We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“akasha spa massage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“akasha spa massage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a couple massage at the spa before christmas. it was the best I ever had. the woman's name was Cecilia and she was really good in deep tissue massage. it's a little expensive but it was worth the money! i will definitely have another massage from her soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000Happy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that you and your partner have enjoyed your treatment so immensely. We will share your kind comments with Cecilia, and I am sure she will be very pleased to know that she made such a great impression. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    181
    45
    26
    11
See reviews for
199
514
62
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Only stayed one night so did not really have time to investigate all of the hotel. Initial impressions were certainly positive. The place has a big 'wow' factor. Very impressive modern, quasi industrial design with some great touches. The welcome was very nice. My room was fine for me alone on this trip but you would need one of the larger options if travelling as a couple. The bathroom and separate loo were nice. (As a previous commentator has said, the L'Occitane soaps, creams, shampoos etc. are always a welcome luxury in any hotel.) The wardrobe is minute....in this room (505). The reception, luggage service and turn-down were all first rate. The Bar was OK. My colleague and I ended up at the bar as most tables were reserved but the service was good (no aperitivos offered). Dinner in the Brasserie was hit and miss. My colleague's steak was excellent. My halibut was dry and overlooked - I should have sent it back! Service was attentive. Breakfast seemed fine but we were on the run by then... Altogether a good experience and I would try it again with 'she who must be obeyed...'

Room Tip: Take an upgrade to something larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LighthouseAntibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Conservatorium Hotel, and we thank you for informing us about your experience. The room in which you stayed is a single guestroom, being indeed our smallest room type. We would be happy to welcome you and your partner for a romantic weekend in one of our more spacious rooms or suites.

Please accept my apologies for the less than perfect experience in the Brasserie, we will certainly share your comments with our kitchen team. We are looking forward to having you back as our guest. Please be sure to let us know should there be anything we can do to make your next stay even better.

Warm regards,
Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was wunderful. Everything is perfect (qualified staff, superb spa...). All the details are there to make you lucky. Luxury pure. Very central. tramway direct on this street. For the airport, take the TRAIN + TRAMWAY (max 7€) (40€ Taxi is really expensive)

Room Tip: the Duplex rooms are fantastic. Top sound for the TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella06600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful words about our hotel, and for sharing them with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your favourable comments and look forward to welcome you back at the Conservatorium hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Enjoy the charm of this old brick building renovated with great style and innovation opposite Van Gogh Museum.Pass the entrance and be surprised by the large lobby, and its accurate decorations.
Some rooms have windows only on the lobby side, I would suggest to ask for rooms Overlooking the quiet side street.
Standard rooms are spacious, modern furniture, good ranging space, great tv.
A few downside on the bathroom: no windows and moist smell, the large shower knobs are opposite to the door, so not easy to use without getting wet.
Breakfast very expensive, prefer a great bakery 2 minutes walk and 1 minute further a coffee specialist with top coffee and allowing you to bring your croissant with you.
Restaurant ideal for lunch snack, great quality and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quieter side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiaraMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us about your experience at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are glad that you have spent pleasant time at the hotel and enjoyed the exquisite interior design. We have also noted your remarks and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We value all your feedback and hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Have stayed here a couple times over the past year.

The good:
- Stellar service and concierge.
- Very cool minimalist-design rooms.
- Amazing building.
- Good restaurant/bar.

The bad:
- Location is a 15-minute walk from city centre. (But right in the middle of the museum district.)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your for your continued support of the Conservatorium Hotel and for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stays. We are very happy to welcome you back to us time and time again and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel as a lone traveller. Everything was brilliant, and exactly as it should be. The rooms, although simply decorated, are spacious and light. The internal decor of the hotel is beautiful, as is the spa which was absolutely superb. The spa treatments (especially the start of the week package) were excellent and very relaxing. A definite must for a city break!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouflon_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your time at our hotel, highlighting the spacious rooms, beautiful interior design, and relaxing experience at our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that we can welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is my favorite city hotel! Old bank/conservatorium has been tastefully transformed into to luxury hotel with courgeous rooms, part of they with two levels. I could also say design hotel, but that would downgrade this beutiful and tasteful building. The hotel even has lounge where you really want to stay for a drink. Spa & gym are complimentory and you get excellent service also there.Do no forget to take a swimsuit with you! The location is perfect in the middle of museum district and there are two fo the most interesting shopping street close by. This is hotel that I would be choose if I spent a wedding anniversary or other special weekend in Amsterdam. Expensive yes, but worth it.

Room Tip: There are rooms with two levels. They may not be most practical, but I do like them a lot. Check if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiaKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are very proud and honored to be your favorite hotel in Amsterdam. Thank you kindly for your sharing your positive experience at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy to welcome you back to us time and time again and are looking forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing