We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and unfriendly..... overall disapointing”
Review of Prix d’Ami

Prix d’Ami
Ranked #434 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Dutch, International, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Busy and unfriendly..... overall disapointing”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I went there yesterday for a smoke, it was really crowded, staff was unfriendly and threatened us poorly, we had to get our drinks ourselves with 4 waiters constantly ignoring us. My friend who was visiting Amsterdam didn't feel as good and had to puke, they didn't help him, they picked him up and threw him out. Only the doorman was fiendly enought to help him back on his feet. My overall experience was disapointing, I advice: Don't visit this coffeshop, instead go for the smaller ones like Dampkring, Tweedekamer en Kadinsky, their weed is much better and there service tremendous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    87
    25
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Choice of Food + Smoke”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This coffee shop is very central, right near the train station. It has a good selection of different cannabis buds and hashish, not too expensive either. You can get all you need, grinders, papers, bongs, lighters etc. Upstairs it has seating areas in several large open rooms with big comfy sofas and tables. Music playing and tvs on each wall. Some pool tables also available. Food and drinks are available and at good prices. Good place to relax and have a smoke.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadams2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite scary”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Never went inside but our apartment looked through the back windows. Doesn't seem like a relaxed place. Futuristic deco with lots of silver

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeggyB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visited twice”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Been there twice,
Good coffee, friendly and informative guy at the reception, vaporizer and comfortable atmosphere.
Not pricey at all :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Scaled-down multi-level nightclub atmosphere in a friendly coffeeshop.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This was my first Amsterdam coffeeshop experience, and it was in a way the most different from all the rest we visited. If you would like to talk and shop, play some billiards, watch a movie, lay down on some giant couches around a table in what looks like the side lounge of a large danceclub listening to some tunes, or god knows what on the next floor up...there was no shortage of amusement.
The products on offer were well cured and pretty much what we requested when we asked the staff for a "good intro" and a "good night!" Prices were decent, staff seemed friendly and efficient.
We were tired that night and left after our drink in search of a more mellow vibe...and ended up being more a fan of the quiter coffeeshops (which there were a lot of) in general, but we would not hesitate to come here again to hang out or play some games.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DukeretxaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prix d’Ami also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Prix d’Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing