We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A world famous jazz bar with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bimhuis

Bimhuis
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A world famous jazz bar with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was a total surprise: a friend suggested we go there late at night. Wandering through a large empty concert hall, up to a mezzanine that looks like it was tacked onto the side of the building, we found ourselves in a mid-sized bar with great jazz playing and all the young hipsters you could possibly want. No pretension, no one minding us visitors invading their space. We had a few beers and enjoyed the atmosphere, the music, and wide view of modern Amsterdam that you see from this lofty venue.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic jazz venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is worth the trek across the river for if you are a fan of live jazz. Top-tier musicians regularly stop here on their world tours. The room itself is comfortable, has good acoustics, and there's not a bad seat in the house. Highly recommended. There's a pretty good restaurant downstairs if you want to make a night of it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_Carrying_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've been to that place for a conference. That is an awesome venue with a wonderful view over Amsterdam.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulienTant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris lovers
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the trek on a windswept night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We hit Amsredam rather unluckily during the recent gales ( not their fault ) and as we were only on a short break we tried our luck at this venue as it offers a varied programme of Jazz artists with comfortable surroundings including an excellent restaurant and in the summer a great view. We trudged over to the venue early afternoon only to be told that tickets for the Jazz sessions only go on sale about an hour before that evenings performance so we got soaked again on the way back into town so beware! Anyway we saw a Free Jazz set from The John Hebert trio from the USA. Now my partner is not a fan of free jazz but i think she bought into it after a while ( well that what she said! ) as did a rather sparse audience. I was impressed and really enjoyed the set and fortunately by then we had almost dried out from our earlier soaking. A visit to the venue is recommended and the quality and diversity of music on offer excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“World class music, free tuesday jazz workshops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Impressive modern building with amazing views, great location next to the central station and fantastic world class performaces year round (not only in Bimhuis, but for classical concerts the huge concert hall in the same building is a must see). On tuesday nights a weekly improvisation workshop and jam session is held with professional guidance for all levels - just bring along your instrument! usually starts around 8pm (check the website).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anon_ymes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bimhuis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bimhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing