We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

if you are looking for a WOW factor in a city, this place has it. its quite rare to couple the charm of a small country hotel with trendy city accommodations. but this place makes both work. rooms were spectacular. we stayed in a loft-style (think apartment not hotel room) room with a view of the lobby. our teenaged kids stayed in the sister room next to ours. OK so you are thinking ... so what's the big deal, its a lobby view. stop there, because the lobby is a work of art and opens up entirely to the outside and sky with a glass structure. a visual delight; words can't do it justice. the only issue is I "mooned" the lobby guests several times while walking up the stars to the loft bedroom area. the windows in the room span both floors and the shades are slow to draw (or Im quicker than the automatic shades, not sure?). anyway, its Amsterdam so no harm no foul ... and no charge for the show. but my apologies to the diners at the lobby restaurant.
the food was very nicely done: abundant (buffet style option was awesome), tasty and very healthy local fare. staff is "on it", accommodative and friendly. even the doormen were engaging and helpful with directions and hints about the city. the spa is much better than the usual overpriced hotel want-a-be-a-spa, complete with a pool and gym. also if you enjoy staying fit on the road, the gym is extensive for a city hotel. (thankfully, since the shades are slow in our room.) the hotel is near many great attractions (2 mins from Van Gogh and Stedelijk) and 15-20 min walking to the heart of the city. but its still far enough from the center of the city to be quiet at night and have close access to an amazing park and local fare. bonus! that said if you want to be in the center of it all ... this location is slightly off the mark. you will have to walk a little.
stay here and you will not regret the decision. enjoy the amenities and be prepared to walk and enjoy the city. oh, but you will pay for the experience. its not overpriced but its premium priced. that said, I thought it was worth it and so did my family (all of whom raved about the experience). and Im sure the other more standard rooms would be less expensive and you should still enjoy the entire hotel (minus the slow shades ...).

Room Tip: lobby side rooms are amazing and quiet; other side rooms open to the street and may be little less s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for the wonderful and very detailed description of your stay. We could not have been more pleased with your review and would like to thank you for staying with us, I suppose also on behalf of our lobby guests as we did not get any complaints from them.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Conservatorium Hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We received 5 star luxury service in this glorious hotel in the Amsterdam fashion and museum district. The pampering began the moment they greeted my husband by name as he stepped out of the taxi. This former savings bank, turned music conservatory; now renovated hotel has modern duplex rooms with every amenity from electronic shades to large flat screens. We have already planned to return in 2015.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique - our duplex had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear guest,

Your kind words and vote of confidence give us great encouragement and we thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We hope this experience with us is just one of several you will have for many years to come and we are very happy to know that you will be returning next year.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Fantastic design. Sophisticated. The hotel is in very close proximity to the museums. Concierge and Reception are extremely helpful. Service a bit tedious and slow in the Brasserie. Duplex rooms a bit inconvenient with small children...but one is to think twice before taking children under perhaps age 8 to Amsterdam at all. It is not a very child friendly city.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank PAD626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel, and for your kind compliments of our colleagues at the reception and concierge desk. I also greatly appreciated your feedback regarding areas for improvement. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience Amsterdam as a very child friendly city but do hope that we may welcome you back. Perhaps when the kids are a bit older or for a nice romantic trip for two.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Love it, best at everything ......best gin and tonic, great food wonderful ambience. One of my most favourite places in Amsterdam . So stylish, but still great for children, everybody is made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marion0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest,

I am very happy to know that we are one of your favourite places in Amsterdam and thank you for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I'm not sure we have ever been more impressed with the staff at a hotel (especially considering the cost). Everyone was extraordinarily helpful, friendly, but not obtrusive. The building itself, and its location, are objectively perfect. But the staff made the experience what it was -- wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ket1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest,

I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the overall experience. I am pleased we were able to demonstrate how important customer service is to us, and would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to for your very kind feedback. Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is a beautiful gem that I usually enjoy but it really needs better service during its busy periods. I arrived at 2:30pm and was told the room might not be ready until 5pm; thankfully it was ready by 4pm. Restaurant service was nonexistent yesterday during a busy lunch hour and the restaurant manager was rude and unhelpful. Reception also called me twice late at night with an unfriendly attitude about a credit card billing error that turned out to be their own mistake. I really like this place but my stay would have been much more pleasant with more professional and friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bluedragonhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience . I am very sorry to hear about the streak of bad luck you had during your last visit. As you already indicated, this is not the service our guests normally experience. I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously and I will discuss them with the responsible managers to be sure that we can prevent these situations from happening in the future. Hopefully you will be our guest again to experience true luxury service at the Conservatorium Hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is amazing. They are totally service oriented and the atmosphere is unique and beautiful. Can you believe a five story atrium lobby? Stunning! Everyone you talk to is helpful and pleasant and no request goes unfulfilled. The Jr. Suite rooms are contemporary to the max with glass walls, a sitting area with sofa and chairs, a large table for eating or working, and a large bathroom with wonderful modern marble sink. They are Ecco friendly and even though their local water is great, they had water on the rooms in glass containers - no excessive use of plastic. The food in the cafe was fresh and delicious but a little slow. The main dining room was on vacation for the month of August. Spa services were extensive and there are some excellent ones you can't get in the US. Highly recommend you book some treatments and enjoy the facilities. Right in the midst of the museums, and a high end shopping district, this hotel is also a short, enjoyable walk to town. We hope to return to beautiful Amsterdam and this hotel again soon.

Room Tip: Corner Jr. suites are large and very comfortable - highly recommend you ask for one. Book spa appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and thank you for your kind praise of our services and facilities. I am also very happy that you have enjoyed your spa treatments so immensely and thank you for recommending these to other travelers. Your remarks regarding the service in our Brasserie have been relayed internally so that we can constantly improve our services. Hopefully you will be back in the future to enjoy our new fine dining restaurant which will open next month. I am sure you will enjoy it.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,397 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £318 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing