We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The staff are amazing. There are people from all over the globe coming together to stay and experience life. Exactly what I wanted with my 3 friends (age 20) on a weekend away in the glorious Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    462
    162
    45
    34
See reviews for
20
130
268
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Located 5mins walk from the Centraal station and within easy walking distance of most tourist attractions
It was clean, safe and well worth the money
All the staff were very friendly even when we missed our flight home and had to book back in for an extra night
Basically id stay here again anytime and couldnt fault it!
Ps - loved the jäger challenge haha ;)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was my first time staying in a hostel and also my first time in Amsterdam so i didn't really know what to expect.
We stayed for 3 nights in 2 different rooms. One was the 16 bed and the other 2 nights we were in a 32 bed room. The rooms were actually really nice, I stayed in a double with my friend it was really cosy actually lol.
The showers were very good and always clean. The only downside I would say was that when we were downstairs, there were no toilets, you had to go upstairs if you needed the toilet in the middle of the night which was a little bit inconvenient. i thought the shower rooms should've had toilets in really.
Beds were comfy and cleaned every day. The hostel itself was in a really good location, very close to Dam Sqaure and central station which was great for us. Not far to walk to the Anne Frank house either.
I would definitely recommend this hostel and go back there again.

:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennarr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

fantastic! Brilliant staff, in a great location as its a 5 min walk from everything. the beds are nice, toilets were clean. there are toilets outside the room also, should you need it.
there is a smoking room which is great, and the general vibe is really chilled. an amazing place to stay in amsterdam,
Amazing hot chocolates!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuannaCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hostel was located right down town so it was within walking distance of everything! The rooms were average however you did need your own lock for the lockers which were metal bins under the beds. The rooms were clean as were the toilettes and showers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emarsenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect as it is in a walking distance to any tourist attraction.

The room was clean but there was smoke coming inside the room and as non smoker it was really uncomfortable.

The staff was perfect though.

It is perfect for young people but i would not recommen for couple or family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niniiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The flying pig downtown was great! We went Mon-Fri never went down for the free breakfast so couldn't comment on that, the staff were really nice as were the travellers we met, loved the decor in the smoking area and the cool chill out terrace, place was spotless and very central to everything! we booked a hostel because we wanted to experience it if you know what I mean and I'm glad we did!! Would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vikkivikki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Property: Flying Pig Downtown
Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing