a small bathroom were located on the second level. The larger bathroom and a small sitting area were located on the first level with two closets. The main drawback was that you could only open one closet door at a time as they opened one over the other. After about the third day, we finally were used to this, but only one of us could access our closet at a time. This problem and the two story configuration limited it to four stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Although this does not help you for your past visit, for any future visits, please be advised that we have over 85 different room lay outs, including many single level rooms with more closet space and doors which do not open sideways. We just hope that we are able to host you as our guest again in the future to completely satisfy your need for a truly distinctive vacation.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for our wedding anniversary. We really liked most things about it and were it not for one very big mistake they would have earned 5 stars. The location is great, the building is beautiful inside and out, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the food at breakfast was very good, the room itself was big and comfortable. The technology in the room is a little more complicated than necessary but OK once you get used to it. There was more noise than I would expect from the hallway and the room upstairs. The big mistake they made is giving us an inferior room with twin beds when we booked a deluxe room with a queen or king size bed. This may not seem like a big deal, but the room was €495 a night and for that price I expect to get what I am promised. The hotel hostess first claimed we requested the twin beds, but we presented their own written confirmation of the Deluxe room with the queen/king. Then she said sorry but the hotel is full so nothing they can do. This was a dark cloud over an otherwise very nice weekend. I believe it would have been appropriate for them to knock a little bit off the price as a gesture of apology, but they did nothing. Very disappointing. Just before posting this review I received a note of apology from the hotel and promise of an upgrade to a suite if we give them another try. If we stay again I will post another updated review.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Again I would like to apologize for the less than perfect experience. I feel honored that you choose the Conservatorium Hotel for your wedding anniversary and am very sorry that we have not been able to make it as memorable as it could have been. As said in the email we will upgrade you to a nice and certainly very romantic suite on your next stay. We just hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back for a true five star experience.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed in the Van Baerle Suite and it was perfection!! Large and spacious had four TV's stone tub, rain shower, Nespresso and more...........Staff friendly and meals and spa are fantastic too..........felt like we were in our own home and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrylR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to receive your favorable feedback. Thank you for your lovely praise of our hotel and staff. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to your home away from home.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my brother who is not used to travel and requires some TLC. The hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague who said it was cool and I was attracted to it because it had a good pool. So I was delighted when I found this all to be true and that the staff showed so much care and attention to my brother. The restaurant in the lobby was excellent and not unreasonable. The facilities were all well maintained and efficiently run. The hotel had a relaxed air about it which made you feel comfortable despite the overall "cool" style. This was very important as our visit coincided with some very heavy rain and we were trapped for an extended late afternoon in the hotel, but enjoyed it nonetheless. The location is excellent, close to the Reichsmusueum and the Concertgebouw, within walking distance of the centre but also close to less common areas where you can get away from tourists. A genuine success.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to compose this wonderful review. We are very happy to know that we have been able to deliver you and your brother a memorable stay in Amsterdam. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is really a beautiful hotel and a great location.. BUT i stayed in both a double room on the 7th floor and a rooftop suite on the 8th and both rooms had same problem, you can hear when people are walking and talking in the hallways ( so that you almost think they are in your room ) and obviously you can also hear staff with their trolleys.. It seems crazy in a hotel with that much potential and considering its very new that they never thought of soundpoofing the rooms.. I still give it 4/5 purely due to staff, location and the awesome design of the hotel..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. I am concerned to read about the inconvenience you have experienced with regards to the noise, and I can assure you we will look further into this matter to see how we can improve the soundproofing. I am happy to know that you have enjoyed all other aspects of the hotel and hope you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate the true five star experience you deserve on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had an excellent four night stay in this very fine hotel. Great location, great facilities, great service.I rate this as one of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide. Certainly in Amsterdam I would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear guest,

It was an absolute delight to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing