We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip 4th - 6th JuIy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trip 4th - 6th JuIy”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

ExceIIent staff on arrivaI. Everything was so kooI:) Terrific atmosphere, peopIe Iaughing and feeIing happy atmosphere My first impression was a bit disorganised but when I reaIised the dutch cIog was a key hoIder - aII became aparent
The room was airy spacious and the bathroom was very good It was a heatwave for 2 days so the view was over gardens and baIconies oposite- great for an afternoon nap on the window
Downstairs we found a fantastic party atmosphere and friendIy peopIe, no ageism or sexism, young at heart need appIy. The smeII of a good quaIity coffee shop is indoor and outdoor pIeasure. Beer and coffee both cheap.
The breakfast (free) was adequate if not overbearing, but again very friendIy staff.
PIenty of room to keep bags and Iuggage in Iockers (pay) or if none then the famous 'cIog@fIying pig downtown' :).

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay then take a private or 4 bed dorm mainIy with ensuite. If you want to Party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsexsymbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    466
    164
    47
    34
See reviews for
20
135
274
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in a 4 bed dorm :) Great location close to heaps of shopping, food and pubs. Casual and fun staff. Bar was cheap and had great music with a pool table and cheeky smoking area out the back. Room was small but nice bathroom in great condition.

Would seriously recommend it to anyone, bit pricey but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthGirlKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The place is kinda dirty and it's a huge loud party until about 4 am each night.

It's a really busy place but the staff are pretty patient overall.

We had a 6 person room one night and a 12 person the other night. I don't really recommend either if you want to sleep.

Cheap drinks at the bar. It's a good location near the station and easily walkable to all the other tourist stuff in Amsterdam.

Wifi was ok, sometimes it dropped out.

Room Tip: Pick a small room. Don't get a room on the b floor near the window overlooking the patio. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smakabuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hostel has a good location. The bar, smoking room and outdoor area are all really good. Cheap drinks! The staff are helpful and you can get free earplugs (trust me, you need them)
The rooms aren't exactly clean, two days in a row our bed had extra doona's and pillows on it and they appeared from no where, we think they got put there when the room was being cleaned? We didn't really appreciate someone elses dirty linen though.
Room security was our main concern. We stayed in a 18 bed dorm room that backed out onto the courtyard. The door is able to be opened and people can freely access your room. We had an incident with a traveller who was not a guest at the hostel who was sleeping on everyones beds, asking people to borrow their keys ect. He slept on the chair in the room. I was uncomfortable and reported my concerns to staff. They were prompt to act and the guest was removed from the facility. So it was bitter sweet. There is a safe at reception and i strongly recommend you use this facility. Otherwise you have a locker, dont forget a padlock.
Don't stay in an 18 bed dorm if you expect to get sleep :) The ear plugs are a god send though!
The bathrooms are average. Clean enough but some have no hot water control and there is minimal to no shelving/hooks to put your stuff on.
The breakfast facilities are pretty good! Very good considering it's free! The free wifi is really good, we had no connection problems.
Overall, I would consider staying at the hostel if I could not get a hotel room. A good place if you are on a strict budget.

Room Tip: For security reasons I wouldn't stay in room 01 as this is the room that backs onto the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great location, everything Amsterdam has to offer right on your doorstep or close by. Clean rooms and bedding. Good value for money. Staff friendly but busy! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOLLIESurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

stayed here from the 1st july till the 3rd july 2012
decent little hostel , great location 5mins from train station
bar ok but when busy staff can be a little slow they should really have someone go around serving drinks ;>
had room on third floor , basic room but done the job
would recommend for people to stay here mostly due to the location


friendly staff
met some good people from Chile, France, Scotland England Canada


only negs i can think of
hostel is pricey , hostels ,hotels prices need to drop in amsterdam as i feel more people are traveling to eastern europe
all the coloured people in the streets trying to sell drugs , why dont the police just go round undercover and lock them all up

Room Tip: twin rooms for 2 people are good book in advance tho
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewsonic321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Flying Pig has a great location only a few minutes walk from....anything you could want in Amsterdam. It has perfectly acceptable, clean beds (bunk beds) which have large cage lockers under them for storage, if you don't have a padlock you can purchase one from reception for a nominal fee. The bathroom was clean and the shower was fine. I stayed in a 6 bed shared room with 2 friends and never had trouble sleeping (however we were probably the loud ones), however if you are a light sleeper ear plugs are provided free at reception. The hostel has a bar and smoking area which has chess sets, books, a bed (with a no sleeping sign), an outside terrace and paraphernalia like grinders and bongs. Breakfast is simple but pleasant. Towels can be rented for free if you put down a 2 euro deposit. The staff were all friendly and we genuinely had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Top floor is smaller rooms, so quieter but middle floor people don't get kicked out on check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#146 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,824 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing