We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.33*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #69 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

These are brilliant gardens in the heart of the city. It is worth the entrance fee to sit outside the cafe and look over the excellent gardens. There is a truly wonderful tropical greenhouse that is a sheer unalloyed joy. You must come here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonydekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    286
    134
    46
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A peaceful garden but I have seen better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The gardens were beautiful and a nice peaceful place outside of the city. They have a lovely butterfly greenhouse and a tropical greenhouse. However, it was not the best botanical garden I have ever been to and not many flowers were in bloom which was disappointing as April time is the tulip season and the only tulips on display were the ones outside the garden on the pavement.
Visiting the garden is a good price though, just €8 which is not bad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“green and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Worth an hour to walk around these lovely gardens and hot houses. Beds of herbs and flowers of all descriptions. Not too manicured either and some hives busy with bees in one corner. My only gripe was that the names are only in Dutch and Latin - neither of which are my strong point. Some of the info is in English, but the common names would be good too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hjb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, beautiful plants but perhaps not the best kept garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I visited De Hortus with my mother today. We started by exploring the gardens and took many photos of the beautiful plants but we noticed quickly that things could be better kept here and there... some plants and butterflies looked like they could do with some better care. However, the visit was well worth it after also having a great lunch at the Hortus restaurant.

The food was absolutely great, the personnel were very friendly and service-minded and the prices were great too.

I would recommend a visit to the gardens together with a nice lunch at the restaurant.

Good to know: even tho we have the museumkaart, this was not accepted at the entry to De Hortus, however the entrance fee is only 8.50 and if you are lucky you might find some nice plants at a discounted price in the museum shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
223 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely greenhouses and butterfly house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Although you would normally go to botanical gardens to look at and enjoy plants, for us the highlight really was the butterfly house! Totally loved the butterflies. Also a great place to have lunch!

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing