We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yeah decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

stayed here from the 1st july till the 3rd july 2012
decent little hostel , great location 5mins from train station
bar ok but when busy staff can be a little slow they should really have someone go around serving drinks ;>
had room on third floor , basic room but done the job
would recommend for people to stay here mostly due to the location


friendly staff
met some good people from Chile, France, Scotland England Canada


only negs i can think of
hostel is pricey , hostels ,hotels prices need to drop in amsterdam as i feel more people are traveling to eastern europe
all the coloured people in the streets trying to sell drugs , why dont the police just go round undercover and lock them all up

Room Tip: twin rooms for 2 people are good book in advance tho
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viewsonic321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Flying Pig has a great location only a few minutes walk from....anything you could want in Amsterdam. It has perfectly acceptable, clean beds (bunk beds) which have large cage lockers under them for storage, if you don't have a padlock you can purchase one from reception for a nominal fee. The bathroom was clean and the shower was fine. I stayed in a 6 bed shared room with 2 friends and never had trouble sleeping (however we were probably the loud ones), however if you are a light sleeper ear plugs are provided free at reception. The hostel has a bar and smoking area which has chess sets, books, a bed (with a no sleeping sign), an outside terrace and paraphernalia like grinders and bongs. Breakfast is simple but pleasant. Towels can be rented for free if you put down a 2 euro deposit. The staff were all friendly and we genuinely had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Top floor is smaller rooms, so quieter but middle floor people don't get kicked out on check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Firstly I would like to thank the lovely staff at the reception desk for making one feel at home in an instant. I stayed for one night in a single room. Clean, good sheets, quiet policy was implemented so I got a good night's sleep (keep it up please!), bathroom was clean. It could be nice to have maybe more stowage space in the room, but all and all I would definitely recommend people to stay here. Nice breakfast, perfect location, nice vibe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed here in a 4-bed dorm with private bathroom on late May 2012. I was kind of concerned about the whole "party hostel" reviews. It was definitely not my experience. Luckily, the party was somewhere else, bar was not crowded at all. I was on the 3rd floor and I could sleep well every night. And I stayed on a weekend! The place is nice, very well located and safe. You need your key card to access the hostel, the elevator and your room. It's small, yes, but all Amsterdam is. And it has an elevator, which is great if you carry a big suitcase.
Place to keep your stuff are cages under the bed. No chance to get a suitcase or big backpack in there so have this in mind and also the fact that everyone can see what´s inside the cages. There are big lockers downstairs but you have to pay a daily fee for them.
The room was pretty clean and the shared bathrooms downstairs also.
The street were is located is a pedestrian street parallel to the main Damrak street. It is very lonely at night, it makes you feel uneasy when coming back late but I never had a problem. This place is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank German G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed in this hostel for 5 days. It was the absolute best hostel i've stayed in thus far. Great people with a very laid back atmosphere. The bar was incerdible too, we had so many jaegerbombs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhenrong p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've been in better hostels around Europe.The best quality of this hostel is its location. Very close to the Central Train Station.
Regarding the service, it was regular to good depending on the person serving you. It was a guy with curly hair who was really short and sharp with people.
I didn't have any problem with getting to sleep but if you are a light sleeper the loud musci can disturb you at nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmundo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Fantastic location!! 10 minute walk from the train station, close to tourist attractions, also walk-able to the main square, close to canals, 15 minute walk to the red light district. Situated on a strip full of shops and restaurants. Rooms are basic and clean! We booked en suite which was alot easier! Drinks are reasonably priced. Not sure about food, as we never ate in? Chilled out atmosphere, staff are laid back and friendly. All in all a brilliant stay!

Room Tip: Book en suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Hostelle
#34 of 248 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ClinkNOORD
#7 of 248 in Amsterdam
1,104 reviews
CityHub
#2 of 248 in Amsterdam
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £34 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing