We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New high standard in the old Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #11 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New high standard in the old Europe”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been reading so many reports on this hotel since its opening 2 years ago, so when i fianlly got a chance to make a business trip to Amsterdam, and am booked at this hotel, the expectation has been very high on my side.
And the hotel did not fail to deliver.
The recpetion was very friendly upon my arrival at 7am in the morning, though my pre booked room was sold, i was soon offered a nice duplex deluxe room and a glass of fresh apple juice. The concierge David was nice and attentive, could address to most of us by names. Impessive.
The room is nice, pretty well maintained, comfortable and could be managed easily by electronic devices (one of my senior colleagues was not too fond of this though). The bAthroom size is decent, very clean, filled with L'Occitane amenities, and fitted with a beautiful bathtub. For a hotel so determined to be e best, it is a pity that no scale is provided, not the automatic toilet flushing / boards system, and no ipod dock.
The bed was very comofrtable, sexy linen, but lousy pillows...
Generous fruits platter, cookies and complimentary mineral water is appreciated too.
The gym is really good for a hotel, with on site trainer, smartly designed so that one does not feel trapped exercising here even it is technically located at the basement. Unfortunately the spa and pool were under renovation, with no mentioning from the website, at the front desk, nor a note to guest left in the room, that was a bit disapponting too.
The location is excellent too, perfect for visiting museums ! Will definitely come back to this friendly, beautiful, convenient and stylish hotel !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClovisNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure for us to read that we were able to fulfill your expectations and that you felt well taken care of. We are disappointed however that we have not been able to fully satisfy your needs for a truly distinctive stay. Although it does not help you for your past visit, for any future visits, please be advised that we allows guests to make an alternative pillow choice from our pillow menu. We would be happy to help you find a pillow that fully meets your needs.

I also apologize that our notification of the temporary spa closure had not reached you. Hopefully you can make it back to Conservatorium Hotel to experience the fully maintained Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    182
    46
    28
    13
See reviews for
201
523
63
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at The Conservatorium Hotel this weekend. It is truly a beautiful hotel, with superb design and in one of the best parts of town. The room we stayed in was situated on the 7th floor, very nicely designed. The staff is very welcoming, friendly and attentive. We would certainly stay another time and as an experienced traveller I would recommend it to fellow travellers who appreciate design, luxury and good service.

The Brasserie however is the only minor flaw: there seems to be enough staff around but still everything takes a lot of time. Not just at breakfast but also in the afternoon. One staffer was busy taking photographs of the buffet at breakfast, which seemed odd when service is slow to begin with. We assumed that our experience could be a one off, or a temporary problem. When flicking through other reviews I noticed however that the same experience has been noted since 2012. Something to seriously deal with, I would say. Roomservice on the other hand is very good with excellent staff. And since the rooms are beautiful, having breakfast in your room is a very good option.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Van Baerlestraat-side are light and an added bonus is the characteristic sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdenjette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and for recommending us to other travelers. I apologize that your experience at our Brasserie did not live up to the other services of the Hotel. I can assure that we are continuously putting effort into the training of our staff in this area, to provide our guests with the right and professional service. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future to experience the results of these efforts first-hand. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff, beautifully designed rooms, great common areas, good if a tad pricey brasserie. All in all one of the best in a great location.

Helpful?
Thank Anniemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for the RIjks Museum, Van Gogh and Staedlijk museums being just across the road from two of them. The building is impressive and the staff particularly helpful. The Akasha Spa was great, hardly anyone there so we had the 18m pool and the hammam to ourselves. Outside is the tram stop for the number 2 and 5 which takes you to most places. We took the museum package which included a Dutch afternoon tea, quite something and well worth sampling.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed so many of our facilities, from the location to the room and the afternoon tea in the Brasserie. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another lovely stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We loved the Conservatorium Hotel. My sister accompanied me on a business trip to Amsterdam. After an overnight flight, we were met at the door with some delicious glasses of juice. We were unable to check in at that time, but they took our luggage and upgraded our room because of the inconvenience. The room was gorgeous with modern amenities. Our favorite part was the hotel lobby. We often sat there after spending the day out or after dinner. They served wine, beer, tea and coffee. My favorite was a mint tea made with fresh mint leaves and served with honey and some cookies. YUM! The lobby seemed to be a stopping place for many visitors not staying at the hotel as well. The staff were friendly and courteous. The night manager even sent us some tea to extend his apologies for an "incident" (my fault) with our room. The rates were pricey, but well worth it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomCPNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind compliments about our facilities and the services we are providing. We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building that has been converted into a top hotel. Everything has been done to a high specification down to the smallest detail. The rooms are excellent with very modern features. The staff was wonderful and were there to help with any questions or issues that might arise. I found the location to be fantastic right in the heart of the museum district with easy access to public transport.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and found our location in the museum district to your liking. We thank you for your stay and hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another visit.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We were really surprised by this hotel. It's in a great location near all of the museums and 5 mins from the canals. Huge room with a great bed and wonderful sheets. An enormous bath. First rate service, friendly and professional. Clean and beautiful spa. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay, and thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our accommodation. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing