We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be fooled by the size of the place”
Review of De Maria

De Maria
Ranked #1,201 of 3,954 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinian
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dont be fooled by the size of the place”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had been searching for a nice Argentinian place for the ten days we were there. On our last night, we decided to try one. There are many in the centrer of A'dam. De Maria is in the Rembrandtplien. It's a very small place, with a bright red sign out front. We entered, the place was quiet but you could special. The intierior looks like a dungeon of a castle. There is a very small kitchen and bar inside. Very cozy, clean and quiet.

The menu was easy to understand. She ordered the Salmon, and salad. I oreded the platter (ribs, steak and chicken) and we shared a potato. We each shared a glass of wine.

I have to say from the moment we began eating we didnt espeak to eachother. It was that amazing! We took what we couldnt finish home with us and I ate it later that night.

The serivce was perfect. They attend your every need, they anticipate what you are looking for but they leave you alone to eat. It was amazing, it was perfect! Of course I would go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopSecretAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    64
    37
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well cooked steak”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Situated on Rembrandsplein the staff were friendly but not pushy. We had 'Argentinian starters which were very nice. The speciality was steak and both of ours were cooked beautifully and did melt in the mouth. If steak is your thing, then it is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blok103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Food not cooked to how you like. T Bone steak not really worth the money and staff couldn't have been less interested. Food thrown on to table at you. Beer not cold either and in a city that professes great heineken......heineken was poorly poured and tasteless. Try elsewhere. Avoid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkandAmy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eat the ribs their awesome!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great food reasonably priced super portions not 1 of us cleared our plates.
Easy going staff totally enjiyable experience


  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ribman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good steak!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Had read that restaurants in Rembrandt Square were mostly overpriced tourist traps, so was not planning to try any of them on a recent trip to Amsterdam. However due to cold weather we didn't want to go too far from our hotel and gave De Maria a go. Turned out to be a pleasant little restaurant with good service. But the best surprise was the steak, it was probably some of the nicest steak we have ever had, great flavour, tender and cooked just right.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Maria also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing