We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a post-event meal, but there are better places in the area”
Review of JinSo

JinSo
Ranked #2,587 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
467 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“OK for a post-event meal, but there are better places in the area”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were looking for somewhere for dinner after seeing Cirque du Soleil and decided to go to JinSo for a change. Normally we eat at Sushibar Ichi-E when we are in that area. Unfortunately, JinSo had a restricted menu as they expected to be busy that night due to several events in the vicinity.

We started by sharing a Thai salad, which didn't taste like any Thai salad I'd had before. The dressing was rather too sweet. My wife then had the crispy duck and I had a Pendang Beef Curry. I had no complaints about the curry and the portion was huge. However, when I'm eating an Asian meal I much rather share several dishes rather than have my own main dish.

There is a pleasant view over the the Arena Boulevard from the second floor restaurant. Service varied between the moderate to very poor, depending on the staff member.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    68
    84
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing special but passable”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Went for a quick dinner before an event at the arena. Food was tasty, arrived quickly, not much to complain about. But certainly wouldn't bother going there specially, was a bit like a cafe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginger2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
260 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice pre-match meal but nothing special”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Arrived early enough before an Ajax home game to grab a bite to eat. Menu was ok, service not fantastic, atmosphere very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Toon noisy when crowded”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Like: close to Arena, convenient Parking close by,
Dislike:oriental food at premium price and average quality, service very average, depending on who's working, incredibly lousy acoustics cause difficult conversations

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tge_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty nasty food.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Few years ago I ate at JinSo with a friend, and it was okay. not that great. Today we walked by at dinner time, so we gave it another shot, and we took the 'all ya can eat' buffet. (like we did before)

I must say, it was terrible.
The "Chicken Sate" was yellow of the curry in has been laying in for.. 2 days? and then was washed off and used for the sate.
and, like the chicken sate, the Chicken Gon boa, didn't really taste (nor looked) like real chicken. I looked like "glued" together poultry.
The fries were stale, the mini egg rolls were wet and mushy, the rice was drying out, (or way undercoocked),& the vegetables tasted old. After 1,5 plate of "food" testing, I stopped eating. (can't really call it food)

The best part probably was the ice, which they didn't make themselfs.

So,... Stay clear from the "all you can eat" buffet... Maybe the a-la-cart food is eatable, but the buffet ain't!!

Totally NOT worth the 23,50 euro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B-J_Hunnicut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JinSo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to JinSo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing