We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cosy little hotel”
Review of Hotel Kap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kap
Ranked #299 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very cosy little hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2010

the hotel was very cosy. the rooms where warm and spacious, breackfast really good!the staff was also very helpfull. only 2 things: the watyer in the bathroom didnt have a good flow and the staircase is quite steep. we didnt mind, but i guess an older person would habe a problem. would stay there again though!

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    64
    59
    27
    27
See reviews for
23
46
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Hotel Kap is a 2 star hotel which is situated in a quiet location near Heineken brewery and a walking distance to major museums. However, please be advice that their given instructions on how to get to the hotel by tram from Amsterdam Central Station posted in their website and from the letter I received from them was very misleading. As i quote from their letter “Cross the bridge back across the water”. Seriously, you don’t need to cross any bridge at all. The good news is, they edited their instructions already but as a precaution to future visitors, it pays to study the location of the hotel in a map because its really easy to find, they just mess up with their instructions.

The room that i reserved was a double with shower and toilet, was pretty spacious but disappointingly the interior was outdated. The bed that was pushed together to make it double was old yet clean smelling. The TV was pathetically small, it was 12 inches so it’s quite hard to watch a program while sitting on the bed. The noise on my next door neighbour was audible and quite annoying especially when I got to rest early. As for the toilet, it was hideous. The sink has cracks on it, there is no holder for the shower, the air exhaust was very dirty which make it very noisy and lastly the toilet bowl was pretty outdated and very funny because the water out of the bowl is in front. Every time I use the bowl I have to constantly flush so as to get rid of any unwanted smell. It was really terrible to use that kind of toilet bowl. (please see pictures)

With regards to their breakfast buffet, it was decent continental breakfast which includes bread, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, meat, hard boiled eggs, crackers, marmalades and muffins. As for the drinks, they served coffee, packed powdered chocolate drink, one kind of juice and tea.

As for the internet, I have to pay extra 5 Euros valid for my entire stay. The connection was fast every time I use my laptop or iphone in their Lounge area but terribly slow or mostly no signal at all when I tried to access in my room at the 4th floor.

Overall, my experience in Hotel Kap was acceptable in a way that things work out just well. It was just pretty sad that the establishment has the upper hand in terms of location but the management failed terribly to upgrade their basic amenities and left the room in their decaying worn-out state. Nevertheless, I would still recommend this hotel especially for people who want value for their money considering that most hotels in Amsterdam are expensive.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We spent 3 nights here and were glad to find a friendly face upon our late arrival (on account of train delays). The staff who worked the desk were excellent at giving directions and advice, though they weren't intrusive. Breakfast was one of the nicest I have seen in a long time- deli meats, cheese, rolls and bread/crackers, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, milk, hot chocolate, etc.

Our room had a shower ensuite, but it was really awkward as I was staying with a male friend. There was no partition between the room and the shower at all, and the room looked directly upon the shower. The toilet was pretty convenient to the room.

If you savor quiet, this is the place for you. Not only were we sheltered from the noise of the others staying here, but Kap is on a quiet street in an old, interesting building. That said, it is less than a block to a main street and the Heineken Experience.

The only other disadvantage is the wired internet access (we didn't have a laptop), which is in the reception area. My friend reported that it was dreadfully slow and he spent all his time just trying to connect.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redlybarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Spacious double room with own private bathroom. Fixture and fittings in good order, nice decor, clean, staff helpful and pleasant, good selection of continental breakfast, and breakfast hours until lunchtime. Near to tramstops and walking distance to some museums, but nicely out of way from city bustle, so quiet. Reasonable price. Would visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecurioustraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I stayed 5 nights here. Booked a twin shared toilet room with a shower in room. Was serviced nicely every day and although tiny, ok for the prices of Amsterdam.

The location was excellent and offered easy access to city touring. I do agree that the staff, for the most part, is stand offish and not real friendly. But not rude and did do their job.

Breakfast was fine, and tables never hard to get.

The location was superb for using cheap public transportion- tram.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Our family of 3 with a young child, stayed 3 nights at this well located and comfortable hotel. We found the hotel itself to be a bit worn but clean and comfortable. Our son found the narrow, steep stairs a challenge he enjoyed.

The hotel is on a quiet street within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Leidesplein. We even walked to the main train station and back. We had a great vegetarian dinner at the Golden Temple an easy walk from the hotel. The tram is very close to the Hotel as well.

The breakfast was great (hard boiled eggs, cheese, meats, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee and milk). We all enjoyed the yummy chocolate chip muffins as well.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were not traveling with a laptop or netbook, so it was nice to connect to the internet, check email and buy our tickets online for the Rijksmuseum and avoid lines.

Hotel Kap was a great place to rest after a long day sightseeing in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsAroundWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The Hotel Kap was a charming hotel experience. The room we stayed in was like an apartment, with a detached toilet and shower area. This was an odd experience, but our kids had a lot of fun with the wackiness of the room. Our second bed was a Murphy bed, which was a fun novelty as well. Hotel staff was very nice - they went out of their way to be pleasant at breakfast. And breakfast was quite nice. Location was also great. We just walked everywhere in Amsterdam, and there was no stress to that with the location of the Kap.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EverettEightball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#274 of 368 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#263 of 368 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 368 in Amsterdam
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#285 of 368 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#214 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#147 of 368 in Amsterdam
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kap

Property: Hotel Kap
Address: den Texstraat 5b, 1017 XW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kap 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly **hotel, located in a quiet residential street in the centre of Amsterdam, with all major attractions within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing