We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kap
Ranked #304 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good option for Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

I stayed 5 nights here. Booked a twin shared toilet room with a shower in room. Was serviced nicely every day and although tiny, ok for the prices of Amsterdam.

The location was excellent and offered easy access to city touring. I do agree that the staff, for the most part, is stand offish and not real friendly. But not rude and did do their job.

Breakfast was fine, and tables never hard to get.

The location was superb for using cheap public transportion- tram.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    62
    57
    27
    27
See reviews for
22
44
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Our family of 3 with a young child, stayed 3 nights at this well located and comfortable hotel. We found the hotel itself to be a bit worn but clean and comfortable. Our son found the narrow, steep stairs a challenge he enjoyed.

The hotel is on a quiet street within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Leidesplein. We even walked to the main train station and back. We had a great vegetarian dinner at the Golden Temple an easy walk from the hotel. The tram is very close to the Hotel as well.

The breakfast was great (hard boiled eggs, cheese, meats, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee and milk). We all enjoyed the yummy chocolate chip muffins as well.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were not traveling with a laptop or netbook, so it was nice to connect to the internet, check email and buy our tickets online for the Rijksmuseum and avoid lines.

Hotel Kap was a great place to rest after a long day sightseeing in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsAroundWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

The Hotel Kap was a charming hotel experience. The room we stayed in was like an apartment, with a detached toilet and shower area. This was an odd experience, but our kids had a lot of fun with the wackiness of the room. Our second bed was a Murphy bed, which was a fun novelty as well. Hotel staff was very nice - they went out of their way to be pleasant at breakfast. And breakfast was quite nice. Location was also great. We just walked everywhere in Amsterdam, and there was no stress to that with the location of the Kap.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EverettEightball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

Hotel is quaint, very clean and well located close to Van Gogh and Rijks museums, and to a tram stop, at a very reasonable rate. Easy walking distance to Anne Frank, Dam Square and RL district. We had a quad room (2 beds pulled down) with bathroom and it was adequate, although quite small with all 4 beds in use. Since we spent only sleeping hours in the room, it was fine. No elevators so you do have to carry bags up a fairly narrow (though far from the worst we encountered) stairway. A generous continental breakfast which includes boiled eggs, ham, cheese etc,is served in a lovely back yard with tables and chairs. Since we were leaving early on our last day, the staff left boxed breakfasts (sandwiches, fruit, juices) and a flask of coffee in our room the night before Reception staff is wonderful - extremely helpful and friendly. Helped us get our museum tickets online and printed them out free of charge. They have made up all sorts of booklets, walking tours etc and clearly are committed to making your stay comfortable and memorable. They do rent bikes though we didn't use them so I can't speak to the quality of the bikes. Wi-fi internet is available for 5 euros for your entire stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uctmd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Kap for 3 nights in May. I have stayed here before so I am very aware of the stairs. The breakfast is fantastic, freshly cooked warm rolls (YUM) and a large selection of meats and cheeses, eggs, cereal, juices etc. The staff are very helpful and the bike hire for 10 euros a day is great. It is warm and clean though a bit dated and worse for wear.
It is not walking distance from the central station but is near the De Pijp district which is a short tram ride to most attractions. What I love about this area is it is extremely quiet and close to Albert Cuyp market, Vondel Park and a few good restaurants and bars that are not as expensive as the ones in the centre. Trams run frequently even late at night and there were always plenty of people, so even when visiting the Red light District we felt very safe coming home. The Hotel is 1 block from the tram stop.
It is not cheap 102 Euro per night including breakfastbut nothing in Amsterdam is very cheap. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Stayed at Kap end of April and loved it...altho there were two of us we stayed in room 4 which could sleep 5 we only did this because my friend was funny bout sharing a bathroom so we got ensuit. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Couldnt fault the staff at all....polite and helpful...asked before hand about smoking policy and they say they do have one but have no was enforce it...so we hot boxed room morning and night no1 mentioned anything at all! Would stay here again....bout 15 min walk from everywhere if u know the way...take a map! Kap gets 10 out of 10! Unfortuantly didnt wake up in time for breakfast but it smelt lovely! Staircase is pain in the butt (literally) but everywhere in Dam has these staircases! Quiet road but central..perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazynready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Kap for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the charm of this place! Rooms are spacious and warm and the breakfast is wonderful! This hotel is walking distance from the Rjeiksmuseum and all districts of Amsterdam. The staff were friendly and accomodating in answering our questions. When we had to leave in the early morning to catch our flight, missing breakfast, the staff made us breakfast the night before along with coffee in a thermos that kept warm overnight so we could eat in our room at 4:00 a.m. before leaving to catch our train.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#282 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#253 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#270 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#203 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Property: Hotel Kap
Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017 XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing