We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying in the pig.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited this hostel last week with 3 friends and could not have been happier with it. We had a 4 bed private dorm with en suite (Room 105. The best room.) 105 had plenty of room for activities and bed's were comfy.
The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The bar was always busy in the evenings and was an ideal way to meet other people.
The hostel is ideally located and within walking distance of all the attractions.
In fact we liked the hostel so much we stayed an extra night (thanks to the staff for squeezing us in!)
I would recommend this hostel to anybody!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

The receptionist was very helpful and fun along with the rest of the staff. The hostel is located in the RedLight District which is very interesting and fun. The rooms were nice and clean. Most of all it was reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NedRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice hostel, very friendly atmosphere staff and guests alike. Safe and secure, nice lockers under the beds. Nice breakfast included. If I'm being really picky the ensuite bathroom was a little small and floor was wet after anyone showered but that would be my only complaint. Great location, very close the train station and all the main sites. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

i would really reccomend the flying pig. the staff is great, the will assist you with anything, and i really hope they are paid accordingly :) the city itself is so much fun, and the recommendations are awesome. thenk you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I visited the Flying Pig Downtown with two friends while traveling around Europe. We stayed for 5 nights and could not have been more pleased. We stayed in the large dorms and met lots of fabulous people. The hostel is very well laid out and easily accessible from the tran station and the airport. The staff were very friendly and we always felt very safe there. They have lots of things going on in the hostel, from live bands, to DJ nights and you can always rent movies, laptops or board games if you want to stay in for the night. The room keys often seemed to de-activate but the staff were always very quick to assist. I would highly recommend this fabulous hostel to everyone!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank onelove_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The staff are amazing. There are people from all over the globe coming together to stay and experience life. Exactly what I wanted with my 3 friends (age 20) on a weekend away in the glorious Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Located 5mins walk from the Centraal station and within easy walking distance of most tourist attractions
It was clean, safe and well worth the money
All the staff were very friendly even when we missed our flight home and had to book back in for an extra night
Basically id stay here again anytime and couldnt fault it!
Ps - loved the jäger challenge haha ;)

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,184 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £32 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing