We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Value and Comfortably Located”
top floor overview 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
top floor overview 2
top floor dining table the friendly cafe at the corner, also serves breakfast and world famous Kuyt's applepie!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
87 reviews
top floor overview 2
top floor dining table
the friendly cafe at the corner, also serves breakfast and world famous Kuyt's applepie!
fresh flowers in every apartment....
textiles at incredible bargain prices on westerstraat monday morning market
flowers for sale at the saturday market
traditional street organ wrapping up saturday market on Lindengracht
fantastic swimmingpool just a block away!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
priya n
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value and Comfortably Located”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights and 5 days. We were given the ground floor room and was bigger than our expectation. The kitchen is outside the room on the main entrance. The kitchen was well equipped with all utensils and basic groceries. The washing machine was very useful. The bathroom was small. The place was very clean and the room was elegantly furnished. Elske is a very hospitable. If using the public transport, bus and a 10 min walk should bring you to this place. There is a big departmental store near the property. There are quite a few restaurants nearby and many of the attractions are within 10 to 15 mins walk. One of the canal boat stop is also close by. We had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room size and friendly owner
Liked least: Bathroom location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinarena2...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The stay was ok”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed upstairs for 4 nights and then downstairs for 3 nights. There was pros and cons about both apartments. The upstairs was great, more private, but shower was not fun to deal with as it is a hand held shower and no curtain to keep in any water so a little messing. The single closet for the toilet could really use a vent. The downstairs was ok, the sharing of the entry was not bad but to go to the bathroom you may run into other guests or the owner. My biggest complaint would be the kitchen could use some nicer dishes as most of the cups were tea and coffee stained and chipped. Dishes were the same, chipped and really needed a good cleaning. There was not a lot of utensils downstairs to cook with. I found both places in need of a good deep scrubbing. The shower downstairs was moldy and really needs to be scrubbed with a brush. Both Toilets up and down are in need of a good cleaning. Both places are very dusty and could use floor cleaning and at least shake out the rugs. I ended up cleaning the grime off the fronts of the microwaves and fridges both were very thick with grime. If you like to walk a lot to any of the central attractions this is the place for you. The Anne Frank house was a little over 1/2 mile away. The area is very nice but you do have to walk far to the center of the city. I enjoyed the area, the fact there is a kitchen to cook a bit, if you don't mind the typical stairs I would rent the upstairs as it is more private. We did not think the stairs were that bad at all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. Wonderful in every way!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the ground floor flat for four weeks and wish I could have stayed longer. In fact, I tried but it had been booked by other guests. Elske and Karine were so kind and helpful, available but very respectful of my privacy. I have rented about a dozen apartments this year in Europe for at least a week at a time and this was perhaps my favorite.

Of course, it doesn't hurt that it is in a perfect location in Amsterdam, literally a few minutes walk from Prinsengracht. (The Anne Frank House is very helpful as a landmark if you want to get an idea of the location on a map. It is 500 meters from the flat.) I walked everywhere, never taking a taxi or even a tram. And what is the other consideration when renting a place? The cost. VERY reasonable. I appreciated that even more when I looked for another apartment to extend my stay in Amsterdam. Most places I found were literally twice as much!

It is perfect for a solo traveller or a couple. It is great to have the basics in your own kitchen, microwave, refrigerator and a small stove. The bathroom is your own. Just fine and plenty of hot water in the shower.

Also, the internet connection was rock-solid, strong and dependable for the entire four weeks I was there. I have co complaints or even suggestions for enhancements. It was a great and memorable stay.

When I return to Amsterdam, and I certainly will, I will definitely try to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location, which is always my most important consideration. Everything else is a distant second to me.
Liked least: Not appliccable.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: living at a tipical trade holland house
Liked least: the stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wherenext...
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Great convenient, quiet location in the Jordan within easy reach of everything.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Elske, our "landlady", was friendly and accommodating during our stay. The open plan space at the top of the house was reached by very narrow steep stairs which might be a challenge for some. There was a double and single bed, eating table, small kitchenette, full bathroom (separate toilet) small TV and plenty of storage. Although very close to the Westerstraaat, a busy area, it was quiet at night. Everything was clean and functioning including the heat which we needed for the cool nights. The cooking pans could be updated especially the old teflon frying pans.
The location in the Jordan was convenient to most things, attractions, eating, shopping etc. We didn't want standard American style hotel accommodations, this quaint and charming home worked perfectly for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, convenience, character.
Liked least: old kitchen ware.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishKell...
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Greatest Place to Stay in Jordaan, Amsterdam”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in September 2012

I have stayed at the bottom floor studio apartment owned by Elske 2 times now. I stayed in Feb. of 2011 and also Sept. 2012 both times for 4 weeks at a time. Elske is a great host. She makes you feel very welcome. The bottom studio is very large. There is also a kitchen for cooking. The bathroom is very tiny but so are most other bathrooms in Amsterdam. It wasn't a problem but no outlets in bathroom to dry hair. You have to dry your hair in the bedroom. The studio has comfortable beds, WiFi, dining table for 4 people, and floor to ceiling windows covering half the room. It's great for people watching and lots of natural light. The location is the best for all shopping, sightseeing, and close to restaurants and grocery stores right around the corner. I have stayed at other places in Amsterdam before and this is definitely the best. Very comfortable. You will really love this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bottom floor location. No steep stairs to climb.
Liked least: The bathroom is very tiny and no outlets to dry your hair.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing